We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The White Lady

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Lady
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a huge family room, it was very clean and surprisingly quiet (we live in a quiet village so notice traffic noise). There was no traffic noise at all in our room and no noise from the other rooms. The staff were always friendly and helpful, they would ask how our day had been when we returned ect. The room was well stocked with tea/coffee ect, the towels were nice and fluffy-everything you need really. The kids slept on a fold out sofa which looked a bit rickety but it was comfy and they slept like logs.
The wetherspoons restaurant downstairs was nice and the staff were friendly. The food was what I expected from a wetherspoons. We all enjoyed the food and the breakfasts being included in the price was a bonus. It was a good value stay and we will be staying there again

Room Tip: We were at the back and there was no traffic noise
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for The White Lady
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 649 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the white lady from tues 8th oct'13 til thur 10th oct'13. On Tuesday we arrived at the hotel just before 3pm although check-in was from 2pm. Our room was on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel facing their carpark. It is stairs only at this hotel but it is mentioned on their website & we were fine about this. Our room was lovely. Very nice & spacious. Extremely good sized double bed with a lovely warm duvet & very comfy pillows. 2 bedside cabinets both with bedside lamps & 2 very nice chairs. The main desk had a kettle, cups, glasses, sachets of teas, coffees etc plus biscuits & 2 bottles of water each day. We also had a 32inch flatscreen tv, hairdryer, iron & ironinboard. The bathroom was a good size, very well decorated & came with showergel & handwash. The walls in the bedroom are very well decorated in deep blue colours, yes at times the need for the lights to be switched on was needed but that happens in many hotels. we could not find a spec of dust in our room, it was spotless & the bed was so comfy to sleep in.
Our price included breakfast downstairs in their own wetherspoons pub. Our price included breakfast to the value of £6 per person which is easily managed as the most expensive breakfast was £4.60 & a coffee was £1.15. You simply gave your room number at the bar & placed your order. Breakfast was very nice & non-greasy.
Although this hotel is directly above the pub, we experienced no noise at all from the pub downstairs at any point. Bus stops right outside the hotel take you into Edinburgh centre at a cost of £1.50 single or £3.50 dayticket (exact money only). I can't praise this hotel enough, everything from the room to the breakfast to the staff was 1st class, we will def be returning in the new year. Many thanks to The White Lady-Edinburgh for a most enjoyable stay 10/10

Room Tip: If your not so good climbing stairs try & request 1st floor & a room to rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were in Edinburgh and hadn't booked anything in advance. This was close to the zoo, so we took a chance, considering it is a Weatherspoons hotel and above a weatherspoons pub. The room was great - very quiet and everything you needed was there. Surprisingly good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elephant_Biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visit Edinburgh a couple of times a year for a couple of nights away and we always stay at the same Hotel but this time round we couldn't get booked there so we were forced to look elsewhere. We usually like a boutique style of hotel but most essentially we want free parking which this provided. We booked up but i was apprehensive before going that the pub downstairs would be noisy and annoying but turned out to be really good. Our room was very adequate with boutique style decoration, we didn't have a view unfortunately but that didn't matter to us. We had breakfast as part of our deal and we had £6 each to spend in the restaurant downstairs, that is quite difficult to do if you are not a big eater, so thumbs up for that. My only criticism is that there could maybe be a bit more of a lighter selection for breakfast like, cereal, toast and beans or pastries. Well worth a try and only 10 mins away from the city centre on the bus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a long weekend after booking last minute through LateRooms.com. We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and really handy as it has both parking and is on a bus route into Edinburgh.
Breakfast was not included but as the hotel is also a Wetherspoons there was no problem there.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieMonster87uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I selected this hotel as I needed a room quickly and not to far for the airport

To enter this hotel requires the climbing of a number of steps, the rooms are on the first & second floor with no lift. This I would suggest rules out the hotel for a large number of potential guests.

I could not find any public areas only the attached Weatherspoons pub so could not relax anywhere. The carpet in the main area was very dirty and not a good sign of things to come

My room was a mix of styles with a main light from the 60s with 90s flat-pac furniture mixed with "Gothic horror" with gilded mirrors and lamps. There were no homely touches and this was reflected by the minimalist approach by the staff, for example one of the bulbs in the bedside lights had blown, I left the offending article on the side, this was neither removed or replaced. cleaning materials were also left in the bathroom

The bed was worn in that I could only sleep in the middle.

The hotel being on the main road to Edinburgh the traffic was constant with no rest bite.

The biggest complaint that I had was in the comment form the receptionist in that he almost laughed when he told me breakfast was not included as I had booked via an agent! £89.00 just for a bed

Room Tip: Ensure you are in a room at the back if you must stay here
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cirusview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here whilst in Edinburgh on business. Room was front facing, large, bed was huge, but room was dark because of the boutique style decor. Blue and purple walls and black flowered wall paper dulled the room, but felt the need to have the light on during the day.

No lift, so taking cases up and down stairs is a bind, but convenient for Weatherspoon pub downstairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSEASANDANDXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,994 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,955 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lady

Address: 92-98 St. Johns Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lady 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lady Hotel Edinburgh
The White Lady Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing