We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the fringe of being a good hotel.”
Review of No 32 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 32 Hotel
Ranked #167 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“On the fringe of being a good hotel.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First things first, the No. 32 Hotel is not a hotel - it's actually a guest house / B&B, so bare that in mind if you are expecting a 'proper hotel'. My partner and I stayed here during the Edinburgh Festival and despite not being very centrally located (30 minutes walk from the centre), Haymarket station is at the end of the street and frequent trains run to Waverley (it only takes 5 minutes to Waverley).

When we arrived the man behind the desk was very helpful and informative, however he informed us they were still getting a key cut for our room as the last person had lost it. After a 5 or 6 minutes wait, the man kindly helped us with our bags to our room. We'd booked a double room and so were surprised to be given an absolutely massive room featuring a double bed, a single bed and a sofa (not that we particularly needed the extra space). The room was comfortable and fairly clean, it was however on the basement floor and had a slightly damp smell/feel.

The major issue though was the 1960's style wall mounted hair dryer which broke after 30 seconds use, this was then followed by a lack of hot water in the shower. We informed a member of staff (a different person to the man who checked us in) about the problems we were experiencing and he came back with a modern plug in hair drier and told us the hot water was working fine. It was't - and so I ended up not having a shower! I must point out that this second member of staff may have been new as not only was he uncertain about the shower, but he didn't speak english particularly well and when asked at breakfast if there was any brown sauce, he didn't know what it was!

On the whole, no 32 seems like a pleasant guest house, however our experience was soured by dated fittings in the room and one incompetent staff member. Whilst I appreciate there is a certain premium paid during the festival period, for £130 per night for a double room, the least i expect is a hot shower and staff to know what brown sauce is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    103
    54
    22
    27
See reviews for
42
196
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at this guest house in August while we attending The Fringe Festival. The staff were friendly and our check-in was quick and efficient. We were given a room on the 2nd floor at the back of the guest house which meant we had a very quiet room which overlooked some private spaces. The room was clean and airy and the bed was comfortable and we slept well on all 3 nights.

We never managed to get to breakfast as we had too many late nights. We had no problems getting back into the guest house late at night. The guest house is only about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Edinburgh and as it was on a side street it was very quiet and peaceful.

We would definitely consider using the guest house again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at No 32 with family visiting from Canada, friendly staff very welcoming & helpfull..
Room was very clean & comfy, prices are very reasonable & include nice breakfast.
Close to all tourist sights, & close to Haymarket station..
Would stay there again defiantly...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

With a warm welcoming atmosphere, and friendly staff, the No 32 Hotel is my first choice when it comes to accommodation in the city, this beautiful newly refurbished period building, is the place to go, comprising of ten rooms, that you will not be able to fault, all at a very affordable price which does including a very tasty breakfast.

Dennis, Montrose.

Room Tip: All rooms are Quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Don't know what the other reviews are talking about everybody at the hotel was extremely helpful during our stay. Our room was lovely, modern and light, we had plenty of tea and coffee provided and towels changed every day. What a fantastic find for the price! The breakfasts were lovely, and staff incredibly friendly and helpful and always keen to say hello! A great little find and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

First things first - this is a guest house not a hotel.

We booked a deluxe double bedroom for 4 nights. When we arrived they informed us that they didn't have a room available for us because they had "leakage problems". They found us another makeshift room in the ground floor of the next door guesthouse which was right next to reception. They then told us that we would have to move into another room in the same guesthouse for night #2 and then move into yet another room for nights #3 and #4. We were never informed of this arrangement before we arrived at the guesthouse. This was totally unacceptable. They did eventually move us into their guesthouse in a proper room for nights #2, #3 and #4 but only after a lengthy argument with the guy at the reception.

We would have expected them to a) offer us a discount and b) find us a suitable room for all 4 nights of the same standard we paid for. They did neither.

Stay away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Guest house, not hotel. Room very comfortable and clean. Not well stocked - had to ask for toilet paper and tea/coffee/milk on arrival. Room not cleaned or restocked at all during a three night stay. Only ate breakfast on first day - very low quality ingredients, though nicely presented. On a late night quest for milk I saw that the kitchen was not very clean; and the fridge was really dirty with out of date food. Would not stay here again. Hosts not particularly welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 148 in Edinburgh
629 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
West End
My Edinburgh Life
My Edinburgh Life
#319 of 392 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#61 of 392 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#83 of 392 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 32 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 32 Hotel

Property: No 32 Hotel
Address: 32 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — No 32 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your No 32 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 32 Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing