We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Christmas meal”
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Cassis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: French, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch, evening meal, Afternoon Tea or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas meal”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went there for our staff Christmas lunch based siumply on the reviews here. We were not disappointed. Felt like you were eatting expensive food from an expenspive menu but the price was very reasonably. Staff were attentive and welcoming and lovely small place but plenty of space we were not crammed in. We loved the chance to relax on the sofas at the end of the meal. The chef also managed to provide a Christmas pudding which was not on the menu. All in all a great Christmas lunch!!!

Thank you

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank techyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    109
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times both for 'Birthday meals' and 'just because' meals. The welcome is always very warm from every member of staff. The service is attentive without being overly so.
The food is always delicious and the staff are always on hand to help you with their recommendations.
Special mention must go to the dessert platter- small, tapas-like portions of the restaurants desserts on a slate plate. And they don't mind you sharing this between two.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Awayyego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went to restaurant on strength of its tripadvisor reviews/ranking - safe to say its justified.
Great food at a reasonable price, good flavours and food combinations. Nice, relaxed atmosphere, can't go wrong!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Authentic French food in Edinburgh”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Unusually situated in the basement of a small hotel - the restaurant is cosy with a French feel - not only down to the French staff, who were charming and welcomed us warmly.

Truly exceptional food - escargot followed by confit duck leg served with Toulouse sausage on a bed of red cabbage a triumph - I could have actually been in le Perigord itself. Exceptional value for money.

If you are vsiiting the University campus take the five minute walk to Salisbury Road - you won't regret it. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing lunches”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went to Cafe Cassis for lunch on a few occasions and the food was fanastic every time. Tried different dishes and they were all consistently brilliant. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes French cuisine served in a relaxed atmosphere. It's a little bit off the beaten track but definitely worth a trek from the city centre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melquiades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing