We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$653
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,425)
Filter reviews
2,426 results
Traveler rating
578
1,013
573
175
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
1,013
573
175
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecool jadepentland hillsswimming poolexecutive roomleisure facilitiestrouser pressday ticketbus stop rightreception stafffamily roomsofa bedbuffet stylebus servicestayed here for one nighttea and coffeehaggis
Filter
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 2,426 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that I got an unbelievable deal on this place via lastminute.com, so my review might be more favourable as a result but, frankly, I doubt it. This is a nice hotel with great facilities but, unusually for a city hotel, a great atmosphere, very relaxed but focused on what matters as a customer. The staff are excellent - very helpful and friendly. Overall, no complaints. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a truly wonderful review with regards to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that your stay was very comfortable and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Check in was smooth & easy even though we were with a large coach party. The room was large, warm & comfortable. Shower good. Breakfast was included. We were shown to a table, given hot drinks then told to help ourselves. It was extremely busy and we had to queue for about 15 minutes, which was the only thing that let the hotel down. It was however worth waiting for. The hotel is next to Edinburgh zoo and we got woken by the strangest noises. Will visit again when in the area. The pool, spa & gym looked very nice but we ran out of time to use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ourselves.
I will ensure your positive feedback with regards to your breakfast is passed onto our team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near furture and next time you stay you can hopefully fit in the leisure facilities.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@talktalk.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November and found it very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed using the pool; it isn't very big but there were few people using it when we were there at about tea time. The gym looked fine, although we did not use it. The hotel was very close to a bus stop which was great; the buses are frequent and cheap and we were in city centre in no time - great for shopping! The hotel looks a bit unattractive from the outside, but do not let this put you off, as it was fine inside. We booked via Secret Hotels and were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here just a few weekends ago . Staff excellent very friendly and helpful . Rooms fine just average hotel room but very quite despite the hotel being very busy as a rugby international was on at Murrayfield . Not a pretty looking hotel from the outside but better inside . I enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast and the restaurant staff were super efficient on a busy Sunday morning . I was also impressed but the gym and pool . Pool area very clean and tidy and pool water clear and fresh not murky like some I've been to . Would stay again - can easily get bus/ taxi to the city centre . Good parking at rear too .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donsym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your peaceful stay.
I will ensure that your feedback with regards to breakfast and the Health Club are passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. Rated the experience average, but to be fair the hotel is very clean and tidy, cleanliness in the room was very good, and food not at all bad for a hotel of this type albeit rather expensive. Staff ver friendly and attentive. Hotel does have a dated exterior and a bit of a 70's feel inside in places, but rooms and bar area have a modern feel. Had a standard room with a view of the car park at the rear; poor view but very quiet. Bathroom was very small but shower was great. It's about a 10 minute taxi ride into the City which costs about £10, and the Chinese restaurant (Jade Garden?) across the road is good!

Room Tip: To get a view of the hills ask for a room on the front of the hotel, although rooms at the rear are very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review.
We pleased to read that you found the Hotel to be "clean and tidy" and that you enjoyed the food with friendly service throughout.
We do have various different views from our hotel bedrooms. If you find yourself returning to stay with us again at Check In please do not hesitate to ask for a different view and we will be happy to assist where possible.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews