We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
No 32 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
137
115
62
28
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
115
62
28
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaymarket stationtop floorsmall hotelcity centrecooked breakfastquiet streetthe hotel is cleanboutique hotelcomfy bedstayed here for nightshigh ceilingslight sleeperwest endprinces sta lovely staybreakfast was includedfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 373 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A very nice guest house very near to Haymarket station and 100m to a bus stop both then with easy access to the centre of town. Very warm welcome from Michael who helped us with maps and Festival venue locations. Our room was very good, a large comfortable bed and nice shower room. Breakfast was included and as expected. All in all a good guest house.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the building is probably good although the road at the front is not too busy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the no 32 hotel over the first weekend of the fringe and tattoo. Accom everywhere was very expensive but overall 32 delivered value for money considering we were going in peak period.
When we first arrived we found the owner on the front desk and found him to be a little odd. However when the manager (Michael, the legend) returned from dinner he helped us with everything we could possibly need. Where to go for meals, drinks, best ways to get around the city, everything. We had to leave early for a flight on our last morning so he made up cereal, juice coffee, etc and delivered it the night before.
Beds were nice and big, everything clean, etc, etc.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and a beer downstairs before going to bed each night.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Phil_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked a double bedroom for 1 night for the Fringe Festival. When we arrived they informed us that they didn't have a room available for us because they had leakage problems and they told us that they didn't have any rooms left for the night ( I booked this room 3 months in advance through the reception last time that we stayed at the hotel and he agreed to give us a room for GBP 80 for the night) and the recepcionist said that tried to call us several times in order to let us know about this misfortune but I didn't have record of this calls on my phone and also the sign of rooms available was advertised on the window...;(..We ask him if he had another room available for us in a different hotel close by and he said that he checked and they had some rooms available but that we will have to make the booking ourselves I also asked if the price will be the same and he said that he didn't know but he told us that due the short notice that we received we will receive a free breakfast...I was expecting to have a room booked for us within the same conditions that was agreed with this hotel. Then we proceeded to look for rooms in the midle of the Festival and everywhere was sold out or double the triple the price but thanks to a friend we finally found a gourgeous Bed and Breakfast (Edimburg Highfield Guest House, winner of Trip Advisor certificate of excellence) for just GBP100 for the night and only 15 in from the City Center with an excellent host, excellent rooms and gorgeous Scottish Breakfast).

The first time that we where there we where very happy with the service but this time the N 32 ket us down.

Stay away from this hotel during Festival Season you might have the same problem....





the ground floor of the next door guesthouse which was right next to reception. They then told us that we would have to move into another room in the same guesthouse for night #2 and then move into yet another room for nights #3 and #4. We were never informed of this arrangement before we arrived at the guesthouse. This was totally unacceptable. They did eventually move us into their guesthouse in a proper room for nights #2, #3 and #4 but only after a lengthy argument with the guy at the reception.

We would have expected them to a) offer us a discount and b) find us a suitable room for all 4 nights of the same standard we paid for. They did neither.

Stay away.

Room Tip: Look out at laterooms.com for last minute rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First things first, the No. 32 Hotel is not a hotel - it's actually a guest house / B&B, so bare that in mind if you are expecting a 'proper hotel'. My partner and I stayed here during the Edinburgh Festival and despite not being very centrally located (30 minutes walk from the centre), Haymarket station is at the end of the street and frequent trains run to Waverley (it only takes 5 minutes to Waverley).

When we arrived the man behind the desk was very helpful and informative, however he informed us they were still getting a key cut for our room as the last person had lost it. After a 5 or 6 minutes wait, the man kindly helped us with our bags to our room. We'd booked a double room and so were surprised to be given an absolutely massive room featuring a double bed, a single bed and a sofa (not that we particularly needed the extra space). The room was comfortable and fairly clean, it was however on the basement floor and had a slightly damp smell/feel.

The major issue though was the 1960's style wall mounted hair dryer which broke after 30 seconds use, this was then followed by a lack of hot water in the shower. We informed a member of staff (a different person to the man who checked us in) about the problems we were experiencing and he came back with a modern plug in hair drier and told us the hot water was working fine. It was't - and so I ended up not having a shower! I must point out that this second member of staff may have been new as not only was he uncertain about the shower, but he didn't speak english particularly well and when asked at breakfast if there was any brown sauce, he didn't know what it was!

On the whole, no 32 seems like a pleasant guest house, however our experience was soured by dated fittings in the room and one incompetent staff member. Whilst I appreciate there is a certain premium paid during the festival period, for £130 per night for a double room, the least i expect is a hot shower and staff to know what brown sauce is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at this guest house in August while we attending The Fringe Festival. The staff were friendly and our check-in was quick and efficient. We were given a room on the 2nd floor at the back of the guest house which meant we had a very quiet room which overlooked some private spaces. The room was clean and airy and the bed was comfortable and we slept well on all 3 nights.

We never managed to get to breakfast as we had too many late nights. We had no problems getting back into the guest house late at night. The guest house is only about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh and as it was on a side street it was very quiet and peaceful.

We would definitely consider using the guest house again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews