We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,263)
Filter reviews
2,263 results
Traveler rating
1,184
694
216
105
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
694
216
105
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentstesco expressone bedroom apartmentwashing machineapartment was cleanthe sofa bedcity centregreat apartmentsself cateringminute walkfull kitchensecure parkingliving areawell equipped kitchenhaymarket stationquiet areaper day
Filter
Updating list...
1,897 - 1,902 of 2,263 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Found easily within 10 mins by foot from Haymarket station, reception simple and prompt at beginning and end of stay. We were a party of three in a double plus sofa bed and were quite comfortable, the decor is neutral, like a redone premier inn type effect. Free wifi is a good speed, needed regular relogins but otherwise fine.
Some snags: quite a lot of kitchen stuff missing on our arrival according to the inventory list, so we jotted it down and handed it to reception who offered replacement but we didn't bother as we didn't need it (hope my deposit comes back intact as promised!)
Shower a bit weak but adequate - escaping water from the hard to direct spray is having a detrimental effect on the flooring by the shower - next year's bookings might be looking a little shabbier if that isn't sorted. A bedside lamp was unusable as there was nowhere to plug it in near the bed.
Quite a big minus - the safe was not functioning. Reception offered theirs for passports, but like most people we came with quite a bit of hardware which we had to risk carrying round with us or hiding.
There was a bit of an odd smell from outside, we were on the ground floor, nothing totally off putting, but might be in the planting outside, could be worth an investigate for the managers.
Everything else working fine and we overall had a good, incident free stay.
Tips for travellers - if you like big towels bring your own. Maybe bring a spare loo roll if they don't hand out extra (we managed on our ration!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miniminoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I say bad service, it was non existent! the apartment didn't even have a can opener! the place was cheap looking and the all the seals in the bathroom were stained orange!
At one point i went and asked why there wasn't a can opener and i was met my defensive derision. I was clearly on my way out and i think they thought it was fine for me to walk about the Edinburgh festival with a can opener in my pocket. When i asked why there was no salt in the kitchen they said the apartment was a serviced apartment and didn't supply anything. I pointed out that there was coffee, tea and sugar. I received a blank look!
we paid £437 for three nights! i have to say this place is a joke! if this is Scottish service, best stay out of Scotland - a great disappointment.

Room Tip: find somewhere else...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Manager at Staycity Aparthotels West End, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your review from your recent stay and apologies for the issues you experienced. I shall speak to our reception staff as the can opener should have been placed in the apartment for you. The apartments are self catering so salt and pepper are not provided, but we do supply tea, coffee, sugar and milk portions to start our guests off for their first morning. Please could you send us an email to edinburgh.reservations@staycity.com to confirm which Apt No you stayed in and we shall ensure that the seals in the bathroom are rectifified immediately. We do hope this would not put you off returning and please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you wish to book again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

On pulling in to the road where the apartments we were puzzled as the signage was not visible,I highly recommend parking up just before it says "visitors car park" let the driver stay in the car whilst someone finds reception,this is located just opposit the car park mentioned above.Once you are registered and you have paid yor £200 deposit which the site unfortunately does not make clear, you can park your car at a cost of £12.00 a day. All this said I highly recommend these apartments! The parking fee is well worth it, although you get a key which is numbered you do not need to park in that bay,we chose one which was directly under our apartment which turned out very useful! Our apartment was great,it was very clean everything was new and there was plenty of room for the 4 of us, we had a 1 bedroom apartment the bed was huge, in the lounge was a large setee under was a pull out bed and the setee turned into a bed. These were very comfy as myself and hubby chose to sleep in there so we could makes use of the digital tv. We all highly recommend staying here and look forward to going back next year,

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rettiwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I highly recommended it because was nice,clean, quiet, modern and close to the town center. Perfect if you are going to stay more than a week with a kitchen fully prepared and everything you need.
Noelia from Madrid ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOELIA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The apartment smelt stale and did not smell clean. Cushions and bed decoration covers were dirty and stained. Walls marked. Beds have only a thin sheet on them and in general pillows etc not comfy. At night there was noise from the block across the road - loud music and rowdy exchanges in the street below. Otherwise the apartment was clean ie. sheets, kitchen, bathroom were clean. Check-in and check-out efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline M, Sales Manager at Staycity Aparthotels West End, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review from your visit to Staycity Serviced Apartments Edinburgh. We do apologise for the issue with the stale smell and shall take this up with our housekeeping manager immediately. With regards to the noise, we do have a 24 hour reception on-site who can deal with these issues should they arise. We hope this would not stop you returning to visit us again, so please do not hesitate to get in touch directly should you wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews