We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit quirky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lady

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lady
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little bit quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here whilst in Edinburgh on business. Room was front facing, large, bed was huge, but room was dark because of the boutique style decor. Blue and purple walls and black flowered wall paper dulled the room, but felt the need to have the light on during the day.

No lift, so taking cases up and down stairs is a bind, but convenient for Weatherspoon pub downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSEASANDANDXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    206
    41
    16
    9
See reviews for
162
282
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were going to the Edinburgh Fringe and were looking for a hotel nearby on an easy bus route into the centre, so this was ideally situated. We chose this over other hotels because they have parking. However, when we arrived, we found that the hotel is located in a shopping area. The car park is tiny and is used by hotel guests, diners using their restaurant and shoppers. We asked the receptionist for advice, but she spoke only broken English and told us to drive up and down the road and we should eventually find somewhere on the side of the road. Not acceptable! The room was nice. Looked like it needed a bit of a Spring clean, the walls were covered in marks, but the bed and bathroom were clean, which were the important things. The breakfast in their restaurant was awful. The food was cold, hard, overcooked, greasy, truly inedible. We ended up getting something on the way home from a motorway service station which wasn't cheap. We won't be using them again I'm afraid. One night was enough! They also upped the price for August because of people visiting The Edinburgh Fringe making it very overpriced for the time we stayed.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of nights a week over the last few months.
Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. Not far from the airport or the city centre & great value for money. The wetherspoons pub is downstairs & offers good value eating & drinks.

Room Tip: try to stay to the rear of the hotel, as the A8 creates some noise through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed twice in last few months , reasonably priced and bus stop outside door. Near the zoo and other attractions. Will be back , enjoyed our visit s very much.
Staff very helpful and free parking, in Edinburgh that is a luxury!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. We liked it. Best point was that breakfast at wetherspoons was included. Down side was that the tap water in the toilet was not drinkable and the hotel only provided 2 small bottles of Harrogate water per day which is nothing for a couple to survive on...room service was quite late in the afternoon though so if you didn't plan to go out that day you need make your self scarce for them to do their job. Overall I would definitely use this hotel again. It's super close to the Edinburgh zoo and town is not far by bus. One thing we found interesting was that you needed correct change for the buses that go to town from there. Anyway, to cut the rant short. ..I recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank abike
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a Wetherspoons pub and hotel on the main road into Edinburgh. It's located approx 1/2 mile from Edinburgh Zoo and has a convenient bus stop just outside. £3,50 for a day ticket which is great value and a 15 bus ride gets you right into the middle of Edinburgh.
We stayed at the White Lady during the Fringe Festival, so prices where somewhat dearer. Paid £86 for a night which was good value compared to most hotels in Edinburgh.
Downstairs it's a typical Wetherspoons serving good food and fine ales at reasonable prices. I would recommend this hotel for an Edinburgh stay and I would definitely stay here again.
Ask for a room at the back as this will be quieter!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

"A hotel above a pub" - doesn't sound promising. However, this is better than your average Premier Inn. Large rooms, comfortable matresses and trendily decorated in teal and chocolate with extravagant looking accessories. The hotel is separate from the bar and well insulated from any noise.

You can eat cheaply in the pub downstairs or at one of the many nearby restaurants. The curry club next door is also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lady

Property: The White Lady
Address: 92-98 St Johns Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Corstorphine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lady 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Lady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lady Hotel Edinburgh
The White Lady Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing