We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mandy & Pauline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Ettrick Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #129 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mandy & Pauline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Ettrick Hotel for two nights and found the hotel very comfortable. We were upgraded to the fabulous James Suite and thoroughly enjoyed experiencing the luxury of this room.The hotel has a lovely, friendly atmosphere.The staff were very accommodating, they booked a tour on our behalf and helped us with directions. There are landscaped gardens with a pretty terrace, a perfect place to sit and relax on a nice day. The breakfast was first class and there is a vibrant bar frequented by guests and locals. The hotel is just out of town and is in a very nice, quiet neighbourhood. The bus stop is just across the road and the buses run very regularly, we didn't wait more than 5 mins. The owners are a lovely couple who make time to chat to their guests. We left feeling like we had made new friends. We wish Ann and Jim all the best as they embark on a new chapter in their lives and will certainly return the next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Mandy P,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service we provide to a high standard.

Although we aim to provide a comfortable stay and dining experience in the hotel we also like to assist with the guests visit into the city aiming to help recommend and book various attractions to make their visit easier and more relaxing.

We hope that you will consider staying in the Royal Ettrick again on your next trip to Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    96
    44
    33
    25
See reviews for
55
103
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
INVERGORDON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I am in Edinburgh for weekends on a regular basis and have stayed at the Royal Ettrick on numerous occasions over the last 5 years. The location of the property is just perfect for our needs but in addition to location what you get with the Ettrick is the sort of character and charm allied to a warm welcome that is so often missing in the soul less chain hotels. The bar is a friendly welcoming place and the service is cheerful and friendly. Don't tend to eat in the hotel other than breakfast which is pretty good but yesterday had a bar meal and excellent bar food at good value prices - I will be using the bar menu again.
The hotel has had extensive refurb recently and it has added greatly to the experience - rooms are well presented and the superior rooms are roomier and brighter and well worth that wee bit extra. I had booked a superior room but was kindly upgraded to the James Suite which was simply stunning.
Best recommendation I can give is that we just keep on going back.

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenzie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Mackenzie478,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay again with us and took the opportunity to have some food in the bar.

We have recently made some changes to the bar menu which we hope you will enjoy on your next visit to us.

The James Suite is our newest and largest room in the hotel and I am glad you were able to experience this fantastic room!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I've known the hotel for years and was pleased to find it as welcoming as ever and a very good place to stay - very good value, welcoming and helpful staff, an excellent breakfast, and a convenient location. My room was small but comfortable. A reliable recommendation.

Room Tip: lower floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadridPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear MadridPods,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you find the hotel, staff and services we offer to a good standard that you have returned to us over the last few years.

It is always nice to see a familiar face walk back through the door and this is the basis on which we train our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Ettrick Hotel for one relaxing night, arriving late and leaving after an enjoyable breakfast the next morning. We needed somewhere to stay as my son was having his house renovated nearby and we were fortunate enough for him to recommend the hotel to us.
Ann Barlow, the owner, and all the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the room (James Suite) was absolutely magnificent. Quite frankly, we won't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh if and when we have the opportunity to visit again.
Alan Taylor

Room Tip: I can heartily recommed the James Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Mr. Taylor,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It is always our intent that we provide friendly, efficient customer service to all our guests and are happy that we met those expectations with you.

The James Suite is our flagship room and was recently renovated as part of an ongoing project to improve the service we provide.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back again to the Royal Ettrick on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on business having chosen the hotel for it's convenient location to where I was working, and to the centre of Edinburgh. Despite being an old building my top floor room had ample space, was well fitted out, clean and comfortable, if a little warm at night. Being in the attic the window was very small but could be opened safely to cool the room.

The service I received was excellent! Despite arriving late on a Sunday night the staff were willing to meet all my needs. Throughout my stay they couldn’t have been more helpful, arranging taxies when I needed them and always responding to my requests as soon as they were made. On one evening I returned to find that the room had not been serviced because I had inadvertently left the ‘do not disturb’ sign out. The duty manager immediately offered to service the room at 6.30 pm for me while I was having my dinner and did an excellent job.

The restaurant was really superb! Both the breakfasts and evening meals were freshly prepared and of the highest quality, yet reasonably priced. Despite a limited menu, the range of food on offer was enough to keep me ‘eating in’ throughout my stay. I particularly recommend the homemade pâté with toasted brioche and jam! The restaurant service was also excellent throughout my stay.

This is a reasonably priced hotel in a quiet location which appears to go out of its way to provide excellent value for money and offers a friendly environment that more modern and more expensive hotels frequently lack. Yes, its an old building and has to work within those constraints. Nonetheless, I would thoroughly recommend it for both business and leisure travellers.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs then ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings_of_the_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Wings_of_the_Eagles,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Ettrick and were able to make use of the restaurant for Dinner as well as Breakfast.

It is noted that the menu is slightly limited in choice, but as you mentioned, we do this in order to provide a higher standard of food and service to our guests.

It is also good to hear that the problem with your room was resolved speedily and with little disruption to yourself by the manager on duty and your comments will be passed onto him.

We hope that you have added the Royal Ettrick Hotel to your address book for future stays in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

So, my 3rd visit in 5 weeks, and once again, highly recommend it. Room 19, by far the largest room i have stayed in at the hotel, gives you everything u need. Helpful staff, food cooked to your liking, great location and superb value makes it ideal for short business, or leisure trips. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiltybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guiltybear,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the hotel and services offered and have returned to us for a 3rd time.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed several nights at the Royal Ettrick Hotel and it could not have been better - lovely room, friendly staff, recently refurbished, good bus connection to Edinburgh central and and owner (wife and husband) who really put themselves out and could not have done more. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Clive N,

Thank you for your kind comments from your recent stay at the Royal Ettrick Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and amenities as well as the service provided by our dedicated team at the hotel.

We do our very best to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay so that we may welcome them back again and again on future visits.

Kind Regards

Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Channings Hotel
#30 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Property: Royal Ettrick Hotel
Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing