We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable; worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityLivein Grove Street
Ranked #71 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed September 24, 2012

4 nights in August during the Edinburgh Festival and accommodation isn't cheap. This place is perfect for a couple of blokes just neading somewhere to hang their weary heads after a few late nights on the town.

Being student accommodation during term time, this is only available to the public in August but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the service friendly, helpful yet low key.

Sure it's quite basic - there's no TV, wi-fi etc., but my en-suite double room (I'd booked a single but was given a free upgrade) had a cooker, fridge, microwave and tea and coffee facilities, as well as a desk and wardrobe. Single rooms have a shared kitchen which is also functional.
If you don't want to cook, there are some good cafes nearby and if you do there are a couple of supermarkets a minute or so walk away.

Rooms are serviced daily and I can't fault my stay here. The only minor niggle was I had to ask for a mug as there were none but this wasn't any great hassle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny_vegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

First i would like to start off by saying this hotel does exactly what it describes itself as a student budget accomodation in a city centre location

the reception staff are friendly,very helpful and attentive no complaints.

I was on a golfing holiday during the fringe festival and as you can imagine this makes getting reasonable priced accomdation that provides comfort very difficult.

Via booking.com i found this hotel and it met every need i required, i had a single room at £59 for the night in a good location. The room is located within student flat accomodation with shared living/kitchen area and lockable private bedrooms

the room itself has a desk a clean an tidy bathroom an a comfortable enough bed no tv in room but i was not in edinburgh to watch tv! it depends what sort of a break you are having but this hotel suits the needs of the relaxed traveller,the sports ethusiast,the festival goer,the concert goer and stag and hen nights.

in my opinion this hotel does not disappoint as it provides exactly what they offer to you and in its single/double and suite formats it caters for all party sizes and really as travellers thats all we want from any hotel no??

Room Tip: the fencing for the trams makes it a bit of a nightmare to get to depending where you enter the taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here during the Fesitival. This modern student accomodation is small but pleasant enough. We had a standard double room, which is a double bed against the wall, one window, and along one side a desk, chair, wardrobe and small kitchen. Good enough for a few days stay; I think I'd get claustrophobic if I had to spend a whole term here! A big plus is a secure bicycle locking room.

One word of warning - the electronic room access cards automatically cut off at 10am. We went to see a final show on our last fday, returning at 3 minutes to 10 to collect our suitcases which were already packed in our room. The key wouldn't let us in, and the staff had to be persuaded not to charge us an extra £10, which is apparently the fee if you want to extend your checkout time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primroselil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Scotland for 2 weeks and in Edinburgh for 5 days so the lack of wi-fi was really a problem, because we needed to check up on hotels/routes/etc. when we had the time to rest and this was a big problem.

A bit overpriced at 92 pounds for a big double, no breakfast included, but we went there in August during the festival so it was the best we could find.

The double room and the en-suite bathroom were generally clean but the furniture were dusty and they did not clean that during our stay... The kitchen is full-equipped if you're planning on cooking yourself.

It takes about 15min to walk to the center, Tesco supermarket is nearby, if you need supplies.
For breakfast, there's the Loudon's Cafe and bakery around the corner which has great bread, breakfast and free wi-fi!

Room Tip: No wi-fi available, get a big double to be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A decent room with a clean ensuite bathroom. The shared kitchen was squeaky clean and from what I've seen, equipped well-enough to cook a square family meal, if you want to (big fridge, oven, etc.) I paid 65 euro (about 51 pounds) for a single room in August, not cheap but that's to be expected during the Festival when prices hit the roof. The place is within walking distance from the Haymarket train station and the stop for the Airlink bus is near the station as well. If you want to travel to the Waverley station/National Gallery neighbourhood, I'd advise taking a bus (1.4 pound single fare, remember to have the exact amount as drivers can't give change).

Many other reviewers complained about the door slamming. I was lucky because my module seemed to be relatively little occupied (perhaps one or two other rooms out of six) and the lodgers were very well-behaved. This being said, the doors are indeed heavy and you have to take extra caution to close them silently, if you don't, you can slam them very loud even without meaning to.

Wi-Fi does not exist, you can use the cable Internet at an extra charge and AFAIR you have to leave a refundable deposit for the Ethernet cable if you don't have your own.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatianalarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

They really need to silence those doors into the accommodation blocks, really quite loud and it rattles right along walls. Other than that It was excellent value for money. Perfect for our short stay. Only gripe with the room was the amount of fluff and hairs that seemed to be in the most random of places, such as the microwave. We saw past that however. Staff where friendly enough. Shouldn't be advertising the wifi because it's non existent. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of the 2012 Edinburgh Fringe. At about 110 pounds/night, the room was overpriced and the service was poor. The room wasn't cleaned our second day and despite our complaint and unfulfilled request for a cleaning, no compensation was offered other than a "sorry." The room was small, and an awkward layout. Highly recommend finding alternatives.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,109 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 394 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLivein Grove Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLivein Grove Street

Address: 69 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8FD, Scotland (Formerly Smart at IQ)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $63 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — CityLivein Grove Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your CityLivein Grove Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityLivein Grove Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing