We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #110 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband, 6 year old son and I recently spent a 3 day break in Edinburgh as a birthday treat for me. We had wanted to find a hotel that was child friendly and that had a swimming pool. A friend of ours who stays in Edinburgh a lot on business, suggested the Holiday Inn as a good option.
We used to live in Edinburgh, so knew that the hotel was very close to the centre, which was also a great bonus for us.
We had the best stay and were so impressed with the service and how amazingly child friendly the hotel was.
The room was a good size and the beds huge. There was a welcome bag for our son and a sweet treat from reception on arrival. To say he was ecstatic would be an understatement. On our second night we paid to view the new Madagascar movie for a" family popcorn night" The movie would not play properly and one call to reception resulted in an immediate refund and a heartfelt apology.
The breakfast was outstanding and the choice really, really good. The facilities were excellent, the staff so friendly and helpful and we were even given a room at the back of the hotel as requested in my online booking.
The only niggle we had and it is a small one, is that the prices in the 2 restaurants were a bit pricey. We would have eaten in them as the menu looked great but not at the cost of almost £50 for the three of us. We went down the road instead and had a lovely meal for £35.
This is the only reason that I have given the hotel 4 stars instead of 5.
Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back to avoid the noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,576 - 1,582 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came here for a short family break staying 2 nights. The hotel was a pleasant surprise, the exterior is not particularly pleasant but inside was lovely, modern and welcoming. The close proximity to the zoo was a bonus for us as we went to visit early in the morning and found all the animals were up and about, including the pandas!
We made full use of the hotels facilities, eating in the restaurant on two evenings. We took the buffet deal which was really reasonably priced and included 3 courses with a great choice on offer. We also had breakfast twice which was fantastic, again a great choice and all of excellent quality. As a bonus children under 12 eat for free so we didn't pay a penny to feed our children for the whole trip.
The leisure facilities were also very good, we used the gym, pool, sauna and jacuzzi and enjoyed this facilitiy so much we visited 3 times over the 2 days.
We felt the service and standard of the hotel was very good for the price we payed and would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week between 28/2 and 2/3, and was very impressed with the whole Holiday Inn experience. We arrived in Edinburgh by 10am, and went to the hotel with a view to leave our luggage prior to checking in at the correct time. To our surprise we had a room available for us so early in the day. Staff were friendly and pleasant, and the general vibe in the hotel was good. The zoo is next door to the hotel, and the transport system into the City centre is exceptional.

The only downside is the bar/room service prices are quite expensive so we opted to eat out on both nights.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the front of the hotel have a greay view of sunset and sunrise, and you suprisingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davee747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

room was fantastic - very comfortable, bottles of water in room as well as given bottles by reception when we checked in. Booked the breakfast on checkin and saved £4 a head - good breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. Bar prices pretty steep for snacks so nipped out to a local chip shop for some supper!! Location great for a visit to the zoo - we had booked to see the pandas so we were first in the zoo next morning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirktonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the HI for two nights on thursday, I was In Edinburgh to visit the ZOO and attend a wedding, On check In Nicola was very helpful and pleasant, I arrived at the hotel early and just my luck there was a room ready. After dumping the bags in my room I noticed the room was spotlessly clean and the little bar of chocolate and water in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was also clean and tidy. After My partner and I Had a long walk arond the zoo we returned to the hotel tired and hungry, we diceded to eat in the bar area, both of us ordered burgers and onion rings they were delicious I could not manage all of it. The chap serving our food (I forgotten his name but it started with an E) was also very nice. All of the recption staff were great and were happy to call us a taxi the next day when we had to get to the wedding. the only small issue i had was that i felt the room was very warm and i could ot get the air con to work (may have just been me) but it was nothing an open window could not fix!! As someone whom works in the hotel industry I know what standards to expect and the HI Lived up to these standards I unfortunatley did not use the spa or had breakfast but both looked great. All in all a great stay thank you to all the staff there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel feels a little back to front when you get there with the car park not easy to get and form with luggage. However, once inside you are greeted by helpful and attentive staff.

Our room was very comfortable with a nice clean bathroom with nice toiletries. A little tired but not off putting.

The food is good and represents good value. The weekend rates do offer dinner bed and breakfast packages and they are good value.

Breakfast is good and plentiful and served buffet style. One thing that I found 'tacky' and off putting were things like beans, mushrooms and haggis and other items like scrambled eggs were served in battered old pans with equally battered old lids. It looked so unprofessional and so easy to rectify!!!

Nice fresh and bright bar with some nice wines on offer.

A short bus or taxi ride, or a gentle 25 minute stroll gets you into the City so the hotel is ideally suited for business or a weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have just come back from spending 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel is situated right next to edingburgh zoo and a bus stop outside takes you directly to the city centre. This makes it an ideal location. The hotel itself has a very good gym with weights and various excersice machines.
Hotel kept very clean and staff very friendly.

Pros- Great location
Excellent facilities
Breakfast outstanding
Friendly staff
Clean

Cons- Food can be expensive for an evening meal
Room card tempermental

Would have rated this 5 star if i had not had to keep ketting my room key changed.
Would reccomend

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pud550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,396 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $66 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing