We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value very nice food”
Review of Cafe Cassis

Cafe Cassis
Ranked #96 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Cassis is an exciting family orientated bistro with a fantastic enclosed garden to the rear of the restaurant.Alison &Denis welcome you to Cafe Cassis where you can enjoy fantastic food in a friendly and relaxing surroundings. The menu at Cafe Cassis is varied with a French influence and offers food made from the best locally sourced ingredients,guaranteed to tempt and stimulate your taste buds. Join us for lunch, evening meal, Afternoon Tea or just a coffee which you can enjoy in our relaxed seating area or outside in the garden.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value very nice food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an excellent small bistro on the south side of Edinburgh well situated for many smaller boutique hotels and B&Bs in the surrounding area. Food is good, all ferashly made and the wine list is perfectly adequate. Very friendly service. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    109
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a little gem of a place. Fantastic for all age groups and with an outdoor safe space for children to play, weather permitting.
We went for dinner and were delighted with the food and the personal service. The chef himself came over to chat with us and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The chef's wife was serving at table and she was absolutely charming. He is French, she is British and they make an excellent working team. When we left the restaurant, the only spare table was the one we had vacated. In my book that speaks for itself. So, better to book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Very nice overall experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Based on Tripadvisor reviews we went this week for lunch. On the fixed price menu we could have 2 courses for £8-95, an additional one for £1-95. This particular menu changes from time to time depending on season and the availability of produce. We chose a three course meal with a half carafe of wine. We both chose the fish terrine, followed by rabbit in a mustard sauce, and finished with the bread and butter pudding with a caramel sauce.

Everything we had was beautifully cooked,tasted great and was nicely presented. Service was very good, both friendly and efficient, the decor and furnishings were pleasant and despite being on a lower garden level, the diningroom was bright. Outside there were a few tables for good weather days and a childrens play area.

We enjoyed the meal, it was certainly very reasonably priced for the quality and overall experience and we might well return as we live locally.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, terrific service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited this charming bistro while vacationing in Edinburgh. It is located in a quiet spot just south of the city and near some upscale B&Bs on Dalkieth Road. A very easy walk, and easy to find (good signage). We booked our reservation online -- very simple and no problems. The food was fresh, flavorful and filling. Service was cheerful and quick. Everything here is nicely done and not overly complex or pretentious. Just what we were looking for -- and more!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElToro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Yet another superb offering from Denis”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The great thing about dining at Cafe Cassis is that Chef Denis never fails to surprise you with another new 'Special Dish' this time rabbit, done in a wonderful sauce that just melted in the mouth. And oh that bread & butter pudding. As always great service in nice suroundings

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cassis also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Cassis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing