We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

room was fantastic - very comfortable, bottles of water in room as well as given bottles by reception when we checked in. Booked the breakfast on checkin and saved £4 a head - good breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. Bar prices pretty steep for snacks so nipped out to a local chip shop for some supper!! Location great for a visit to the zoo - we had booked to see the pandas so we were first in the zoo next morning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirktonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    929
    512
    149
    79
See reviews for
564
765
86
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the HI for two nights on thursday, I was In Edinburgh to visit the ZOO and attend a wedding, On check In Nicola was very helpful and pleasant, I arrived at the hotel early and just my luck there was a room ready. After dumping the bags in my room I noticed the room was spotlessly clean and the little bar of chocolate and water in the room was a nice touch. The bathroom was also clean and tidy. After My partner and I Had a long walk arond the zoo we returned to the hotel tired and hungry, we diceded to eat in the bar area, both of us ordered burgers and onion rings they were delicious I could not manage all of it. The chap serving our food (I forgotten his name but it started with an E) was also very nice. All of the recption staff were great and were happy to call us a taxi the next day when we had to get to the wedding. the only small issue i had was that i felt the room was very warm and i could ot get the air con to work (may have just been me) but it was nothing an open window could not fix!! As someone whom works in the hotel industry I know what standards to expect and the HI Lived up to these standards I unfortunatley did not use the spa or had breakfast but both looked great. All in all a great stay thank you to all the staff there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel feels a little back to front when you get there with the car park not easy to get and form with luggage. However, once inside you are greeted by helpful and attentive staff.

Our room was very comfortable with a nice clean bathroom with nice toiletries. A little tired but not off putting.

The food is good and represents good value. The weekend rates do offer dinner bed and breakfast packages and they are good value.

Breakfast is good and plentiful and served buffet style. One thing that I found 'tacky' and off putting were things like beans, mushrooms and haggis and other items like scrambled eggs were served in battered old pans with equally battered old lids. It looked so unprofessional and so easy to rectify!!!

Nice fresh and bright bar with some nice wines on offer.

A short bus or taxi ride, or a gentle 25 minute stroll gets you into the City so the hotel is ideally suited for business or a weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have just come back from spending 5 nights at this hotel. The hotel is situated right next to edingburgh zoo and a bus stop outside takes you directly to the city centre. This makes it an ideal location. The hotel itself has a very good gym with weights and various excersice machines.
Hotel kept very clean and staff very friendly.

Pros- Great location
Excellent facilities
Breakfast outstanding
Friendly staff
Clean

Cons- Food can be expensive for an evening meal
Room card tempermental

Would have rated this 5 star if i had not had to keep ketting my room key changed.
Would reccomend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pud550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Holiday Inn really need to train their check in staff properly.When you offer a debit card on arrival and are told that as it is a debit card the whole amount for your stay will be taken immediately you presume that is what will happen. Not at this hotel - on following the fast check out option of handing back my key card in the envelope provided I was informed that despite what I had been informed on arrival my card had not been debited by only swiped. The young man dealing with me was quite pleasant but I can not say the same for his colleague who 3 times said that if a mistake was made it was not her problem!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenSAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I would like to say how sorry I am that we got it wrong on this occassion. An issue such as this is taken very seriously and I assure you the necessary corrective action will be taken.

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Whether good or bad, your feedback helps us to continually improve the service we offer.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay here travelling for work. You never quite know what you'll get with a Holiday Inn but this was one of the best so far for me. Check in was easy, lots of near, free parking. Great for those visiting the zoo. I was travelling for work so had no time to visit but literally you are on the doorstep so I might have to bring my husband back as I notice they do stay/zoo packages. My room was nice, clean, a little tired maybe and towels a bit yellow but it's not the end of the world. The only thing was a horrible shrill ringing noise that would come through the vent in the bathroom and it would echo in the middle of the night- I woke up a couple if times wondering what in earth it was!! The food selection is good, I ate in the restaurant on the first night and had the fish which was nicely cooked. The mini scone with jam and cream was amazing! As a female travelling alone I felt happy to sit alone and eat and also in the bar area on the second night - there's plenty of room and you're not rushed through to leave, you can sit and read/work. I have a little grumble at the 10% service charge that's added automatically as I budget what my company allow for dinner and didn't expect this to be added as well. Breakfast is great and there is a good selection of hot and cold food. I used the gym which is pretty good but gets very busy at peak times. However on the second night I saw the lovely pool area, I was so impressed I purchased a swimming costume had had a swim and sauna which was lovely!! The pool is nice but again, gets crowded very quickly, it does have a nice spa feel about it. If you want to get out and about they also provide running routes as well which is very helpful.Everything else was great and it was really good value. One more request would be to have 'instructions' in the room for restaurants/bar descriptions and details of wifi/gym etc. overall really enjoyable and I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickisopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This must be the only hotel in Scotland that gives you a view of flamingoes from your bedroom window. The Holiday Inn is located right next to Edinburgh Zoo. We were actually here for the rugby (disastrous Irish defeat at Murrayfield), but the proximity to the zoo meant that we had time to visit its most famous new residents, the pandas. There's a bus stop right outside and frequent services to and from the city centre and the airport. Murrayfield is a 20 minute walk. The hotel itself is very efficient, but the decor is a little tired. Our bath was clean, but very stained, and the bathroom was tiny. The double bed was "cosy", so in future, I'd request a twin room. The staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the breakfast waiters. The breakfast buffet is OK, but since it was a rugby weekend, there were HUGE queues for the cooked breakfast. Tip: get there early and try to bag a table on the upper level, at the front window. The views are stunning. And if you over-indulge, there's an excellent gym and small pool. My only major complaint about this hotel is the charge for Wi-Fi. It's unacceptable that a major international hotel group persists in charging for what is now a basic service.

Room Tip: Opt for twin beds rather than a double unless you want to be very cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,528 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing