We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, clean, comfortable budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityLivein Grove Street
Ranked #63 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Centrally located, clean, comfortable budget accommodation”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Smart@IQ is a modern building which is student accommodation most of the time, so is only available to the public during the summer as far as I know. As you'd expect, the rooms are small and quite basic, but are clean, in good condition and have ensuite bathrooms. My single room was, of course, smaller than a twin or double, but was perfectly adequate for my purposes and the bed was very comfortable, with fresh white linen. My room was in a flat of six separate rooms with a shared kitchen/sitting area, so you can cook for yourself and meet other people if you wish. Security seems good too - entry is with an electronic fob, and you need to use it to open the door to the main building, then your flat, then your room. Reception is also manned 24 hours per day.
It's a 15 minute walk to Prince's Street or the Grassmarket, so it's very well placed for sightseeing on foot.
On the downside, the laundry truck comes at about 9.30 each morning, and the noise of the laundry carts being wheeled about is quite intrusive if your room faces onto the central courtyard. On the Saturday morning I was there, the bin men also came at 7.30am, and made even more noise. I doubt if this would be a problem if you had a room on the other side of the building though. Or had earplugs. Also, wifi costs extra (but of course it’s free in the local cafes).
Overall, fantastic value for money. Hard to beat, in my opinion, unless you are spending a lot of time in your hotel, or have a problem with basic accommodation. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which doesn't face onto the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexCymbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    134
    95
    38
    19
See reviews for
31
178
54
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is student accomodation, not a hotel. However, the rooms are a reasonable size, clean, modern and appear to be newly refurbished. Shower room small but new and and very clean. Kitchen area equiped with the essentials if you wish to be self catering. We found this accomodation to be ideal during our stay for the fringe, after all who wants to spend time in their room when you have Edinburgh fringe on your doorstep. If you are looking for a Hotel with room service, tv etc and fluffy towels, then this is not for you. if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head, have a shower and make your own cuppa then this is for you! I think what we paid was a fair price, considering it was the fringe. The location is great, only 10/15 mins walk into the city centre, close to bus stop, cafes and tescos. The only gripe is that the room was very warm and the windows only opened a small amount, also the Duvet was a 10.5 tog, which meant we boiled at night, so we just took the duvet out of the cover. Smart, maybe thinner duvets for next summer might be a good investment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiset2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Slow and chaotic check in, key system which didn't work properly and was beyond the staff to operate properly, getting in and out a real performance. Atmosphere dead even during the festival. Wifi very expensive and required your life story to register. Room basic but fine and not over-priced for . Quite a long way out and hard to find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice self-catering hotel. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. Stayed here on two occations this summer. First time in a supiror room and second time in a regular room. Both rooms had the same size bathroom - small but adequate. The kitchen is fine and the supiror room had a dishwasher. The beds in both rooms were good. There was sofa and chairs and also a desk. Plenty of closet space too.
There is a Tesco nearby and plenty of breakfast reataurants, pubs and dinner restaurants in the neighborhood.
Location is good. It takes about 15-20 minutes to the castle by foot. It is very close to the Haymarket train station.
The Wi-Fi is very expensive and only works in common areas.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street as it gets quite noisy. If your visit is during the tattoo try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlayerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a basic student accommodation for the price of a hotel--with "child" mattresses that really hurt my back! The luggage storage is also an additional 3 pounds. The cleaning staff opened the door while we were asleep in the morning, which was startling as it was too early! The location is decent, but I would not recommend Smart IQ as there are better values for the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBelle92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is a pretty good standard - for student accommodation. It's OK if you don't mind a basic room, but don't expect any luxuries, such as hangers in the wardrobe! The reception staff seemed to work hard, but it was a very slow turnaround in a small reception. I was pretty annoyed to have to pay £3.00 to leave my bags with reception! The location is quite good - only 5 minutes from Haymarket station and 10 minutes from the castle. I would recommend this place if you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head.
For breakfast I recommend visiting the Fountain Cafe which is just along the road from the accommodation. We had a very good "doubler" bacon sandwich and a hot drink for well under £5.00.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the dual carriageway. It's very noisy if you have to leave the window op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Only stayed here because there was no availability anywhere else in Edinburgh. Smart@IQ is normally student accommodation and opened to all during the summer holiday months. No television. No airconditioning, so you'll have to open the window, which happens to be above a major road. No room service. No phone in the room. I can't even say it's a place for budget travellers, because £92 per night is rather expensive and Smart@IQ is taking advantage of the Edinburgh Festival to hike up prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GokeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Destiny Student - Brae House
#24 of 211 in Edinburgh
321 reviews
Destiny Student - Arran House
#160 of 211 in Edinburgh
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 211 in Edinburgh
1,520 reviews
Destiny Student - Shrubhill
#53 of 211 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Destiny Student - Murano
#30 of 211 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLivein Grove Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLivein Grove Street

Property: CityLivein Grove Street
Address: 69 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8FD, Scotland (Formerly Smart at IQ)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — CityLivein Grove Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLivein Grove Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityLivein Grove Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing