We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Double bedroom with garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Private living area with views to Arthur's Seat
Garden detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 1
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nickypooh
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy cottage”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband, myself & our 14 year old Stayed here for 4 nights. A lovely place to stay. Comfortable & well equipped complete with a pretty little garden. Fantastic to be able to unwind & relax in a home environment rather than a hotel room, after a busy day of sightseeing. It's situated 4 miles from the city centre, with only a 5 minute walk to the main road to catch the bus. Frequent service into the city centre & very friendly & helpful bus drivers! The Beach is only a 15 minute walk too, so we had the best of both worlds. The weather was exceptional, being dry & sunny which really topped off a great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No shaving point in the bathroom, or anywhere else.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Thanks so much for the great review and your recent stay! Really glad you enjoyed the cottage and the weather! Hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuntyJoD
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully modern decorated spacious cottage, close to beach & city”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is next door to the owners house (good for keys collection) and near a main road (with bus stop nearby) into Edinburgh but as soon as you shut the door, there is just silence, perfect after a busy day in Edinburgh.
However the best bits were the more local attractions, ice cream on Portobello Beach or playing skittles in the oldest pub in Edinburgh "The Sheep Heid Inn" are both close by.
The cottage had everything we needed and family we were visiting nearby, were jealous of how comfortable the cottage was. Would definitely recommend to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable sofas
Liked least: Pressure of shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Hi Jo, many thanks for the review. Really glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and perhaps we'll see you again soon. Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamer48
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, and were delighted to find a very clean, warm and well appointed family cottage, more than large enough for our needs. The location was very private and quiet. We made use of the on-site parking, where there was room enough for our one car, but there was also ample free parking on the road opposite. Buses into the centre of Edinburgh were frequent and reasonably priced, whilst the beach front at Portobello was only short walk away. Fiona, the owner, was extremely helpful and was quick to answer any queries we had. We would certainly stay here again, and would unhesitatingly recommend the cottage to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homelike feeling of the property.
Liked least: The double bed was rather firm.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbiechi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent cottage - perfect for exploring Edinburgh”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is bright, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. It has a real home-from-home feel to it and we quickly relaxed and enjoyed our time there. The kitchen has plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking equipment, and the inclusion of a dishwasher and washing machine came in very handy. The rooms upstairs are quite small, but there is more than enough storage space available so this was not a problem for us, even with a cot in the master bedroom. Downstairs there is plenty of room to relax, play and eat.

In addition to the excellent standard of the cottage itself, we were really well looked after by the owner who lives next door, and were frankly astonished by the value of the place. It may not be central Edinburgh, but a lovely beach is about 10-15 minutes walk away, the location is quiet and safe, and public transport into the centre is quick and close by.

Really hard to fault this cottage - will definitely use again next time I visit the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankica K
Skopje
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with everything one need for pleasent stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect choice ! We stayed at St.Margaret’s cottage for a week in Jun, and we were very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, hospitality and welcome we received. Located in the quiet residential area of Edinburgh but yet with easy access to the city center by bus, the cottage had all amenities we need. We especially loved our morning coffee and evening glass of vine in the garden, so quiet and green. Fiona was very kind and helpful. She gave us a lot of information about Edinburgh and surrounding area. The Portobello promenade is in walking distance from the cottage and it is really worth seeing. We loved our stay at St. Margaret’s cottage and we highly recommend it. Thanks Fiona!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! Glad you enjoyed and hopefully we might see you again in the future. Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable base from which to explore Edinburgh and play golf locally.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were looking for a property from which to explore Edinburgh, and which would also be close to the East Lothian coast (for a visit to the Open at Muirfield, and to play some links golf) - St Margarets Cottage proved to be the perfect location, as it was only a 40 minute walk into the city, and a 20 minute drive to the coastal links. As a bonus, the local beach at Portobello was only a 15 min walk. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable, with plenty of take-away and eat-in restaurants nearby. The owner was very welcoming, and made arrival and departure arrangements straightforward.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Tight parking
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thanks again for your stay! Hope you can come back soon, best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigAl1674
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cottage very comfortable, warm and central.
Fiona gave us great advice on the best way to get into Edinburgh (Lothian Busses...great app to download onto your phone) going by bus best way, either a 44 or 5 service into central Edinburgh.
Edinburgh is vibrant and there is always something to see or do.
Extra bonus...10 min walk to Portobello Beach. Plenty of space and very clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and access to the city
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing