We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some astonishing works on view”

Scottish National Gallery
Ranked #33 of 393 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a privilege to visit this gallery. It is very accessible throughout and the lifts make it easier with a wheelchair. Small enough to visit in an hour or two but still feel as though you have had a good "dose" of art.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Bronwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"van gogh"
in 179 reviews
"art lovers"
in 86 reviews
"old masters"
in 81 reviews
"famous artists"
in 65 reviews
"great art"
in 67 reviews
"beautiful paintings"
in 53 reviews
"nice collection"
in 67 reviews
"da vinci"
in 51 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 56 reviews
"works of art"
in 53 reviews
"on display"
in 157 reviews
"free admission"
in 107 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 181 reviews
"princes street gardens"
in 54 reviews
"rainy day"
in 86 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 92 reviews
"few hours"
in 71 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 4,998 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth the visit as it houses an amazing collection of works. The two buildings are linked by a bigger space in the basement, so it is actually a lot bigger than it looks.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 941pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long overnight international flight we arrived in Edinburgh 7:30 AM, hotel room not available until 3PM & we're hungry! Long walk along Prince3s St. when we discovered not only was the Scottish National Gallery open, but this incredible treasure had a cafe where we had a divine breakfast! Eggs Benedict was out of this world! We spent countless hours here treasuring every moment. Don 't miss this one!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank sandrafarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We walked into the Gallery to visit the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition which was excellent. Not sure how long it will be there but very well done. Extra charge to see it.
We had lunch at the cafe and it was very good--Cullen Skink, Chicken salad, Fish & Chips. Service was excellent.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Scottish National Gallery is a lovely place in which to spend some of your time. We went there on a rainy day, just to have a look and were surprised to see how great it was! This was on our second day of our three day visit of Edinburgh. The Gallery is full of beautiful art works. There masterpieces by Botticelli, Raphael, Titian, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Constable, Turner, Monet, Van Gogh, Gauguin and other masters. It is certainly worth a visit and, on the day we visited, it cost nothing and I believe entry is free every day! There is disabled access and other amenities.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish National Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Scottish National Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing