We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value except for parking tickets...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value except for parking tickets...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were booked into a 4-bedroom, 3-bath apartment which was on three levels. The rooms were fine and the kitchen was adequate. It was very clean. Our main problem was with parking. No one at the check-in bothered to tell us to be VERY CAREFUL or we would end up with 60-pound parking tickets. There was hardly any parking near our condo. We had two cars which we parked in convenient-looking spaces just outside the apartment. Well, if it looks to good to be true--we ended up with a 60-pound ticket on each car the first morning. When we mentioned this to the ladies at the desk, they didn't even mention that they were sorry they hadn't mentioned the parking situation. Tough luck. Also, the apartments are located all over the area, so you may be quite a distance from the office. Another thing--we had FIVE adults and were given ONE key. When we asked for another key, they said they didn't have another. One key for five adults, two cars, isn't adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szymanskimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    574
    180
    97
    54
See reviews for
861
239
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a serviced apartment with no service. The rooms are cleaned once in seven days. We had to clean up on the very first day as the floors weren't clean. Garbage too were not taken out daily. The housekeeping had started the washing machine which did not automatically stop. After six hours we had to shut off from the mains. The room design was excellent and modern.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deyasini2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our stay at stay Edinburgh apartments was comfy. We had a two bedroom apartment.The apartment was fitted with a fridge, stove, oven, washing machine etc. and basic kitchen essentials which is perfect for longer periods. But since we were there for only two nights, we barely needed these. There is a Tesco close by that was quite useful. We were out for most of the day but it was nice to come back to our apartment in the evening. The reception desk was there just for check in/ check out purposes. So we were pretty much on our own.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived to Edinburgh at midnight, a day earlier than we have reservation and decided to check this place if there were free rooms as we would be staying there the next day. Upon asking the guy in the reception, we were told that there were no free rooms available for the night. The I asked if we could use the internet for 5 minutes to check nearby hotels from my phone, he refused us and said that we could use the computer at the reception by paying its hourly fee. What kind of a human being refuses to help another in need? We got very angry and left the place to the nearest hotel, which also didn't have any available room but helped us finding some other place.
We come back the next day as we had reservation and had no option of cancellation. The specified checkin time was 14:30 and we were there at 14:00. We were told that the room was not ready and we need to come back in 30 minutes. So that we did. But when we did come back, we were told again that the room was still not ready. I told them it was supposed to be ready at the specified checkin time, and I would demand a cancellation if we could not checkin immediately. They resisted for a while, and even offered us to put two people on for the cleaning and get the room ready in 20 minutes (which could very well be done when we came at 14:00) but I refused as I was so angry. When they realized that we wouldn't back down, suddenly there appeared another room which was ready and we could actually use!!

In conclusion I would say stay away from this place if you don't want to deal with rude people and ruin your holiday or whatever trip you are having.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaybars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south woodham ferrers UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Thought our apartment ticked all the boxes for our personal requirements.
Found it clean & comfortable.
15 minute walk to Princes St.
Bus stop just on Fountainbridge takes you to town as well so very convenient.
No safe in room-so took our passports out with us!
We were back in our comfy hub early evening.
Only downside was some residents did like to just let doors slam shut-no need for it!
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumford666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here this address has just opened so everything was brand new. We had a one bedroom flat which was way more space than a normal hotel room. very modern bathroom. Convenient location for Murrayfield Stadium & Haymarket Train Station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was expecting more from these apartments. After getting up at 5.30am on the day of our arrival and after a long journey we arrived at the apartments to check in at 2pm. We were told by reception that check in was at 2.30pm but as they were running behind we should go away and come back at about 3pm. Not a very good start! We had nowhere to and three large suitcases. The receptionist did give us 2 free tokens for their lockers to store out cases but we could only fit 2 cases in so we ended up dragging a large case to Tesco round the corner in the rain. Just after 2,30pm we asked again if there was any chance of booking in but were told the apartments were still not ready and we were not the only ones, the reception area was filled with guests waiting to get into their apartments, it appeared that not one of the apartments was ready for use. My six year old daughter was in need of the toilet but was told by reception that there were none and to try the cafe at the top of the road which we did (in the rain) to see a sign on the door that due to bank holiday it was closed! Went back to reception to see if there was a staff toilet we could use but was again turned away. We were hanging around the lockers and one of the 'managers' walked past and asked if he could help, we explained the situation and he said he would go and find out how much longer we would be waiting. He did not return to us and it was only 10 minutes later when i was again at the reception desk trying to get checked in that he walked through so i asked him again if he had done anything and he just said the desk were checking and swiftly walked on! I asked if there was not another apartment we could check into as were were stood waiting but was told we had paid for a one bed apartment and that is what we had been allocated, when i pointed out that they must have more than one of these types of apartments she finally decided to find one that was serviced and let us check in. When eating that evening in the apartment we noticed there were only 3 knives when four of us sat down to eat. And as there was a sign on the door stating we would be charged for any missing/damaged items on departure we thought we'd better check the rest of the items. We made a list of about 8 items that were missing from the apartment, including only 3 towels for 4 people, and took it down to reception. They were very apologetic but when i asked if we could have another towel she said she would charge me £5! Told her we only had 3 towels and they were aware there was 4 of us. She said we are supposed to wash the towels in the washing machine in the apartment. When i told her we did not have a washing machine she said to check again! She did eventually give us a forth towel. The next day on returning from a day of sight seeing the key would not unlock our door, unsuprisingly as the key sensor was hanging off the wall. One of our party went to reception and returned with a 'maintenance man' who didn't seem to speak much english apart from s*** and f*** infront of my six year old daughter. Again i complained to the reception that this was not acceptable. The lock was not fixed until our last day at the apartment and were were there for 5 days. All in all i was quite disappointed with our stay and the problems we encountered. Don't think i would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,528 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#68 of 149 in Edinburgh
577 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels West End

Property: Staycity Aparthotels West End
Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Aparthotels West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing