We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, lovely area, cosy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, lovely area, cosy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my second trip to Edinburgh this time I dealt with the booking which was fairly last minute 3-4weeks in advance with main intentions to go shopping. I wasn't able to find the hotel on Trip advisor but there were decent reviews on the site that we booked it through.
On arrival although there was no reception staff, the person who checked me in said being only a small hotel there was no designated reception staff, all front of house staff checked people in, this information might bother some but to be honest I hadn't booked in to the Sheraton so it wasn't a problem. The hotel was warm and cosy looking with little lounge restaurant and bar area, the kind of place you wouldn't mind staying if it was snowing.
The staff were helpful and friendly showed us up to our room on the second floor - not sure of the number but opposite the lift directly to the left. The double deluxe room was lovely very spacious with open fire place and large wardrobe, bathroom was good everything was clean and quiet. there was also hair dryer iron and iron board and hangers. The only problem for me and my partner was the bed, the mattress was a little too soft and lopsided my partner ended up getting up to sleep on the floor for part of the night, next time we would ask for a different deluxe double or king size room.

Parking was the only thing that seemed a bit of a disappointment at first then turned out to be a bargain, the parking outside the hotel is 4hrs max stay Mon-Fri. The hotel staff directed us to parking on Clinton street, approximatey 2mins drive down the street, the cost is approximately £4-£6 til 6pm, this was good, Saturday and Sunday were free parking all day so much more generous than most cities.

We had dinner on both nights at the hotel, on the first night we left our room and heard a quite a lot of noise coming from the bar area, at which point I realised it was a sports bar - all art work was of famous sports stars and there was a match on the tv. We went to the bar for a drink and where to sit if we wanted to eat, the barman told us to find a seat and someone would be sent over to take our orders. For how busy it was we got restaurant staff to clear the table and asked for a menu, they were so busy i think he forgot about us so we asked who i thought was the bar manager for a menu which we were given straight away after a look we ordered our food, before the food came the manager came back to apologise for us not being able to sit in the restaurant and how there was a lot of large bookings, which is a good sign for a decency of the food. To be honest we were quite happy sitting in the bar it was a decent atmosphere mixed groups of people of all ages, but appreciated her even noticing that. The food was good and plentiful, nachos plate to share was large bigger than expected mains was good fish cakes was although abit lemony for my taste still delicious. Food and a few round of drinks came to under £50. The following evening we got a table in the restaurant as the weather and shortage of football kept people in. The restaurant was cosy and intimate the staff really nice, helpful and welcoming were happy to have a chat.

The room was cleaned during our stay bed remade and towel heater was on. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel and went to another lovely establishment called The Pink pig.
The location of the hotel is great and is approximately a 20min walk from the hotel to Princes street, the walk in to the city was interesting there are a few of little cafes, boutiques near the hotel the shops closer to the city you can get water, juice and the like.
I would recommend this hotel to others and if I go back to Edinburgh I would stay at The Links again.

Room Tip: If you stay on Friday night the rooms closest to the stairwell can be noisy due to people shutting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Good Morning!

Thank you for your great feedback. I do remember you both( table 5 if I remember correctly!!) and would like to thank you for your patience. It was an extremely busy day, which is wonderful for business. It sounds like you had a great trip. Both your positive and more constructive feedback not only gives us room to improve, but also gives me the opportunity to congratulate the team on doing a good job.

We hope you return soon.

Many Thanks

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    109
    36
    17
    12
See reviews for
67
166
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in the Links Hotel in October 2013, my third time at this hotel. Once again, the experience proved to be highly pleasurable with friendly and attentive staff, relaxing and ambient lounges, and magnifently furnished and extensive bedrooms. Excellent food and a warm and homely feel! .... congratualtions and thankyou once again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for the great review!! I guess it's a great testament to The Links when hearing of guests returning to stay with us over and over. I am delighted to hear your overall experience from our rooms to our food was to a high standard. We do get great feedback on our coffee lounge and library area, they're the perfect space to sit back, relax and enjoy at your leisure.

We hope you make it a 4th visit very soon!

Best Wishes
Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were so glad that we stayed at The Links when we visited Edinburgh from Australia. All the staff were great, but must single out Robin and David as being the kindest, friendliest and most helpful chaps to a couple of old Aussies. The bar and food were excellent. We were sorry to leave and will certainly recommend The Links to our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMaxMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. David and Robin will be delighted with your comments. We take great pride in our service here at The Links and it's a real boost when hearing such great words of praise. I will pass on your fantastic review to the team!
We hope you return again some day.

Many Thanks

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here with my wife visiting my son at university so location is perfect. Room was clean, modern and comforatable. Shower and toilet facilities were excellent. breakfast was amazing with a good choice of food. Try the Scottish smoked salmon and scambled eggs. Staff were friendly and helpful. A really good fine.

Room Tip: Booking.com ask you to add £8.95 for breakfast but on some room rates (like ours) it is included so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psfcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. The Links breakfast offers a great variety from continental to Scottish salmon and scrambled egg as mentioned. All of our food is sourced locally and cooked fresh to order.
I see you have mentioned that your son is studying locally, please feel free to contact us direct for great offers.

Thanks again!!
Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay me and my partner go away often and this is one of the best and most relaxed places we have stayed. Its stylish moden very clean and has spacious rooms, big comfy beds to.(So much we slept in both mornings!) food is very good great full Scottish breakfast a must. Its a pleasurable 10-15min walk to the royal mile .The staff are so friendly and can not do enough for you it's like you've been there many times before, a BIG Thank you to JACKIE, TONY & the rest of the staff you made are stay!! ;-) We will be back looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: No lift after second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Good Afternoon!

Thank you ever so much for the fantastic review. I'm glad you both had a relaxing time. The rooms are very comfortable and our full scottish certainly sets you up for the day ahead!
I will pass your wonderful words to the staff, it really does give everyone a boost when
receiving such positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay at The Links.

Best Wishes

Jackie Fergus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We held a 60th birthday party in the bar and really couldn't have been happier with the level of service and professionalism.

They gave a helping hand when needed and really made our party amazing.

Thanks again guys, what a fantastic night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochaye85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Good Morning!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It gives our team a real lift when they hear such great feedback. We enjoyed your special occasion and all the small touches you gave to the decorations and cakes, very creative!! Thank you once again for taking your time to write a this fabulous review.

Best Wishes

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We came from USA for a family reunion in Edinburgh, our first time in Scotland. The Links was where most of the family stayed, and headquartered. The rooms were very clean, food was wonderful, location terrific, quiet, and staff were superb!! They met our every need and were very friendly. Over the course of our 5 day stay, the staff became family too, and enjoyed our fun times. We were very pleased with everything and our trip was fabulous. Highly recommend The Links. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for the great review! It was a great occasion and we really enjoyed meeting your family. The Links team will be really happy to hear such wonderful feedback They are an asset to the business and I am very grateful for all the effort they put in to ensure our guests have a great time. Once again thank you. We really hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Property: Links Hotel
Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing