We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,273)
Filter reviews
2,273 results
Traveler rating
1,190
696
216
107
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,190
696
216
107
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these apartments tesco express one bedroom apartment washing machine apartment was clean the sofa bed city centre great apartments self catering minute walk full kitchen secure parking living area well equipped kitchen haymarket station quiet area per day
Filter
Updating list...
1,900 - 1,905 of 2,273 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great self catering accommodation in a very central location, Tesco Local across the road, easily walkable into the city, Cant fault the accommodation, Everything you needed, very secure, staff very helpfull, will definately stay again,

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for smoker's
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 658peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights recently whilst in town for a wedding. It was a bit of a last minute choice as we left booking until the last minute, however the rate was very comparable to hotels in the city and the rooms looked good. Glad we made the decision.

The location is much better than it appears on a map - Edinburgh Castle is a 5 minute stroll (a slow one at that), Princes Street and the Royal Mile not much more. I'm generally of the opinion that the two aforementioned places are overpriced and full of tourists anyway, so I really enjoyed being off the main tourist routes.

It's a modern serviced apartment building (can't be more than a year old), so no food facilities in house, however there's a large new Tesco 1 minute away for all your food & supply needs, plus a cracking cafe place just round the corner for breakfast.

The apartment was very well equipped - a tad small, prob more of a studio than a true 1-bed apartment, however it was really well appointed with cooking facilities, wardrobe/sofa space, lovely large bathroom. Minor gripe that we had 2 single beds rather than a double. A good lift services the apartment blocks, and there are lockers in the main entrance hallways to each block if you want to leave belongings securely (not really sure why these are needed, but people seemed to like using them).

Staff very helpful - we asked for more towels and toilet paper and they were very happy to provide them. Ideally I wouldn't need to ask, but it wasn't too much trouble. They were also very helpful arranging taxis before we realised there was a 'hotline' in the reception area. No issues at all with checkin or checkout - very quick and minimal fuss.

Only minor thing I would say, is that the place seems to be quite popular with stag & hen parties. Didn't cause too much of a problem, but you do hear the occasional group of people rolling in drunk, large groups smoking & chatting outside in the street late on & the occasional door slamming in the neighbouring apartment etc. Soundproofing in this regard isn't brilliant.

Overall can't complain at the price, quality of accomodation, and service. Would definitely recommend and I'd definitely consider staying again, albeit I might request a room on the top floor at the back!!

Room Tip: High floor, and at the rear.. you can get a bit of noise out the front of the apartment block late on at weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location: Situated on the west side of town and just 15 minutes walk from town these brand new (2011) apartments are in a part of town that used to be industrial (foundry and brewery) but not going through re development.

Accessibility
Getting to these hotel apartments was easy. We flew into Glasgow and took the train from Queen St Station and reached Haymarket (Edinburgh) Station in 45 mins (12 pounds one way). From the Haymarket its just a 10 minute walk. The apartments are incredibly close to the town and just a 15 minute walk from the base of the castle. We were there to drop our daughter off at the University and found most places easily accessible by walking

Room Condition etc
We had a one bedroom apartment which was more like a giant studio with a large comfy sofa bed. The place is fully equipped with just about everything you would need and they provide a starter pack for tea and coffee that includes sugar etc. Having read the reviews I was concerned about smells, noise and bed bugs but we did not experience any of these. The place was very clean and well maintained. If I had to be critical I would say they would need to replace the shower screen door or else risk regular redecoration as a result of water leaking out on to the floor and causing damp problems. The only smell was what seemed like freshly baked bread or toast in the morning but only because we opened our window.

Pillows, towels and linen were of good quality and replaced weekly. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure. Most places in Edinburgh are quite pricey for what you get but by comparison (e.g Residence Inn which is closer to the town) this was fantastic value. I found the staff were helpful and efficient.

Transport: A Taxi to Pollock Halls is around 11 pounds and there are plenty of good bus connections close by.

Room Tip: Work out the route to the place beforehand as it is easy to get lost the first time you navigate your way there from the station..
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuddlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

These apartments are great for a group of friends to chill out in the lounge area before heading into Edinburgh city (only 10 mins walk). Agree with other reviewer about the lack of extra toilet rolls and the shower water spraying out the side and soaking the floor. My only other complaint was that there were no sockets anywhere near the mirror so drying hair became a bit of a challenge. Overall though, I would stay here again as it was a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillie_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Room was clean, plenty of room and modern kitchen appliances with all you need. Location is great about 10-15 minutes to the royal mile/Edinburgh castle. 4 friends stayed and we said we would definately stay again !

Room Tip: We were able to get an early check in for only an extra £10 which was a good idea
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews