We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put things straight”
Review of Capital Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capital Residence
Ranked #284 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Heckmondwike
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Put things straight”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This Hotel has taken some criticism, unwarranted in my view. Other travellers has stated its too far from anything, not so, a 15 min walk to the City centre, a 20 minute walk to the Britannia loads of good eateries around. The Hotel run by a laid back pleasant couple , Heather and David. The rooms presentable and functional. Enough breakfast to keep you going to your evening meal, what more could you ask for. Oh yeah a bus service outside the door if you don't fancy the walk, £3 buys you a day ticket.

Room Tip: Have the apartment, its spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    75
    24
    20
    42
See reviews for
23
143
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A perfect stay with such friendly, helpful people who did their utmost to help us enjoy our visit to this lovely city.From transport advice,local knowledge along with with directions as well as excellent restaurant recommendations,nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean and comfortable with a spacious en-suite. The breakfasts were super.Lots of choice and well prepared cooked options.If you are looking for an anonymous stay in a luxury 5* hotel at a mega price then Capital Residence is not for you but given the choice then the latter wins hands down.We only hope that they will be available for our return trip.

Room Tip: The suite was spacious and loved having the sofa in addition to the bed.No problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I normally read reviews before booking hotels but thios was a rush booking. If I had read the soem of the reviews I would probabaly not have booked but am certainly glad that I did. It is clear that it is impossible to please everyine as I am not sure what some people expect reading thorugh the reviews.
The Capital Residence is a very nice clean guesthouse with freindly and helpful staff it is also great value for Money. The decor in our room was excellent and we had a great nights sleep.
The Breakfast was also very nice.
I would highly recomend staying here if you are planning a stay in Edinburgh if this hotel was right in the centre you would be paying double the price so even if you dont like the short walk in to the centre you can grab a taxi with what you are saving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived two hours before check in, but the lovely man came out to us sat in our car and said our room is ready so we are more than welcome to just go straight in! We were glad as we needed a little nap after a 6 hour drive! Very welcoming. Room had nice decor, nice bathroom with big shower. Our room was on the ground floor which at times was slightly annoying when people were ringing the door bell at 430am, and I was sometimes woken up when people were having breakfast as it was next to both the kitchen and dining room, but it wasn't too loud and certainly didn't impact our break.
Breakfast is absolutely beautiful - full continental with lots of cereal, fruit, ham, cheese, croissants, muffins, pancakes and more! PLUS toast and a choice of cooked breakfast which were yummy! Scottish full breakfast is a must, and my partner had eggs Benedict one morning which had the most perfectly cooked eggs.
Owners are very helpful, the woman seemed to know every single type of bar, place to visit, what shows are on, exactly what bus to get to where!
'Honesty bar' was nice because you can grab a drink whenever you want, but it would have been nicer if they'd filled it up a bit more as it was a little empty.
Great location - you can walk to town or get a quick bus if its raining or you don't fancy walking it.
All in all, lovely hotel. We'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiddlyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Before arriving at hotel I had emailed twice asking about parking but never got any reply. Luckily enough on arriving there was a car park space on the street just outside. On entering hotel there was a chair in the porch outside with an envelope with my name on it that contained keys and a letter explaining owner had been called away but with a telephone number to contact him if need be. We had room 3 which was tastefully decorated and comfortable. When booking this particular hotel it stated that rooms had GHD straighteners, bathrobes and slippers. On reading the info in room it stated that these items were only available on request but unfortunately for us there was nobody available to request these items. As we were going out for the night for dinner and the theatre (which was the purpose of our trip to Edinburgh) I tried phoning and texting the contact number given on the letter as I really needed the straighteners, only to be told that the mobile had been switched off!! This was a nice hotel but the lack of communication with the "owner" has certainly put me off ever staying here again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My parents came to visit me to England and they planned on visiting Edinburgh. I booked this hotel for them as it looked lovely from their website. Unfortunately little did I know that they were unprofessional, uncooperative and evasive because what happened next was turned out to be something from the twilight zone. The story goes like this, my dad got seriously ill the night before he was meant to book into this hotel, so he had to cancel his trip as he was bed ridden. We tried to call the hotel to cancel the booking the same day to inform them with no answer. This continuous for week on end. On the confirmation email of the booking it states that if no show up they will charge the first night, WELL, THEY CHARGE THE WHOLE FOUR NIGHTS and refused to correspond with me as to why they felt the need to take the money. I think this is out of disgusting greed and lack of sympathy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in room 6, the single room. Beautiful room, facilities clean lovely, modern decor. The breakfast was outstanding, I can honestly say the best I have ever had away from home. And David the host - what a lovely guy!! I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qubhjuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#186 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#98 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#81 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#131 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#55 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Guesthouse
Balmoral Guesthouse
#102 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Residence

Property: Capital Residence
Address: 27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, this boutique bed and breakfast is placed 1 mile from Princes Street and 1 mile from Edinburgh's popular shore area. Built in 1850, Capital Residence is a Grade B listed town house. An iPod dock, safe and a selection of teas, coffee and sweet treats are featured in every room. Sleek bathrooms all have luxury toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer and GHD hair straighteners. Guests can choose from a range of breakfast options including freshly made full Scottish breakfasts and Scottish smoked salmon. For evening dining, there are restaurants and bars within a 5-minute walk. Set 0.5 miles from Edinburgh’s New Town, the building still displays many of its original features. Capital Residence is just over a mile from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Edinburgh’s dockside area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Capital Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing