We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again total scammers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

On arrival stated had to pay £50 x4 guest therefore £200 deposit by card to which their policy states cash or card so never the less paid the hold on debit card.

Apartment was new no issues rather on small side consider sleeps 4. However check out in morning no issues women on desk says all fine no issues 4 days later I see the hold depoist has been taken as a payment now without any calls or discussions at check out.

Call to ask for an explanation to which the receptions can hardly communicate in English and agree to call back next day. Call back next day to be told to call after 2pm to speak to manager. Call at 2pm no signs or manager. Call back at 4pm to which my number was taken and duty manager calls back 30 mins later stating the due to noise level and one warning the deposit was to be taken?? some policy this ask to speak an anyway higher as beleive if this was case why no communication on check out or a call. Not any further forward and no signs of my £200 total scam would not recommend stay here at all!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMckay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

My only negative feedback is regarding the $50 per person deposit that was required at check in. (There were 5 ppl in our group). It was discerning that the deposit I had to put down for the room was more than the cost of the room by almost double. The room cost $215 usd and the deposit was almost $500 usd, plus the deposit was held for 5 days. I understand that isn't the hotels issue necessarily and has to do with my credit company but it came as a shock to me when I checked in. Otherwise, the room was great and accommodated the 5 of us perfectly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our break at these Townhouses. Very clean and warm. Good location. 10 minute walk to princess Street or Castle. Definitely recommend and would return. Clean and ample bedding and towels were provided. Few nice touches for example hotel toiletries in bathrooms and toilet rolls.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packacasenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I booked a superior one-bedroom apartment to have more space and I was not disappointed. The dining room was very spacious. The overall cleaniness was fair. The location is exceptional: a quiet district but not far from the castle and the entertainement area (15-20 minutes walk) and near to many shops to buy food and also to a few fine restaurants.
The flat is furnished and equipped with all sorts of amenities.
There are a few details that should be improved: WiFi was not working properly at all, most of the time was out of order. Bed linen was absolutely insufficient, worn out and not even covering the mattress. Finally, we were gvien just one key, so we were forced to move always around together as there was not even the way to communicate with the reception.
Making some small changes would increase the rate of this structure relevantly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Edinburgh recently and found the apartments to be quite clean and the service very good. The staff were friendly and didn't seem to mind helping out the guests find exactly what the needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiei02001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

These are nice clean centrally located apartments, originally built as flats. For what they are they are inexpensive and should suit many people.
However the management lets them down badly. We booked one apartment for 3 kids and 2 adults for one day/night in Edinburgh before flying back to Sussex. Although the apartment was very neat and clean with good facilities the heating control was broken and the room very hot. The desk attendant could do nothing about and turned the heating off. The pull out bed in the lounge was also broken and would not pull out. We also discovered the bolts lying on the floor underneath it. It was too late for us to suffer the attendant again so we put up with it and mentioned it in the morning. Other annoyances included a bath/shower that did not drain and very loud and sustained hammering on the main door at 2am.
All in all it did not give us the untroubled night we wanted before catching our very early flight.
I suggest that the rooms need to be checked much better between occupancies and that staff members are able to mend or replace broken or faulty equipment.
It remains to be seen if we'll get our £150 deposit back or if the company will attempt to charge the broken pull-out bed to us.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barcombeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in Staycity for the first time in May 2013 and again n Nov 2013 and it was a longer stay due to official commitments. The apartment was very clean and right from the tme of booking the staff were courteous and very accommodation n answering every question over email.I should definitely appreciate Karen Rae and Caroline Mcintosh, both were very helpful in the booking process. The staffs were also prompt in addressing any concerns with related to the apartment. Be it smoke detector losing ts battery or a lack of a blanket. Both instances were promptly attended to.

The apartment I stayed was a 1 double bed room with lvng room that contained dining table and a open plan kitchen. Heating s very good and all you utensils that you need to cook on your own are provided. Very very near from city center and cineworld theater complex is just few blocks away just n case you want to catch up a quick movie.

My first choice of service apartments wold go to Staycity.

Couple of suggestions
- an intercom connecting every apartment and reception will really help.
- Secure entry system wasnt activated in the first apartment that I stayed
- A small packet of washing powder for using in washing machine, if provided will be highly appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karthik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,304 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $66 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Aparthotels West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing