We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed at many hotels in the Holiday Inn group across the country, we stayed for a couple of nights and had a very pleasant time. The hotel is clean comfortable and has a good bar area which we used to good affect !!!! The food was of the standard that you would expect from this type of hotel both in an evening and breakfast. Overall a good stay and would recommend the hotel for being on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyboyNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and you utilised many of the facilities within the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night but could've stayed for a long weekend without being bored. Room was clean and warm. Choice of bar food, oriental style restaurant of carvery. Choice of Full cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast and the pankace machine is great for kids.

Room Tip: Can ask for a room overlooking the zoo which is next door to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muir_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much you would have liked to have stayed longer.
We are pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast and tried the pancake machine.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights during Easter Hols. Decent room ,although a bit dated and cleanliness in bathroom wasn't great round bath .
Room was large enough for our family of four with good tea and coffee making facilities. Beds were comfy enough and we certainly could not complain about the room being cold.
We used Traders restaurant while we stayed and found it to be very good (just be wary of the ten per cent service charge added on). The swimming pool could be bigger for a hotel of this size and a steam room would be welcome.
During our stay there was painting of the doors and skirting going on, on floor 5 . This has to be done from time to time in any building but there were insufficient wet paint signs up and our youngest son (9 years old) touched up against a freshly painted part which left a bonny white mark on his black ski jacket. The manager was in the area soon after and I let him know what had happened .
Would I use this hotel again ?..........probably ......yes. It is handy for the zoo and Murrayfield but I do get the impression that not much serious refurbishment goes on in the rooms as convenience and location are the key attributes of this place.
Big well done has to go to Dawn and Kristy at check in/out . These girls carry a smile well and work well under pressure.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and we apologise for the mishap with the wet paint.
We are about to carry out refurbishment in many of our rooms and bathrooms that will enhance our product.
Thank You for the special mentions and I will ensure that they are passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it hence staying again, booking two rooms, one for daughter and boyfriend.
arriving a little early neither room was ready. the pool was out of order due to "a slight vomiting incident" but we were given a bottle of water while we waited due to being priority members, whoopee!
for the two days we stayed the AC didn't work. well, I say it didn't work? the fan worked but switched itself off but no temperature control was visible so there was no way of knowing what it was set to. on the second evening a guy come to have a look but said it was a maintenance issue. only on leaving and going in daughters room did I find their AC was exactly the same.
the bathroom fan had not been cleaned in months. it was black and full of dust.
breakfast was a little chaotic. the restaurant was busy. the pancake machine suffering as a result. the first morning it broke completely.
the bad points over.
I like the gym. rowing machines well maintained which is unusual.
the bus stop is right outside and the day tripper rate of £3.50 quite reasonable.
car parking free.
great for zoo but we don't do the zoo.
so all in all a little disappointing compared to last visit but the problems compounded by how busy it was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not as enjoyable as your last stay.
We do try and aim to check people in as soon as they arrive however we are sorry it was not possible on this stay.
I will ensure all your comments are used constructively so that we can ensure the same high level of service whether we busy or not.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly but I was put in a twin room with single beds. Colleagues checked in after me and got double beds even though I asked at check for a change of room type.
Rooms were small compared to many other holiday inns I have stayed in.
However the rooms were quiet and facilities decent. Breakfast was also good. We ate one night in the bar. The food was decent but as expected expensive.
I would recommend this for business stays and it seemed very popular with tourists and families.
Great location and free on site parking is also a big plus.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Lizziemo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are disappointed that you did not get the room type of your choice however if staying again please do not hesitate to contact me in advance and I will ensure that this arranged for you.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and would recommend to friends and family.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Next door to the zoo and on a major bus route to Edinburgh . Facilities were good, swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna all spotless. Food , drink, coffee all available in spacious clean surroundings. Large rooms very clean staff professional and friendly. Within walking distance of pubs, takeaways and shops. Will definitely stay here again . Only downside was slight road noise, if you get a room overlooking the zoo you can here the animals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel have a little road noise of you like the window open, rooms on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1rooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are very pleased to read your fantastic feedback with regards to the facilities and the level of cleanliness.
We hope you enjoyed your trip to the Zoo and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on Saturday (6th) and had a very enjoyable time. Got a great deal for the one night and feel it was well worth the money. It is a bit out of the centre but has free on-site parking which is a big plus in the capital.
The room was roomy, nice and clean ( thanks Joanna) and we could not fault it. The shower was great by the way!
We mentioned at the reception that one of us was coeliac and was there a gluten-free breakfast option. The staff assured us there was and said they would make the morning staff aware of this request.
On arrival for breakfast we were introduced to Andy the chef who had gluten free sausages for Annie and even made gluten free toast for her so there wasn't a risk of contamination. I feel I have to highlight Andy as he is a real asset to this hotel and one of the reasons we will be back at this establishment.
The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is aimed squarely at the senior member of staff who decides the bar prices.
Oh Dear!! I can just about stomach £8 for a 250ml glass of a good red wine (Faustino ain't that special guys) but to have to pay £4.55 for a 35ml nip of a supermarket brand that you won't see on George St is a bit hard to take. Selling 3 Star vodka ( yes I do mean Smirnoff Red) at 5 Star prices doesn't leave a pleasant aftertaste.
All in all we will use this hotel anytime we stay in Edinburgh because good staff make you want to come back again and again.
Thanks guys

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wino1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
It is a pleasure to read that our Team have looked after you so well during your stay and I will ensure your special mentions are passed on.
We appreciate your feedback with regards to our bar prices however as I am sure you can understand it is out with our direct control and remain competitive within the Edinburgh area.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind Regards
Claire
Claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,317 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $71 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing