We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haystack Hostels
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
262
109
40
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
109
40
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaggis hosteltrain stationgreat locationbunk bedsgreat kitchenflights of stairsrooms are cleanprinces streeta nice place to staybreakfast includedroyal milecommon areasbalmoral hotelthe heart of the cityno liftsmall roomcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 432 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed at the haggis hostel with 7 fellow travellers. On arrival the staff were friendly however my good first impressions didnt last long. There were at least 150 steep stairs to climb and this was very difficult with luggage and didnt feel very safe. Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. When we were shown the room, it was very cramped. The beds were of poor quality, cant imagine a grown man having a comfortable sleep! There was also only a small locker to put belongings in, not even big enough for a laptop so the worry of something going missing was great. When I went to have a shower I was told a towel was 2.50 when the website said they were provided which I felt was rather steep for the small towel I received. The cleanliness of the bathroom and shower area wasnt to a very high standard, with shaving remains lying around the sink. Overall, a very substandard service and hostel. Do not reccomend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher d, Owner at Haystack Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

We are very sorry that you and your friends see it that way. We do feel dissapointed that you have written this after your departure when you were more than happy with your time here upon departure. We have your positive feedback written in our comments book for all to see. "LOVE THE HAGGIS HOSTELS FOREVER"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews