We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place in edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Ranked #12 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place in edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Real local knowledge cant be beaten and the manager here really knows edinburgh.
Safe place to stay Comfortable and amazingly quiet
Clean and efficient
excellent kitchen facilities
A very good ibrary also and I shall be back to finish the book on morningside if I can take myself away from the broons

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    100
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
17
214
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Ive stayed in this hostel for 20 days and i dont regret 1 single thing. The hostel is very new, with a beautiful kitchen and the beds are comfy as well. The best thing about this hostel are the private showers!! AND the LOCATION!! its just a side road from Princes street.

I would deff. reccommand this hostel! The staff is very friendly too!

The only thing that you should be aware of is that internet is at a charge and its not exactly the cheapest hostel in Edinburgh, however having said that, I would rather pay something extra and stay in a clean place with great location than in any other place! Keep it up Haggis team!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graziella29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was my first time staying in the hostel so I was not sure what to expect! Haggis is brand new (opened in August 2011) and you can tell because every IS new looking. The facilities were clean, our room was clean, the kitchen was clean (and high tech). Honestly, that is all you can ask for - cleanliness. It was quiet so I have no complaints about noise. Breakfast is set out in the morning - toast, croissants, bread buns, small pancakes. All very good when you are hungry!
Only complaint would be locker sizes. Very tiny. I suppose that you can just take your valuables and put them in there, but a normal sized backpack would not fit. We had a private room so it was not a big deal for my group. And the beds were a bit lumpy but I was too tired to really care but some of the friends did not like them too much.
Also you have to pay 2 pound for a towel.
Location = perfect! We were about five minute walk from the train station and we were just near the bridge that took us over to old town Edinburgh. it was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abroadinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at Haggis Hostels in Edinburgh for more than a week and I can attest to its quality, location and staff. It's a brand new hostel, having taken over the place from a previous hostel that apparently fell into disrepair and, dare I say, disrepute. In any case, the place is kept immaculately clean--the entire staff including the two owners, go to great lengths to inspect and clean the facilities daily. Even the owners themselves clean everything ranging from the lid of the garbage bin in the kitchen to the toilets and windows! It's obvious that the owners are committed to maintaining a quality, comfortable and safe (theres CCTV, if you're used to Big Brother watching you all the time and 24-hour reception) place to stay, which is superb for anyone, especially girls, traveling alone.

The kitchen is great for preparing healthy meals while traveling, and there's breakfast--toast, peanut butter, jam, croissants, English muffins, etc.--and free tea and coffee. Other amenities include clean and bright showers, free computers (you do have to pay 3 pounds for WIFI but unless you need to do something confidential, why bother when you can use their computers for free?). Other hostels charge at least 1 pound for 30 minutes if you use their computers. As an aside, I suspect that reviewers who didn't like the showers and the hostel itself must have stayed at the other hostel upstairs, because, as someone who doesn't share a washroom at home, I wouldn't have stayed at this place for as long as I did if the showers were dirty.

About the staff, they're incredibly attentive, helpful, approachable, and can tell you about things to do in Edinburgh and its outskirts, or help you book tours to the rest of Scotland. And then there's the location! You get an awesome view of the juncture of Princes Street and North Bridge (?) and you can easily get to Waverley station and all the major sites from the hostel.

There's a bar downstairs for those who are inclined, so it can get a bit loud on Friday nights (and the people in the hostel upstairs can be noisy) but that's not something the management can help. Generally, however, you can get a goodnight's rest if you're not the partying type.

Overall, Haggis Hostel is very cosy, totally comfortable and fab and I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Edinburgh! All the best to the owners with your venture and kudos for your efforts!

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the kitchen are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fibs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Myself and two friends stayed at haggis hostels as we all done the bupa great Edinburgh 10k run for the first time. Find its far more sociable to stay in hostels than hotels. Cartoon artwork lines the walls up. Friendly staff greeted us and we were given a brief history of the place (don't get that in a hotel!). Room was perfect and beds are a good size which was good as none of us are small!! We were shown round and although none of us had any plan to cook the kitchen is brand new and shiny. The only downside to our hostel experience was deciding to take up the offer of guest discount drinks at bannermans. This was foolish the night before running!! On waking up groggy i didn't want to get up as the duvets are seriously comfy!! Headed to showers not sure what to expect as other hostel goers will understand.....was surprised to find brand new clean showers :-) Defo got my moneys worth in the shower!! Forced myself out to have the free brekkie. Filled up on pastries, toast and purchased some of their porridge.
Time to head off and staff were cool to keep our stuff till after our run.
Lovely clean place to stay and will defo be back to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Almost a spiritual experience staying in a very hospitable, warm, bright place! Great facilties - clean, new & the staff went out of their way to assist in every possible way explaining local places of interest & history of this fine Scottish city.

Situated in the heart of this wonderful city, right off Princes Street. Have a great time! You will really enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at the haggis hostel with 7 fellow travellers. On arrival the staff were friendly however my good first impressions didnt last long. There were at least 150 steep stairs to climb and this was very difficult with luggage and didnt feel very safe. Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. When we were shown the room, it was very cramped. The beds were of poor quality, cant imagine a grown man having a comfortable sleep! There was also only a small locker to put belongings in, not even big enough for a laptop so the worry of something going missing was great. When I went to have a shower I was told a towel was 2.50 when the website said they were provided which I felt was rather steep for the small towel I received. The cleanliness of the bathroom and shower area wasnt to a very high standard, with shaving remains lying around the sink. Overall, a very substandard service and hostel. Do not reccomend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
We are very sorry that you and your friends see it that way. We do feel dissapointed that you have written this after your departure when you were more than happy with your time here upon departure. We have your positive feedback written in our comments book for all to see. "LOVE THE HAGGIS HOSTELS FOREVER"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing