We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location and comfortable apartment”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for sightseeing/rugby with kids. Room comfortable and ample. Second/third beds not great and they had to share a duvet. Very well equiped kitchen. Large opening windows. Carpark excellent with numbered space and very secure. Didn't spend much time in the apartment, a bit small if there are 4/5 of you but ample for a base for sleeping.
One problem....the fire alarm went off about 5 times between 7-9am on the Saturday morning. Not a good start when we had arrived late and wanted a lie in!
Location not bad, we wanted parking and in between rugby ground and castle area and it was ideal for that but if you are only in town I would suggest something a bit closer, it's a 30 min walk to castle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhairilogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    549
    165
    90
    50
See reviews for
799
235
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was ideal and great value for money. The apartment was clean and pleasant and modern. The facilities in the apartment were well supplied for in the kitchen. The staff were very helpful and pleasant at all times we dealth with them. I would highly recommend this accommodation, not only for the great staff and facilites but also for the location. I would definetly book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great apartment and value for money, served the purpose we needed it for and provided excellent accommodation and friendly staff. Comfy beds and we were not disturbed by other guests. I will definitely book again and will look to use stay city if available in other destinations.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianvbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a one bed apt and it was ideal for us - we were only looking for somewhere to put our heads down and the apt was perfect. It was clean and although we only had breakfast the kitchen was well supplied.

Would definitely recomend them for anyone planning to go self catering.

Room Tip: I would probably steer away from the ground floor and there could be a lot of footfall coming in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubCres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lofthouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On walking in, a spacious modern apartment. Minimalist, with no rugs, plants etc etc but sofa bed, kitchen and tv with dvd player .. looked smart!
A nice shower, bed was ok and could have mistaken it for any city apartment ... so, it was good on the surface. If you are just sleeping and showering .. no issues with this place at all ... especially for a couple or small group (with the sofa bed)
HOWEVER ... Scratch below the surface and it isnt as good!
Tried cooking breakfast ... Oven looked clean, but instantly smoked. Extractor fan was just for show so whole apartment smoked out!
Heating was WAY too hot. Couldn’t cool the room down (stat didnt do anything!) even though it was ZERO outside, so windows open all the time.
We went on a Friday - Monday ... Both Friday / Saturday drunken idiots coming home shouting and singing. Not a problem initially, but after 10 mins ... not happy at 4am!

Its ok for a crash pad ... nothing more! Doubt i'll stay again if i have options, but i wouldn't be unhappy if i did.

Room Tip: away from the entrances / main communal areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very well presented apartment with all the mod cons - we were a family of 3 who stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed by affordability of such a great place. Location was pretty good too with a short stroll into town or a 2 minute walk to eateries and also a cinema and bowling alley. Staff were very friendly and most helpful too, great place to stay for sure. Only complaint from us was the the apartment was very warm - even with the heating turned off!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty080171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent serviced apartment. Near city. have parking spaces. Not noisy. Clean room. TV, microwave,kitchen, all modern. will come again. and will recommend. just a walking distances to attractions. WIFI is free. with elevator, so easy to bring luggages to room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamarulimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#68 of 148 in Edinburgh
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels West End

Property: Staycity Aparthotels West End
Address: 11 Brandfield Street, Edinburgh EH3 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels West End 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2011 to a very impressive standard these self catering apartments provide each guest with a true home from home. We offer a selection of 99 one bedroom apartments (sleeps 3 or 4) and 36 two bedroom apartments (sleeps 5 or 6). Fully furnished and complete with bed linen and towels. 24 Hour Reception, Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi access available. All apartments also come with fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, microwave oven, LCD TV/DVD players and lounge/dining area. Located in Edinburgh City Centre, 12 mins walk from The Castle and 10 mins walk from Princes Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staycity Aparthotels West End Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing