We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“went on a recommenation not disappointed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Squirrel

Red Squirrel
Ranked #191 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: http://www.theedinburghblog.co.uk/eating-out/lothian-roads-red-squirrel-bar/06-05-2011/index.html
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“went on a recommenation not disappointed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went there on our first night in Edinburgh following a recommendation for the food and beer-not disappointed great burgers and beer.We went back for breakfast -i had the red squirrel breakfast-it was great.Nice friendly staff-would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank victorjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    219
    38
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was my sons birthday and previously we had wonderful food at the place so I took my family and their partners for a meal and drinks.
I raved about the nachos, sweet potato fries and halloumi burgers!
No sweet potato fries or chunky fries left, the nachos were black, burnt, eventually removed from our table and replaced with poor ones unmelted cheese etc, the halloumi salad I had was a disgrace, a pile of lettuce( lumps un cut) and some rock hard frozen cold tough halloumi on top. I was so embarrassed that I took my group there. It is appalling as its food they serve, so at least make it edible and in stock. What a waste of money, and spoilt a family gathering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shev_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, honest burgers. What more can a man ask for?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visited Red Squirrel a few times now. Their gourmet burgers are fantastic! Tried both the spiced lamb and pork and chorizo - the latter being particularly delicious. Also really enjoyed the red cabbage coleslaw that comes with the burgers. At £10 a burger it might seem a wee bit pricey but I do believe you get what you pay for, and the food is not only tasty but fresh. My only complaint is on my third visit I decided to be disloyal and try something other a burger - I went for the chilli con carne which unfortunately was a little bland but wasn't the worst meal I've ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-Stott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worlds Friendliest Bouncer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Popped in here for a few drinks last weekend with a friend, great atmosphere and cracking beer selection, to top it all off the worlds friendliest bouncer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sportyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to the Red Squirrel on Saturday night for my Hen night with 4 other girls, 2 of us decided to have the sirloin steaks .... bad idea they came served on a wooden "plate" which obviously takes the heat straight away from the steaks , sent them back as they were cold only to get them back luke warm again, was not impressed. Probably would have been better with some sauce and would have ordered sauce but was not given the opportunity, the waitress was gone before we had the chance. Steaks were not a good choice, however I have to say that the 2 burgers and the Macaroni Cheese that were ordered went down well with the girls. Will not be back in a hurry, and a dissapointment for me was really looking forward to my steak!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Squirrel also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Red Squirrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing