We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Charges!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Hidden Charges!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn recently and although the hotel was lovely and the pool very welcome I thought the food could of been better and the rooms warmer. We mentioned the rooms to reception and they tried their best to sort it, even moving one of our party to another room and offering portable heaters to others if we wanted them.
The big gripe (VERY BIG GRIPE) were the hidden charges in the restaurant and coffee bar. 12.5% surcharge in the restaurant and 10% at the coffee bar. These charges aren't mentioned and guests simply pay it oblivious that they've been added. I challenged the surcharge and was told if I didn't want to pay it I didn't have to but only the manager could take it off the bill. The manager then became very busy during our stay.!!!
There were quite a few of us eating on the Saturday night and the surcharge on the bill was £60. Who leaves a £60 tip after a meal!!!
Nice hotel let down by a rip off hidden surcharge system.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear andyc7,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    910
    489
    140
    76
See reviews for
551
745
82
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ok, so me and my partner stay away a lot, we've tried many different hotels at different prices along the way. Now this was my first experience of a Holiday Inn, they aren't the cheapest hotels, nor are they the most expensive either. I have to say from check in until check out, I was not let down once and my expectations were surpassed.

Check in was cheerful, friendly and quick even with people coming in at the same time, the staff prioritize you rather than staring at a computer or taking a call. MASSIVE brownie points here. We also asked a lot of questions about local places / bus routes all sorts to be frank and they were so helpful, not to mention giving you a ticket that tells you bus prices, route numbers, times etc. Obviously they put this together themselves. So again HUGELY impressed.

The room was modern, warm, immaculate and fab amenities at hand. The TV was an LG 40" flatty with a decent selection of channels that actually worked as well! The hotel also has gym , swimming pool and on site beauty treatments you can use and purchase massages etc. The pool and gym are inclusive.

Ok so onto the breakfast..... I am not exaggerating when I say this was one of the BEST I have eaten, full stop. There was a selection of full English, pastries, cereal, pancakes, fruit, meats, you name it they have it. I had the full English and croissants, it was fresh, tasty superbly cooked and not batch cooked so there was too much and it went nasty like a lot of hotels have problems with. It was that good, it makes me wish this hotel was local so I could go and get a weekend fry up!

Service every step of the way was superb, no miserable or unhappy rude staff. Well engaged and accommodating with every contact we made. We had treatments at the Spa, good value and highly recommend the hot stones massage. Totally relaxed me and took the stress away from normal life!

I cannot stress how good this hotel is and trust me when I say, you will not regret a stay here.

Holiday Inn you just found yourselves two new repeat customers! Oh and before I forget to mention we signed up to their priority club (no fee!) which also allowed us to stay in hotel room until 2pm, with no further charge . We will also begin collecting points with the group, smashing!

Room Tip: Use the SPA! Have their breakfast its more than worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
What a wonderful review. We're all very happy to hear that our service and amenities exceeded your expectations.

It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again, if the breakfast doesn't lure you back hopefully the friendliness of the team will!

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night bed and breakfast over the easter weekend. We paid extra to pay in the deluxe room, it was quite basic but the bed was comfy, there was a flat screen tv with many channels and was very clean! Breakfast was good, lots of choice and good service by the staff. We were on the third floor facing the main road, I was surprised how quiet it was! I thought it would be loud due to passing traffic but it wasnt an issue. There is free hotel parking which is what drew me to the hotel as city hotels dont have anywhere to park. Location was great for us, literally right next door to the zoo and theres a bus stop outside of the hotel with buses running every 5-10 mins into the city - a 15 min journey and only £1.50. I would definitely stay here again if travelling on a budget. I havent seen the standard room but for the small difference in price i would recommend the deluxe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. Really glad to hear the parking worked out for you, especially since we're frequented by local buses for the short ride into town.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute, it was a secret hotel. So when I was told it was a holiday inn, I turned my nose up, I always thought they looked very office like.never wanted to stay in one . I must say, I was happy with my stay. Great staff, very clean, amazing breakfast. Swimming pool, gym . They let us check in a couple of hours early. Will probably stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
People's perception of Holiday Inn is often that of a budget brand, as it was back in the 50's when the brand started in the USA.

Since the re-brand in 2010 we have modernised and brought our brand into the 21st century. This hotel is a 4 star and the amenities such as the swimming pool, spa, on-site beauty therapy, Chinese restaurant as well as our signature Traders restaurant all help to really exceed the expectations of our guests.

We're happy to hear it worked.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Bought this room as a mystery 4 star hotel in Edinburgh for £45. Free parking was advertised and that made all the difference. Great view from room. Enjoyed our morning visit to the pool and sauna. Would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised to stay with us on your mystery 4 star hotel visit to Edinburgh.

Now that you are familiar with the hotel I hope we will see you return, the best internet rates available are through our website directly so you'll know you're getting the best deal.

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel for my partners 50th birthday. Reception staff friendly & efficient, our family room was adequate with tea & coffee facilities. Free parking. What makes this hotel is the staff - friendly, cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. My partner found a birthday card in our room on arrival, and another card and birthday cake complete with candle from the dining room staff - and the food was good, we sampled an evening 3 course meal & 2 breakfasts. All in all a good hotel close to the town, right next to the zoo, with spa facilities, fab food & great staff, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it for a short city break.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and your partner had a great 50th birthday.

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. See you again on your next visit!

Craig
craig.small@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

While this hotel lives up to its Holiday Inn reputation. While everything comes as an extra if booked in advance it can offer good base (plenty of parking) on airport side of Edinburgh. Food was overpriced but perfectly adequate. The hotel was full while I was there but despite that the staff were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10111011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 10111011,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing