We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our stay at stay Edinburgh apartments was comfy. We had a two bedroom apartment.The apartment was fitted with a fridge, stove, oven, washing machine etc. and basic kitchen essentials which is perfect for longer periods. But since we were there for only two nights, we barely needed these. There is a Tesco close by that was quite useful. We were out for most of the day but it was nice to come back to our apartment in the evening. The reception desk was there just for check in/ check out purposes. So we were pretty much on our own.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rachel1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 1,954 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was very impressed with this company. I had reserved an apartment but was upgraded to a townhouse which was of a very high standard and I would definitely look to stay here again. My only criticism is the distance from the townhouses to the reception and the lack of ability to communicate with reception if you need them - perhaps they should install intercoms, or some kind of phone. We could walk over, but it was a rarely beautifully sunny week in Edinburgh, it's not always this nice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FutureMrsM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We arrived to Edinburgh at midnight, a day earlier than we have reservation and decided to check this place if there were free rooms as we would be staying there the next day. Upon asking the guy in the reception, we were told that there were no free rooms available for the night. The I asked if we could use the internet for 5 minutes to check nearby hotels from my phone, he refused us and said that we could use the computer at the reception by paying its hourly fee. What kind of a human being refuses to help another in need? We got very angry and left the place to the nearest hotel, which also didn't have any available room but helped us finding some other place.
We come back the next day as we had reservation and had no option of cancellation. The specified checkin time was 14:30 and we were there at 14:00. We were told that the room was not ready and we need to come back in 30 minutes. So that we did. But when we did come back, we were told again that the room was still not ready. I told them it was supposed to be ready at the specified checkin time, and I would demand a cancellation if we could not checkin immediately. They resisted for a while, and even offered us to put two people on for the cleaning and get the room ready in 20 minutes (which could very well be done when we came at 14:00) but I refused as I was so angry. When they realized that we wouldn't back down, suddenly there appeared another room which was ready and we could actually use!!

In conclusion I would say stay away from this place if you don't want to deal with rude people and ruin your holiday or whatever trip you are having.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eaybars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Thought our apartment ticked all the boxes for our personal requirements.
Found it clean & comfortable.
15 minute walk to Princes St.
Bus stop just on Fountainbridge takes you to town as well so very convenient.
No safe in room-so took our passports out with us!
We were back in our comfy hub early evening.
Only downside was some residents did like to just let doors slam shut-no need for it!
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumford666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here this address has just opened so everything was brand new. We had a one bedroom flat which was way more space than a normal hotel room. very modern bathroom. Convenient location for Murrayfield Stadium & Haymarket Train Station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was expecting more from these apartments. After getting up at 5.30am on the day of our arrival and after a long journey we arrived at the apartments to check in at 2pm. We were told by reception that check in was at 2.30pm but as they were running behind we should go away and come back at about 3pm. Not a very good start! We had nowhere to and three large suitcases. The receptionist did give us 2 free tokens for their lockers to store out cases but we could only fit 2 cases in so we ended up dragging a large case to Tesco round the corner in the rain. Just after 2,30pm we asked again if there was any chance of booking in but were told the apartments were still not ready and we were not the only ones, the reception area was filled with guests waiting to get into their apartments, it appeared that not one of the apartments was ready for use. My six year old daughter was in need of the toilet but was told by reception that there were none and to try the cafe at the top of the road which we did (in the rain) to see a sign on the door that due to bank holiday it was closed! Went back to reception to see if there was a staff toilet we could use but was again turned away. We were hanging around the lockers and one of the 'managers' walked past and asked if he could help, we explained the situation and he said he would go and find out how much longer we would be waiting. He did not return to us and it was only 10 minutes later when i was again at the reception desk trying to get checked in that he walked through so i asked him again if he had done anything and he just said the desk were checking and swiftly walked on! I asked if there was not another apartment we could check into as were were stood waiting but was told we had paid for a one bed apartment and that is what we had been allocated, when i pointed out that they must have more than one of these types of apartments she finally decided to find one that was serviced and let us check in. When eating that evening in the apartment we noticed there were only 3 knives when four of us sat down to eat. And as there was a sign on the door stating we would be charged for any missing/damaged items on departure we thought we'd better check the rest of the items. We made a list of about 8 items that were missing from the apartment, including only 3 towels for 4 people, and took it down to reception. They were very apologetic but when i asked if we could have another towel she said she would charge me £5! Told her we only had 3 towels and they were aware there was 4 of us. She said we are supposed to wash the towels in the washing machine in the apartment. When i told her we did not have a washing machine she said to check again! She did eventually give us a forth towel. The next day on returning from a day of sight seeing the key would not unlock our door, unsuprisingly as the key sensor was hanging off the wall. One of our party went to reception and returned with a 'maintenance man' who didn't seem to speak much english apart from s*** and f*** infront of my six year old daughter. Again i complained to the reception that this was not acceptable. The lock was not fixed until our last day at the apartment and were were there for 5 days. All in all i was quite disappointed with our stay and the problems we encountered. Don't think i would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very casual approach to security. the 2 bedroom apartment allotted to me was in a building which was shared by private folks. so, there was no cameras, the front door lock was malfunctional which meant anyone could walk in at anytime and when we were out for the day, someone opened our apartment with the front key and scooted with all the cash.

Worse, no one from the staff or management visited us to express their shock or concern about this incident in the next 2 days. I had to make a police complaint and that's when we were told that there were 3 break-ins reported in the same apartment complex over 2 days. The rooms don't have a safe or locker - so what is the guest supposed to do with his valuables.

The staff on their part (trainees at the front desk - all of them) were happy to read us the regulations which said anything that happened within the apartment was our responsibility and not theirs!!!

They gave away breakfast vouchers for one person per day per room and it turns out that its worth 2.5 GBP and cant even buy you a coffee at the next door cafe.

While the apartment we got was decent, the above just shrouded the whole experience - burglary, cops, safe keeping, visits to the police station and dealing with their staff. Lousy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eagerAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,587 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels West End

Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $109 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Aparthotels West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing