We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to Murrayfield Stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Wrexham, Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Murrayfield Stadium”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Stayed recently for the Magic Weekend. Hotel is walking distance from Murrayfield Stadium which was brilliant for us and only a short bus ride for £1.20 (I think) into the city.
The hotel was ok it did the job anyway and was ideal for our purpose of somewhere to sleep and close to the Stadium.
Breakfast was expensive but when we said we wouldn't pay the £13 and would go somewhere else the manager offered us a 'special rate' as long as we payed cash. Not sure where that money went but we got it cheaper so dont care.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simondcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    910
    490
    140
    76
See reviews for
551
745
82
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh during the Iceland volcano situation. We weren't exactly stranded, but delayed a bit. The front desk staff couldn't have been more nice or helpful. They would check on our flights any time we asked, allow a later checkout if needed and made sure we had a room if our flight was canceled. They really went the extra mile.

The hotel itself was clean and functional - everything you expect from a Holiday Inn. The bus stop is right outside and is 10 minutes from the city center.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seck1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Whilst location is a fair way out there is a bus stop directly outside and you can get a day rider for £3 each, which is very good value. The room smelt musty and was particularly uninspiring, with a view over the car park. The price of drinks in the bar is ridiculous - about £19 for a bottle of wine I would have spent £3.99 on in a supermarket. The breakfast didn't look very appetising and the restaurant has the feel of a canteen. We stopped 2 nights on and on both mornings we had to go and speak to a waiter to get a pot of tea rather than them coming to us. Previously we have stopped at The Marriott, which is even further out but again has a bus stop directly outside, and have been very happy with the standard of accommodation there and in future that is were we will be returning to. We thought we would give the Holiday Inn a go as it was a few £s cheaper but on having been you would have thought it was considerably cheaper!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieNooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Hotel only 10 minutes by car from Princess Street (despite roadworks at Haymarket!). Clean and quiet, even though it seems to be an overnighter for bus trips. Woke up to sounds of the sea lions at the zoo next door. Food reasonable, but not particularly cheap - alcohol drinks very very expensive!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel was too far out of Edinburgh to make sightseeing or shopping easy. While there are shops across a busy road, there was nothing of interest nearby. The staff weren't particularly friendly, and the room apart from not being particularly clean had a very poor outlook. They didn't even have a public phone in the lobby, but didn't mind charging for you to use the one in your room even if you had an international phone card. They were also very expensive for internet use, which is often free at hotels these days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I have stayed here a few times for work and will stay here again. The staff were friendly and the rooms were fine. Bit of a way out of the city although there is a good bus service into the city and to the airport. The number 100 bus goes from the city centre past the hotel to the airport every 10 minutes, and is only 1.20 into the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed one night with our two grandchildren ( 3 and 4 years old ). The room cost £64.00 including breakfast and free dining for the children. The children had individual single beds. Overall therefore, excellent value. However, the rooms are somewhat 'tired' and need a refit. together with the corridors.

Food wise - excellent breakfast choice but dinner very moderate. We had the carvery and i would suggest the chef should make a visit to a nearby Toby carvery to compare ( at a third of the price )

Therefore, for the price, very good but would be tempted to eat out, even allowing for free children's food .( There is an oriental section to the restaurant which may be OK.)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing