We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haystack Hostels
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$187
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$146
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
260
109
40
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
109
40
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggis hosteltrain stationgreat locationbunk bedsgreat kitchenflights of stairsrooms are cleanprinces streeta nice place to staybreakfast includedroyal milecommon areasbalmoral hotelthe heart of the cityno liftsmall roomcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 430 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having stayed in hostels all over the world.I am very happy to say that this was easily one of the most enjoyable. Friendly and very attentive staff,the cleanest toilets and showers I have come across on my travels. The location is second to none, close to all the pubs and attractions. The beds were very comfortable, i had the best sleep ,It really was like a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Colin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will be able to return to stay with us again in the future.
Many Thanks,
Chris, Allan, Hamish and the rest of Team Haggis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived as a group for a stag, and we greeted by a chap who was very fond of his own voice. One of our party didnt have any ID, because as he explained, it had been stolen on a night out two weeks previous, and that all he had was a bankcard, something that is good enough for pretty much every hotel that I have stayed in. Everyone else had ID and the man was willing to vouch for, sign any forms if there was a problem .He was made to feel like an idiot for not having this. The matresses were filthy and the man on reception v unhelpful. The organiser in our group claimed he had not recieved certain emails about deposits, IDs etc etc and instead of trying to help, the man on reception essentially branded him a liar. There were no sheets, pillow cases or duvet covers ready for us to make our beds and we were told we would have to do this when we got in later. So as you can imagine one of the group forgot and whn he took the unused bedding back, the man on reception threated to charge for 'unhygenic use of the bed'. The photos of the stated of the matress covers would point to the fact that hygiene is not really on the top of the list of this establishment.

It was without a doubt one of the worst hostels I have stayed in, that includes some ropey experiences in C America and Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear
We are extremely disappointed that you and your friends had such a bad experience whilst staying with us. This is most uncommon!!!
We are currently investigating the matter and are keen to rectify the issues that you have pointed out.
Cleanliness is extremely important to us so we have deep cleaned all of the bedrooms since your departure but have been unable to locate any dirty mattresses as you have stated. We would like for you to contact us with further details of your experience so as we can complete our investigation and take appropriate measure to assure this does not happen again. Should we find that what you are saying to be true we will be happy to offer you compensation.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your assistance in dealing with these matters.
Kindest Regards,
Chris, Allan, Hamish and the rest of the Haggis Hostels Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, friendly hostel. Comfortable beds. Friendly and informative staff. Very knowledgeable. Close to cheap parking. And great place to spend a few days with mates. Best showers I've seen in the UK including where I live.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Lauren,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we wish you all the best for the duration of your travels.
Many Thanks,
Chris, Allan, Hamish and the rest of Team Haggis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place! As a new traveller I felt very comfortable and catered for! Showers were particularly clean. Recommend it to all Aussie travellers. Location was great, walking distance to tours and fantastic pubs!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furnace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hi Furnace,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. Your feedback helps us keep on top of the important things like Clean Showers and added Homely Comforts. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Haggis Hostels and hope to see you again in the future.
Many Thanks,
Chris, Allan, Hamish and the rest of Team Haggis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hartlepool Young Carers recently took the offer of Haggis Hostels hospitallity.
8 young people and 4 members of staff took advantage of full board facilities and were well looked after.
The owner Chris is a top chef by trade and his meals were delicious and plentiful.
I would recomend staying here to anyone.
Nothing was too much trouble for Chris and his staff.
Well done and Thank You

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young Carers S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Steve,
Thank you for your positive feedback. It's great to know we are doing something right and your kind words make all the hard work worthwhile!!!
It was a pleasure to have you and the young carers staying with us and we hope you will be back aqain next year.
All the best and thanks again.
Kindest Regards,
Chris, Allan, Hamish and the rest of the team at Haggis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews