We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital Residence
Ranked #310 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks for the upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and we were upgraded to the suite. Really nice and would recommend staying there. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will go back. The breakfast was also good. One can walk to Princess street in 20-25 min.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    75
    24
    20
    42
See reviews for
23
143
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent the night in the Deluxe room. Facilities were good. Bathroom looks lovely however shower meant to be 'wetroom' style but shower tray not deep enough to cope with flow of water so bathroom floor ended up soaked too. However, bed very comfy and breakfast superb. Owners very welcoming and helpful. Location good and central and parking was easy found outside.

Room Tip: Room 4 lovely but there is a fan noise from room next door (their ensuite maybe) which was very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Not sure of what to expect when I reached the hotel, what I saw was pleasure to my eyes. A well kept, clean hotel with nice rooms. A very hospitable owners of the hotel greeted us next morning over the breakfast table. The food was as good as home made, The location of the hotel is in close proximity to city center and train station, though it is a taxi ride. It was a very pleasant stay and a nice experience. Keep up the good work!!! I would personally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhawal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location is excellent, about 15 min walk to the city center. Free roadside parking in front of the hotel which is rarity in Edinburgh. The staff is very friendly. They provided a lots of information about the area such as a nearby beautiful viewpoint to the historical city center and affordable restaurants. The full Scottish breakfast that they served was very tasty, quality ingredients and nicely presented too. The staff is not in the hotel all day but they are available anytime on phone. Room was clean and it's design very modern, stylish. Some repair might be needed in the near future but there was no any major fault which could have affected our comfort.
It is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank att1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Re, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

just returned from a weekend at this hotel. Nice neigboorhood, big modern room and coosy staff.

When we ariived there were a letter with my name on i n the hall. In there where the keys and a letter. we locked our self in and found a nice room in the second floor.

Must be a great neigborhood when the owner trust leaving their keys like that :-)

The Breakfast was nice and we got what we ordered.

The room could have been a little bit cleaner, but was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last week two nights while I was at a conference. Sadly it turned into McFawlty Towers. On the face of it this place should be great. Lovely house in a nice area just outside the centre. But 'attention to detail' was a million miles away.
A litany of things done badly for a 'boutique hotel'. Peeling paint and no toiletries or hair dryer in the room. Shower fitting that collapsed off the wall, narrowly missing my wife's face. Disasterous breakfast service (they had to go out shopping one morning and the owner slept in the other). No salt and pepper on tables or spoons to serve with. No napkins etc etc.
There were apologies and pleas of 'there's only two of us and we're working seven days a week' but if you can't run a professional operation either get some decent help or shut up shop.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandHelen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Capital Residence is a good place to stay even if I had an unusual experience there. The location is good and I got parking right outside the door. The decor is contemporary and rooms are very clean and bright. The en-suite had a lovely bath and huge shower. Because of a fault with the electrics I had no power from sockets in my room and had difficulty making contact with someone to fix the problem. However, I had a great night's sleep and the breakfast was good. Once the owner/manager became aware of the problem with the electrics, it was fixed immediately and she was profusely apologetic. I would stay here again and would recommend it. (I would also recommend that the owner make it easy for guests to contact him/her when problems arise. It would be a shame to lose business from this lovely guesthouse because of difficulty in making contact).

Room Tip: Room 4 was a lovely large clean and bright double room with a great en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toowrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#186 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#104 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#83 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#137 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#58 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Guesthouse
Balmoral Guesthouse
#94 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Residence

Property: Capital Residence
Address: 27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, this boutique bed and breakfast is placed 1 mile from Princes Street and 1 mile from Edinburgh's popular shore area. Built in 1850, Capital Residence is a Grade B listed town house. An iPod dock, safe and a selection of teas, coffee and sweet treats are featured in every room. Sleek bathrooms all have luxury toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer and GHD hair straighteners. Guests can choose from a range of breakfast options including freshly made full Scottish breakfasts and Scottish smoked salmon. For evening dining, there are restaurants and bars within a 5-minute walk. Set 0.5 miles from Edinburgh’s New Town, the building still displays many of its original features. Capital Residence is just over a mile from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Edinburgh’s dockside area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Capital Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing