We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of Capital Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital Residence
Ranked #304 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel at home, We were greeted by the David (Owner) who couldn't have been more helpful, offering to carry our bags to our room where we were offered the advertised GHD straighteners, bath robes and other comforts. Our room included everything we were promised to make the stay comfortable and enjoyable, tv, iPod dock, kettle, hair drier, not to mention the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! Once settled we wanted to explore the surrounding areas and again David couldn't be faulted, providing expert knowledge and advice on firstly how to get into the city, not too far to walk or take the bus a fantastic location, and recommendations on a number of places to go whilst there, places to eat and drink as well as tourist sights to see, both within the city and further towards the coast. Following the fantastic nights sleep we went for breakfast which was delicious, the variety on offer was tremendous, with ample fresh coffee and a great cooked breakfast, following various cold breakfast foods served by Emma who was equally as helpful and friendly as David. We stayed for 4 nights and would quite happily go back again and have already recommended the hotel to several of our friends and family. All in all a brilliant stay in a fantastic hotel all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 253 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend and thought we were staying at a hotel, wrong. Glorified bed and breakfast. Carpet on stairs was a helath and safety hazzard as it was loose. Buffet breakfast, including cooked meats and yogurt left sitting on sideboard, no refridgeration. Our room was supposed to be a deluxe suite???? Double wardrobe unit with tv either side of it dividing the room. Front door left unlocked all night. Plus side Dave was very helpful and bathroom was good.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed one night via a booking with booking.com. Unlike many of the other reviews we had no problems with our booking. The hotel looked a little tired on the outside but once in our room (downstairs) we were more than pleased. Great bed, bathroom facilities, TV and iphone dock.Very clean and fresh decor. Street parking across from the hotel was a bonus. Quiet area with bars, supermarkets and a pharmacy near by. Walking distance to Edinburgh and reasonable cost for a taxi after midnight. Breakfast was good for the price. Would revisit and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Capital Residence. As soon as we arrived I knew that we had made the right choice. David was the perfect host. He made us feel so welcome and was very helpful giving us tips on where to go and what to do. We stayed in a large double which was tastefully decorated and very comfy. Breakfast was very tasty and freshly cooked so came up nice and hot. Emma, who served the breakfast was lovely and is a real asset. The location is excellent, it only took us 10 minutes to walk up to the city centre and we were able to leave our car parked safely outside the B&B (free parking-a real bonus). We will definately visit Edinburgh again and will definately book again at the Capital Residence. Thank you all for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyawayjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed four nights at Capital Residence and would have no hesitation in going back. It was everything we wished for - a smart and stylish property, in a good location (approx 15 minutes walk into the city centre or a taxi for about £7) and we stayed in a really nice garden apartment with a comfy bed. It felt very homely. On top of all this, the owner David, his mum Heather and Emma were the friendliest hosts imaginable. They made us feel very welcome and gave excellent travel tips for Edinburgh and Leith. The cooked breakfasts were fantastic too, and now I really miss them! The Hunters.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I would like to thank david and his mum Heather for a perfect weekend break for me and the other half. David was extreamly helpfull in giving us directions and help with the public transport. Breakfast was amazing, the mushrooms are delish!!!! Room number 3 is stunning the most comfortable bed i have slept in for a long time i wanted to take it home!!
Pefect hosts by taking our suitcase upstairs and it was a tonn weight. I loved my holiday the location was perfect the b and b was stunning and have recommended it to all my family!!!!

Room Tip: room 3 was stunning high floor window and pleanty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david27Edinburgh, Owner at Capital Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Hannah

Thank you for review! Hope you are enjoying be back home with the kids! My mum and I are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend in Edinburgh. Im glad you loved the bed, we actually had someone phoning us 2 weeks ago to ask where we bought them from so they could buy one for their own house! It was an absolute pleasure meeting the two of you and I hope to welcme you back to Capital Residence in the future!

Warmest Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Arrived late on Friday night to find Heather there to welcome me and show me up to the room. Very apologetic at the fact the cleaners had taken the room key accidentaly, and were happy to keep an eye on the room while I was away until the key was found.

The room had all mod-cons, including a large flatscreen tv (bigger than my one at home), wifi (very helpful, as I'm a bit of tech-fan) and a good shower. Slept very well and the breakfast (all freshly cooked while you wait) went down a treat.

Both Heather and David were fountains of knowledge on where to eat (La Favorita, very nice pizza place on Leith Walk) and what to do (and how to get there). Both were very helpful, and went above and beyond to help (something you don't get with your chain hotels), from arrival to departure (all without being overbearing).

All in all it made my trip to Edinburgh and Lothian enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 6 doesn't have a toilet in the ensuite, but you do have your own personal toilet room just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,034 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Residence

Address: 27 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $35 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, this boutique bed and breakfast is placed 1 mile from Princes Street and 1 mile from Edinburgh's popular shore area. Built in 1850, Capital Residence is a Grade B listed town house. An iPod dock, safe and a selection of teas, coffee and sweet treats are featured in every room. Sleek bathrooms all have luxury toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, a hairdryer and GHD hair straighteners. Guests can choose from a range of breakfast options including freshly made full Scottish breakfasts and Scottish smoked salmon. For evening dining, there are restaurants and bars within a 5-minute walk. Set 0.5 miles from Edinburgh’s New Town, the building still displays many of its original features. Capital Residence is just over a mile from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Edinburgh’s dockside area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capital Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Capital Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing