We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad. Not superb.”

Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant is a Authentic Nepalese and Indian restaurant based in the Heart of Edinburgh. This popular restaurant offers a unique journey through the Nepalese cuisine. As well as maintaining the authenticity of the food, Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant strives to elevate the Friendly and relaxed dining experience by following the changing food trends in Nepal. To join us please make a Online Reservation using our Online Booking Form. Gurkha Cafe & Resaurant has an extensive variety of extraordinary Nepalese delicacies as well as Indian all time favorite which are all prepared for a fantastic palate.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad. Not superb.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A nice little place, but not outstanding in any way. The food was enjoyable, but I've had better elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpacker_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkha C, Public Relations Manager at Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Glad to hear that you found our food enjoyable but I was wondering the next few lines can explain what happened when you were in. We always try the best to make our people feel with bit of friendliness, affection and love but I am sorry to hear you didn’t live up to expectation.
You have not explained what food you had and what was wrong with it which would be helpful to me to understand you review and to give you a constructive response. It would be helpful if you have mentioned how it should be done so we can work on to improve our service.
Trip advisor is a great way to put across both points of view. Thanks again you for your review I'm sure people can appreciate we can’t keep everyone happy with different expectations but we will always try our best and it most case's we are making customers happy. so no hard feelings my friend
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    378
    79
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited for the first time, taking my family out for a meal and I could not fault it. The food is reasonably priced, very good portions, nice atmosphere and the staff were quick and friendly. I had the lamb khutta, which I will be having again! The lamb was cooked perfectly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkha C, Public Relations Manager at Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Rachel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review . we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and service at Gurkha cafe. we always try the best to make our people feel with bit of friendliness, affection and love -:). I do remember you, your mom and dad siting near to bar and it was very nice to have you round . Thanks again for your lovely review and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Gurkha soon -:).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stumbled upon this place while wandering around the Edinburgh tourist restaurants. Had a really lovely meal. Staff were exceptionally friendly. One minor quibble was that they didn't offer us dessert. We would have eaten some but by the time the waiter returned, the mood was gone. So they lost out! Otherwise, would highly recommend. Especially the lamb shank!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaklands2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkha C, Public Relations Manager at Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your lovely review.
Pleased to hear that you found our food tasty and service friendly. Thanks again for your wonderful review and recommending us to everyone. we Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistently very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have been here a few times now, mostly to try the lunch deal which consists of a selection of curries plus nan for a set price. This was always reasonably priced, copiously dished out, and of first rate quality.

I visited for dinner recently and was pleased that the expanded menu offers plenty of choice, and the quality is still brilliant. However, given that the evening dishes are more expensive, I was a little disappointed by the size of the portions which were barely different from the small lunch dishes. I really needed a full portion of rice and nan to feel well fed, which is not usual since I barely touch the accompaniments.

Nonetheless, It's still a good reliable stop off after a day in the town. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went in for evening meal with wife & Mum. Good menu choice and great friendly service.

Poppadoms for starter were very nice.
We had mixed pakora and steamed dumplings next - every dish was nicely presented and tasted great.
For main I had Poleko Bhale Kukhura which was wonderful, Mum had Bhuteko Khasi which she enjoyed and I had to finish for her !! and my Wife had the mixed kebab platter which she loved.

All in all a really nice meal and pretty reasonable price wise. Would definitely go again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing