We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab steaks!”
Review of Los Argentinos

Los Argentinos
Ranked #379 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fab steaks!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight with my teenagers. We all really enjoyed it. The nachos and steaks were very tasty. The service was super-efficient, ie v fast. Maybe a bit too fast? We were glad to have phoned ahead for a table because it was really busy. Youngest daughter (13) says its her new ideal place. High praise as she is a budding critic.

Go - its very good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    100
    24
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Steak-ever!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was persuaded to eat at Los Argentinos by my son who lives round the corner - and he was absolutely right,the steak is absolutely mouthwatering! Also the Chimichury sauce on the table is a lovely touch,the staff were attentive and helpful - I would definitely save my pennies for another visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrewshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Steaks are amazing! So juicy and tasty and recommend the cripsy onions to go with it!

Staff are lovely too :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wee_Teamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“!st Class”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant for a family meal ,6 adults in total.
We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we entered and our jackets were taken from us by the staff , we were then shown to our table . From the very start we were treated very well by the waitresses and waiter , he was from Bangladesh and the waitresses were from Nepal . All 3 were very polite .
I had Nachos for a starter followed by garlic steak .We all had a fantastic time and we will be back ..............1st class from start to finish!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dulce de leche?”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's definitely my fault. I had very high expectations. Where to start from? I am Spanish. I've never been to Argentina, but I've visited a lot of Argentinian restaurants in Madrid and one in London, which doesn't make an authority, but I know the trade a little bit. First, I had to have dinner at 6, which I find too early.

Starters. "Chorizo criollo", a classic. When I expected a regular size chorizo (in the region of 15cm), I got this pinkie size chorizo, and lightyears away from the "chorizos criollos" I've tasted before. Behold! £4,25 each!

Another argentine classic, "chimichurri sauce", which, according to my experience, is served warm. This one, cold spicy coleslaw.

The main course was a selection of meats, "gran parrillada" for two. Fairly good, to be just, but £41! Sides: Chips, frozen McCain type chips and a little bowl of salad.

I hoped the dessert would make up for the rest. "Dulce de leche", another classic, why not? , so I ordered the dessert menu. Error 404, "Dulce de leche" not found. Un-freakin-believable. So I ordered "Mango con tequila" (£ 4,80). After digging a trench in the ice cream I found - Oh! Miracle!- traces of tequila.

The wine wasn't my choice, I can't complain. Luckily the beer was an argentinian Quilmes.

Recap: £63 in total, we were two. Abusively expensive. Very disappointing. Saciated, full, but terribly disappointed. I could've gone to McDonalds and get equally saciated for one tenth of the price.

Funnily enough, my neighbors at the next table, sent back two dishes, and complained loudly.

Definitely not going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OstwaldMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Argentinos also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Los Argentinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing