We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and good”
Review of Yocoko Noodle Bar

Yocoko Noodle Bar
Ranked #1,084 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cheap and good”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lots of varieties at affordable prices and generous portions too. NIce ambience. Popular and always filled. Only bad thing is the staff's attitude. I've been there several times and service was consistently bad. They must be underpaid or something.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacelyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    104
    47
    35
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy and cheap!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love this place. It's really good food and you get tons but it's super cheap so even better.
Had the fried squid last time and it was perfect. Lovely batter and nice squid, not super chewy, delightful. (Fried squid if my fav.)
I

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 251Ms_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food and good value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited here late one night over the Easter weekend. It was fairly quiet inside but service was swift. Being a Japanese restaurant I was expecting sushi only but I was pleasently suprised to see a varied menu.
Two beers, two starters, two mains with extra rice and tea for £30. Not much to complain about at those prices.
The food was very nice and fresh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Give me noodles”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a great little restaurant. Very generous portions for not a lot of money. Unlike some asian restaurants, it offers all types of food under one roof. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful, and good at both.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our second visit; and we're pleased to report it was just as satisfying this time as on our first.
The food is pretty good - straightforward, rice and noodles based dishes. They probably don't have the subtle mix of flavours you would get from a really expensive restaurant; but the food is tasty, properly cooked and really very enjoyable; and you DO get plenty of it for your money.

Prices are very good - both for food and drink (bottle of wine for < £8 - in a restaurant!); but you don't get a big choice.

From our experiences I really don't know where these negative reports about the service are coming from. They're not hovering over you every 5 minutes, but it's not difficult to catch the servers' eye; they'll be over to see you in a tick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gfamily01928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yocoko Noodle Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Yocoko Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing