We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
salisbury
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute stay due to a family funeral in Stirling.
We had stayed here twice before, and liked the location because of access to airport and to the city of Edinburgh.
We had a Twin standard room which was fine, as we were only staying for one night and there you go!
Breakfast was very good with a tasty cooked breakfast.
We ate our breakfast before meeting big queues of people. The staff coped well with all this and were very kindly and polite.
There is a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the hotel, and you can enjoy a drink or a coffee from the excellent coffee shop!
I very much like that facility.
We also made use if the suggested walk / running route found in a notice by the lifts !
It was a sad occasion for us, but made better by staying in a comfortable and well run hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbykx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear of your loss and we are glad that you stay was comfortable and helped make your trip hassle free.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    900
    483
    139
    74
See reviews for
545
734
82
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that I got an unbelievable deal on this place via lastminute.com, so my review might be more favourable as a result but, frankly, I doubt it. This is a nice hotel with great facilities but, unusually for a city hotel, a great atmosphere, very relaxed but focused on what matters as a customer. The staff are excellent - very helpful and friendly. Overall, no complaints. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a truly wonderful review with regards to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh.
We are delighted to read that your stay was very comfortable and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Check in was smooth & easy even though we were with a large coach party. The room was large, warm & comfortable. Shower good. Breakfast was included. We were shown to a table, given hot drinks then told to help ourselves. It was extremely busy and we had to queue for about 15 minutes, which was the only thing that let the hotel down. It was however worth waiting for. The hotel is next to Edinburgh zoo and we got woken by the strangest noises. Will visit again when in the area. The pool, spa & gym looked very nice but we ran out of time to use.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ourselves.
I will ensure your positive feedback with regards to your breakfast is passed onto our team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near furture and next time you stay you can hopefully fit in the leisure facilities.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@talktalk.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November and found it very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed using the pool; it isn't very big but there were few people using it when we were there at about tea time. The gym looked fine, although we did not use it. The hotel was very close to a bus stop which was great; the buses are frequent and cheap and we were in city centre in no time - great for shopping! The hotel looks a bit unattractive from the outside, but do not let this put you off, as it was fine inside. We booked via Secret Hotels and were very pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here just a few weekends ago . Staff excellent very friendly and helpful . Rooms fine just average hotel room but very quite despite the hotel being very busy as a rugby international was on at Murrayfield . Not a pretty looking hotel from the outside but better inside . I enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast and the restaurant staff were super efficient on a busy Sunday morning . I was also impressed but the gym and pool . Pool area very clean and tidy and pool water clear and fresh not murky like some I've been to . Would stay again - can easily get bus/ taxi to the city centre . Good parking at rear too .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donsym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your peaceful stay.
I will ensure that your feedback with regards to breakfast and the Health Club are passed on.
We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business. Rated the experience average, but to be fair the hotel is very clean and tidy, cleanliness in the room was very good, and food not at all bad for a hotel of this type albeit rather expensive. Staff ver friendly and attentive. Hotel does have a dated exterior and a bit of a 70's feel inside in places, but rooms and bar area have a modern feel. Had a standard room with a view of the car park at the rear; poor view but very quiet. Bathroom was very small but shower was great. It's about a 10 minute taxi ride into the City which costs about £10, and the Chinese restaurant (Jade Garden?) across the road is good!

Room Tip: To get a view of the hills ask for a room on the front of the hotel, although rooms at the rear are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review.
We pleased to read that you found the Hotel to be "clean and tidy" and that you enjoyed the food with friendly service throughout.
We do have various different views from our hotel bedrooms. If you find yourself returning to stay with us again at Check In please do not hesitate to ask for a different view and we will be happy to assist where possible.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

booked this hotel as a secret escape with last minute. com
only saved us £15 per night.
thought we had booked a double but on arrival found we had a twin. on complaining told to move beds together. no different bedding offered so not sure how she planned on this working?
hotel is a little way from centre. bus leaves from outside hotel regularly. cost £3,50 for a day tripper ticket per person.
hotel reception, bar, restaurant all look very nice but once behind the hotel frontage things look a little dated.
breakfast was very nice, even a pancake machine. breakfast staff very friendly and professional.
gym well equipped and modern well maintained equipment.
car park free and no trouble parking.
pool/Jacuzzi/sauna all well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.
We are disappointed that you did not get the room allocation you wanted booking through Lastminute. A non specific room type is booked and you will be allocated house availability.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast experience and you found the Spa facilities to be of a high standard.
We do hope you stay with us again and either book direct or get in touch before arrival to ensure you are allocated the room of your choice.

Kind Regards
Claire
claire.borthwick@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing