We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant base for our Fringe visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital Residence
Ranked #310 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wymondham, Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for our Fringe visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you're staying anywhere in Edinburgh at Festival time you pay a premium, but we stumbled across Capital Residence by way of Travel Republic and ended up paying £150 per night for their suite, including breakfast.

This boutique accommodation is situated on Pilrig Street, about a fifteen minute walk to the top of North Bridge and the eastern end of Princes Street. It's well served by the 11 bus service which stops very close to the place and runs into town in one direction, and out to Ocean Terminal and the Royal Yacht Britannia in the other. Like all Lothian buses a standard fare of £1.50 applies ( £3.50 day ticket ) for all single journeys. Alternatively walk two minutes from Capital Residence to Leith Walk and there is a choice of buses heading towards the centre.

So location is fine, not too far outside the main attraction areas. As for the accommodation, we were in the Suite, room number 5. Essentially a typically large town house, high ceiling bedroom, with a wardrobe/cupboard unit dividing the room into two areas, one with the bed and one with a sofa unit to lounge in. Not one, but TWO 32" flat screen TV's, CD/radio player with iPod docking, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Also FREE Wi-Fi! Ample bathroom with hot towel rail, a selection of toiletries, large fluffy towels, and a lush shower unit over the bath.

Large ceiling to floor sash windows make the room light and airy but they are not double glazed, and Pilrig is a busy road, so expect some traffic noise, particularly when the 11's trundle by. Might be an issue for light sleepers, but if you've spent the day doing the Edinburgh sights, particularly at Fringe time, you do tend to nod off whatever, and that bed is very comfortable.

Every morning breakfast is served in the dining room with the full Scottish on offer, your choice of components, or scrambled eggs ( with salmon if desired ), or eggs Benedict. Cereals, croissants, muffins and fruit are also available.

The owner, David, is extremely welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly and we thank him for helping to make our stay so enjoyable. We can only speak for the room we stayed in, but we found it stylish, comfortable and extremely well appointed. A guest house that comes with a bit of premium, but in our view, bearing in mind what some less rated establishments were charging, well worth it, and would have no hesitation in recommending Capital Residence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamjp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    75
    24
    20
    42
See reviews for
23
143
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a long weekend stay in The Capital Residence and it can't be beaten for the personable, friendly service which David & Heather provided. The rooms were kept lovely, breakfast was always a meal to look forward to as they offered a rather bespoke service, we could just ask for what we fancied! It's location was great, a short bus or taxi ride from the hustle & bustle, or a good uphill walk for the fitter individual. We had my 85 year old nan with us & the walk was a bit too much for her, but buses were very regular & there's a stop right by the hotel. There is no lift so if you are in a situation where too many stairs are an issue, request a first floor room. We were on the top floor, it's certainly the most exercise my nan has done in a while! Overall, a great little place to stay & the warm hospitality we received will ensure our return to the Capital Residence.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Long story short, don't book direct. Had awful experience trying to book direct. Had confirmation then impossible to get hold of. No one ever answered the phone. When did get hold of them got told there was no booking. Nightmare. They managed to swap things about and knock £10 off the price (wow!!) then no
Promises emails, no return calls, no reply to emails. Etc

Rooms actually nice, garden apartment not worth it at all. Boutique style, money spent to make it look stylish but simple finishes and upkeep not up to standard at all.

Overall not impressed as concerns as to whether we would have rooms or not in lead up was v stressful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum2twoangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and we were upgraded to the suite. Really nice and would recommend staying there. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will go back. The breakfast was also good. One can walk to Princess street in 20-25 min.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent the night in the Deluxe room. Facilities were good. Bathroom looks lovely however shower meant to be 'wetroom' style but shower tray not deep enough to cope with flow of water so bathroom floor ended up soaked too. However, bed very comfy and breakfast superb. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Location good and central and parking was easy found outside.

Room Tip: Room 4 lovely but there is a fan noise from room next door (their ensuite maybe) which was very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Not sure of what to expect when I reached the hotel, what I saw was pleasure to my eyes. A well kept, clean hotel with nice rooms. A very hospitable owners of the hotel greeted us next morning over the breakfast table. The food was as good as home made, The location of the hotel is in close proximity to city center and train station, though it is a taxi ride. It was a very pleasant stay and a nice experience. Keep up the good work!!! I would personally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhawal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location is excellent, about 15 min walk to the city center. Free roadside parking in front of the hotel which is rarity in Edinburgh. The staff is very friendly. They provided a lots of information about the area such as a nearby beautiful viewpoint to the historical city center and affordable restaurants. The full Scottish breakfast that they served was very tasty, quality ingredients and nicely presented too. The staff is not in the hotel all day but they are available anytime on phone. Room was clean and it's design very modern, stylish. Some repair might be needed in the near future but there was no any major fault which could have affected our comfort.
It is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank att1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#186 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#104 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#83 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#137 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#58 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Guesthouse
Balmoral Guesthouse
#94 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Residence

Property: Capital Residence
Address: 27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, this boutique bed and breakfast is placed 1 mile from Princes Street and 1 mile from Edinburgh's popular shore area. Built in 1850, Capital Residence is a Grade B listed town house. An iPod dock, safe and a selection of teas, coffee and sweet treats are featured in every room. Sleek bathrooms all have luxury toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer and GHD hair straighteners. Guests can choose from a range of breakfast options including freshly made full Scottish breakfasts and Scottish smoked salmon. For evening dining, there are restaurants and bars within a 5-minute walk. Set 0.5 miles from Edinburgh’s New Town, the building still displays many of its original features. Capital Residence is just over a mile from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Edinburgh’s dockside area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Capital Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing