We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best!”
Review of Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links Hotel
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were so glad that we stayed at The Links when we visited Edinburgh from Australia. All the staff were great, but must single out Robin and David as being the kindest, friendliest and most helpful chaps to a couple of old Aussies. The bar and food were excellent. We were sorry to leave and will certainly recommend The Links to our friends

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesMaxMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Good Morning

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. David and Robin will be delighted with your comments. We take great pride in our service here at The Links and it's a real boost when hearing such great words of praise. I will pass on your fantastic review to the team!
We hope you return again some day.

Many Thanks

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Links Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 341 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here with my wife visiting my son at university so location is perfect. Room was clean, modern and comforatable. Shower and toilet facilities were excellent. breakfast was amazing with a good choice of food. Try the Scottish smoked salmon and scambled eggs. Staff were friendly and helpful. A really good fine.

Room Tip: Booking.com ask you to add £8.95 for breakfast but on some room rates (like ours) it is included so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psfcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. The Links breakfast offers a great variety from continental to Scottish salmon and scrambled egg as mentioned. All of our food is sourced locally and cooked fresh to order.
I see you have mentioned that your son is studying locally, please feel free to contact us direct for great offers.

Thanks again!!
Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great place to stay me and my partner go away often and this is one of the best and most relaxed places we have stayed. Its stylish moden very clean and has spacious rooms, big comfy beds to.(So much we slept in both mornings!) food is very good great full Scottish breakfast a must. Its a pleasurable 10-15min walk to the royal mile .The staff are so friendly and can not do enough for you it's like you've been there many times before, a BIG Thank you to JACKIE, TONY & the rest of the staff you made are stay!! ;-) We will be back looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: No lift after second floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Good Afternoon!

Thank you ever so much for the fantastic review. I'm glad you both had a relaxing time. The rooms are very comfortable and our full scottish certainly sets you up for the day ahead!
I will pass your wonderful words to the staff, it really does give everyone a boost when
receiving such positive feedback.

We look forward to your next stay at The Links.

Best Wishes

Jackie Fergus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We held a 60th birthday party in the bar and really couldn't have been happier with the level of service and professionalism.

They gave a helping hand when needed and really made our party amazing.

Thanks again guys, what a fantastic night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ochaye85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Good Morning!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It gives our team a real lift when they hear such great feedback. We enjoyed your special occasion and all the small touches you gave to the decorations and cakes, very creative!! Thank you once again for taking your time to write a this fabulous review.

Best Wishes

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We came from USA for a family reunion in Edinburgh, our first time in Scotland. The Links was where most of the family stayed, and headquartered. The rooms were very clean, food was wonderful, location terrific, quiet, and staff were superb!! They met our every need and were very friendly. Over the course of our 5 day stay, the staff became family too, and enjoyed our fun times. We were very pleased with everything and our trip was fabulous. Highly recommend The Links. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for the great review! It was a great occasion and we really enjoyed meeting your family. The Links team will be really happy to hear such wonderful feedback They are an asset to the business and I am very grateful for all the effort they put in to ensure our guests have a great time. Once again thank you. We really hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A very large group of us stayed at the Links for our family reunion, the rooms were very updated, spacious and clean. It was in an easy location to get around the city by bus, or even walking distance to many places. There were plenty of common areas for my family to gather and visit with each other, a bar, library and two different rooms to eat in, this was great as there were 15+ rooms of us staying there and we needed space. The staff were so accommodating to all of our needs and always had a smile on their face, they were honorary members of our family reunion. I highly recommend this hotel for the price, accommodations, location and the incredible staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Good Morning!

Thanks you so much for the review. The whole staff group are a real credit to the hotel. They work incredibly hard and it's fantastic to get this positive feedback!

We had a fantastic time with your family and have recieved lovely emails and cards of thanks. It was a very special ocassion and we feel honoured to have been part of it.

I will pass your comments to the team.

Best Wishes

Jackie Fergus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not a bad little hotel within walking distance of Princes Street.
I booked for a night and wouldn't usually stay in a 3* as i tend toward 5* usually however hotel rooms in Edinburgh seemed scarce for the weekend and I wasn't prepared to shell out £800 for a night in one.


The hotel looked like it had had a refurba couple of years ago. The room was well thought out with plug sockets next to the bed for charging your phone (something many hotels make you treck across the room to do) there was plenty of space for getting around the room and the shower room was an excellent size. The room had a lovely view as the hotel overlooks a park. Staff were very friendly especially the general manager. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a night or two in Edinburgh. Only niggle was that there was a big gap at the bottom of the bedroom door so there was lots of noise.. I was in room 204 if mgmt are reading. Also the doors in general were loud slamming doors which reverberated around the room early in the morning.. a simple hydraulic door slowing system would help solve this problem.

Hope the review helps both the hotel and the people looking to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Good Afternoon!

Thanks for the review. We really appreciate your feedback.

The hotel was refurbed just over 2 years ago and we're delighted with the rooms and the hotel as a whole.
We do feel very lucky to work in such a beautiful location and views from our rooms are fantastic.
I shall look into the gap in room 204 and see how we can improve this.

Thanks again for your positive words.

Kind Regards

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
560 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,085 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links Hotel

Address: 4 Alvanley Terrace | Whitehouse Loan, Edinburgh EH9 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood , Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $154 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Links Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing