We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting for the grandchildren”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #128 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waiting for the grandchildren”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay a this pleasant hotel the night before picking up our grandchildren from Edinburgh Airport. It was a very mini break and very enjoyable. Although centrally placed for easy access to shops and attractions it is in a quiet position in leafy Edinburgh. The room was comfortable and the breakfast good. We also had dinner at the hotel which was very tasty, well priced and with good portions. Overall a good visit and would recommend the hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericlisa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    104
    52
    38
    25
See reviews for
61
111
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice looking hotel. Our room 14 on the top floor was very small. The third bed was a mattress on the floor. The bathroom window had no seal and air was coming in. The room was mildly warmed during the day, but in the evening all heating was off and the room very cold. Every evening we had to ask the staff to switch on the heating. Only after one hour the room was starting to get warm. We asked the staff to keep the heating on in the evening, but they didn't do it. We had to ask every time. We stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (4th, no lift) are small and not very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in room 12, the extractor fan in the bathroom was broken, so was the glass in the (beautiful) porthole window, not attended to when we reported it to reception. Only one pillow on the bed. Rather than spending so much money on massive flat screen TVs (they were everywhere!) maybe some general maintenance would be better. One teabag in a pot is a bit tight and the coffee is not good. Overall not value for money, rating would be "average" if reception had agreed to reduce the price due to the above problems. Friends staying at the same time reported similar issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are not suitable for anyone over 5ft tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Swindon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed one night for business. got a ground floor internal room. long and narrow with a skylight, but no window. mechanism to close blind on skylight broken, so woke up with the sun. There is no thermostat on the shower, so difficult to get temperature right. Breakfast v. limited. Cereal, a few yogurts and some tinned fruit. hotel decor is basic and tired. So Ok for one night, but not tecommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank IanSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Best hotel in Edinburgh,excellent. Friendly staff,great food and drink, as a son of Edinburgh,for me this is without doubt the best hotel iv stayed in ,I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and its staff,great value for money ,located in a lovely part of the city

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandbarbarahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. It is clean, has great parking- a real plus in Edinburgh. Close to Napier University, Tasty breakfast. Helpful manager. Rooms in the attic smallish and no lift and the walls are thin so if you are a light sleeper this may present a problem - but reasonable value for money. Go for a first floor room if you have the option.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having never stayed there overnight I cannot comment on the rooms however my partner and I had a meal there about a year ago and I cannot recommend it as it was really bland and extremely tasteless. We go there on average about once a month maybe on a Friday or a Saturday afternoon and the best I can say about the Royal Ettrick is that it is always moderately busy and you don't get any trouble however the drinks are not exactly cheap and the coffee comes in small cups but with a big price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#132 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#106 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Property: Royal Ettrick Hotel
Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing