We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spending the night over a pub”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #112 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spending the night over a pub”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Warning, you may find yourself either sleeping over a very noisy pub or next to the very noisy pub. We were unlucky enough to stay in the room right above the pub on Karoke night. The following evening we were serenaded by a group of very happy college boys singing "The Gangs All Here" at the table outside.

If you want a good nights sleep you may want to search for another hotel. On the flip side, if you're looking for a place to have a hen or stag weekend this is it.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    110
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
67
167
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

This hotel is a good choice for groups of young people in particular (Stags, Hens etc) due to its decent bar, which has a 24 hour licence for residents and plasma screens and pool tables, and the reasonable room rates which can be obtained from some sites. We booked two twin rooms but both rooms had three single beds and would not have been too cramped had they been fully occupied. The rooms are very clean, simply decorated and are superior to some budget accomodation I have stayed in.
The hotel is about 25 minutes walk (not too bad) from the smart bars and clubs on George Street but is probably closer to the Grass markets bars.
Overall if you want a cheap, clean place to stay for one or two nights then this really is a good choice, but I would probably say there are better places if a romantic break with your partner or a family stay is what you have in mind.

  • Liked — Cheap, Clean, Good bar, Nice location.
  • Disliked — Parking could be a problem.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

I needed to stay in Edinburgh on a weekend when some 6 Nations rugby was going on in town. You may find that the city is quite booked up during this period. I called the Links first but they told me they were full. I checked on-line though, and it said there was a room and made the reservation for me. I then read some reviews on this site a day or two later and was prompted to call them and confirm that the room was booked okay, which it was. You can get a reservation number from the hotel itself to set your mind at rest.

The hotel. There is a separate entrance to the hotel which is to the right of the pub, which you should use when you arrive. Checking in was fine, the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel - clean, tidy, basic but with nice touches. However, the double bed was actually two singles pushed together and the TV had only 3 channels and no remote.

We were unlucky enough to have very noisy, late-night, drunken neighbours, but this, I think, is a risk you run almost anywhere during a 6 Nations weekend...

Breakfast good, service good, nice atmosphere in the pub, pretty views of the park in some rooms, walk into town (to the Royal Mile) via the park takes about 30 minutes.
I'd go again. Maybe.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Ralpharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2007

The Links provides good accomodation at affordable prices - something which is becoming more and more rare these days, especially in Edinburgh, where most accomodation is double or quadruple the price we paid. We stayed here because it was a convenient location for visiting our student daughter just around the corner. We were aware that it's pub is a student haunt, but had absolutely no problem with noise at all. Remember, the deal is that it's good value for money, and yes it's certainly not as plush as some of the £150 a night places, but it was a perfectly acceptable standard. Clean, good service and excellent breakfast - we'll stay here again.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Slightly poor lighting in bedroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Larson'sMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Axe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Links during the last week in November. We thought the room we stayed in was great. It overlooked a park that we could see through this enormous window. The people who worked there were so nice to us. In the pub, there is food and that was delicous. A full breakfast came with our reservations and it was one of the largest breakfasts that I ever had seen. For dinner we came back to the pub, and the meals were so good. Our time in Scotland went by too fast. If we ever come back, we plan to stay at The Links again. One of the favorite drinks at their pub was Belhavens Best. We wish we could get that in the U.S. A. Thank you to everyone there.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-MfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

The room (301) had poor lighting and only one bedside lamp. Her side. Almost had to go into the bathroom to read the paper. Service was iffy. At check in we waited 5 minutes for someone to appear. We were on top floor and on second day the electronic key was incorrectly programmed. No apology when I had to descend to reception to get it reprogrammed. Parking is currently difficult and city proposes to make it worse. We found a place a mile away. Shabby ambiance, carpets, staircase, fittings etc although stairwell has been redecorated. Perhaps it they are about to embark on a refurb. It sure needs it. Staff training also needed. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldPaulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

For serious partygoers only.

Stayed for Hen weekend, and accomodation is cramped and the shower room was not the nicest, but is above a bar, and next to the park and generally a good location.

They only give you a tiny towel so take your own. The room next door smelled terrible as full of a boys weekend. but we had a good weekend, we had a room for four, and was tight for space, but felt like kids at a sleep over, is good for gossiping girls when you get in.

Windows didn't open, which in a way was good as the noise generated from the bar.

In all, ok, but not for your average tourists.

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — Busy bar, shower room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#131 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing