We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the outskirts of Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel on the outskirts of Edinburgh”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is right next to Edinburgh Zoo and 15 minutes walk from Murrayfield. Car parking is ample and free and safe. The hotel itself is typical of this hotel chain. Nice welcome from the reception staff in the well laid out vestibule complete with on site reasonably priced restaurant. I thought the rooms were a little over priced for what they were. Comfortable enough but basic. I've stayed in Edinburgh many times and for a lot less than the £250 (room only) that I paid you will find some very nice B & B's But as I was attending the Rugby at least it was very convenient. Expect to pay £10 on a taxi into the city centre or around £1.50 on the bus, but make sure you have the right change. The room I had was also very noisy as it was Zoo side so ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Personally I would only stay here if I had to due to convenience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crazyhorse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    919
    500
    143
    76
See reviews for
559
751
83
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights overall was very good! Staff at reception were all very friendly and helpful taking an interest in our stay. The room was quite large and was all very clean. There was a large tv however there was no DVD player which would have been nice! I slept pretty well however it did become quite noisy in the room as we were situated towards the busy road. When we went for breakfast we were directed towards a general area and we could not find any tables that were cleared and struggled to get any of the staff to help with this issue. Once we had got a table the breakfast was super! All pool facilities were great and it is in a superb location for accessing the zoo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is well situated for a trip to Edinburgh and is right next to the zoo. Good sized clean rooms although you do need to keep the windows closed to keep out the zoo noise. Food is typical holiday inn style, reasonable choice at reasonable price. Would happily stay again if needing to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Three nights in this hotel last week and we couldn't fault a thing. Exceptionally clean. All staff encountered were extremely pleasant, especially those in restaurant who went out of their way to assist us. Food delightful. Husband recommends the haggis at breakfast. So quiet and lovely to hear animal sounds in the morning from the zoo. Thanks holiday inn. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Room was perfect , clean and great view with everything I needed. However you have to pay for wifi. £5 an hour! And you have to use it all at once. It's the biggest rip off ever. It should be free for guests. Everywhere you go it's free . Anyway will move on to the restaurant. Very noisy and basic. Very long wait for food which when it arrived , to be fair was very good. Well done to the kitchen. Restaurant Staff seemed confused at times. We felt abandoned. Was not that busy either. Breakfast was quite expensive at £13 odds being self service.Coffee was really awful. Scrambled eggs were strange? Maybe reconstituted ? Fried eggs were cold. Bacon ok sausages so so . Mushrooms good.Certainly poor quality ingredients. I run a restaurant myself and if I served breakfast like that I would expect complaints . A place this size and the prices they charge should do better especially with the coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for room 243 or similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here with my 13 year old son for a weekend watching the Nottingham Panthers ice hockey team playing in Scotland. The hotel is well situated for central Edinburgh which is a short buys ride away from a stop right outside the hotel. Murrayfield stadium is a short walk away and the zoo shares the same car park. It was quite nice to be woken up in the mornings by the Monkeys howling!!!
The staff at the hotel were very good, the breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of food and there was plenty of room. The only negative point was the price of the food in the bar and restaurants which is quite excessive. The restaurant also lacks a vegetarian menu which is disappointing.
All in all a good hotel with nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park as it is quieter and you are facing the zoo instead of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS-Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious. Regular buses pass the hotel heading into the city centre.
On the Saturday it was raining heavily so we decided to eat in the hotel. Sampans menu looked interesting so we happily booked a table. However the standard of the food was poor and very overpriced. Starter of shredded beef equals a pile of lettuce and a few strands of flavourless beef. Main course consisted of lots of noodles with bland meat and insipid sauce which lacked any hint of the Orient!
The pool was small and very busy and a slot had to be booked in advance. Not really a relaxing swim as being next to the zoo many young families staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,136 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing