We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff just couldn't be bothered.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nor Loch Bar

The Nor Loch Bar
Ranked #1,918 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: http://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/nor-loch-bar-edinburgh
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Staff just couldn't be bothered.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a drink on Wed 19th Feb around 12.30 in the afternoon. You know which staff you are. Three staff standing behind the bar doing absolutely nothing. Sat at a dirty table with cups etc, staff looked at us and resumed standing doing nothing, table not cleared. Service really awful, staff very lazy. Toilets had no loo roll and no soap. This is somewhere will not visit again, would rather stand in the cold than pay good money for such awful service. Truly terrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank lOttiedOttie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    8
    10
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overcharged 10/12/2013 19:30”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The guy who served me hadn't a clue. Was distracted easily whilst trying to serve me. I had to repeat my order because he had forgotten what I asked for. He charged me £9-80 for a double Jack Daniels and a pint of Strongbow with a dash of Blackcurrant. The sign above the JD said £2-89 for 25ml and £3-89 for 50ml. Assuming 50p for the Blackcurrant then the Strongbow must have been £5-59. Ridiculous price. Last time I will drink there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Niland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the relaxation, food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

How wonderful to find this restaurant at Edinburgh Waverly Rail Station. It was festival time in the city so the servers wore kilts instead of their normal attire. I really enjoyed having a burger and relaxing before I had to leave on my connecting train. The atmosphere is pub-like. I found the menu to not be overpriced for what I have seen in the U.K. I must say what truly stands out is the personalities of the servers. I would definitely come back when connecting in this station again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bar staff have absolutely no customer service skills”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place while waiting for a train for 1 drink after spending a lovely day out at festival Some of the staff were downright rude I understand this is sometimes a difficult job but that is no reason to not be abit more pleasant too customers. Dear only knows what tourists visiting Scotland think of this dreadful customer service . This is the type of attitude in my opinion that needs to change MANNERS,!!costs nothing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank winny2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food great and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a pizza here and it is was just what I needed before travel. But not too heavy but delicious thin base. Staff were exceptionally
friendly as was bar manager Liz. Have eaten here before and had their chilli whichbwas alsoexcellent and well presented. Great place and an alternative to fastfood in the station and reasonable prices too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nixbrasiliera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nor Loch Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Nor Loch Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing