We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Swallow Greens Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swallow Greens Hotel
Ranked #140 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2006

My partner and I booked a 3 night stay at the Greens Hotel, although slightly worried about the previous reviews we went along and were treated. For the minute price we payed the hotel was amazing. Our room was spacious and very clean. The staff were friendly and the food was great. The only thing I can complain about is the shower that was a little dated, however it was hot and strong and did the job. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone. The setting, location, appearance, amenities, staff, cleaniness and everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kate1palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    1
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

We were due to stay at the hotel for one night. I phoned ahead 2 days before and the booking was confirmed. We arrived on the morning and were told that our room wasnt ready but we could leave our bags and return later. We returned late afternoon to be told that they didnt have a room for us. 3 other people were in reception having the same problem. They offered us alternative accommodation.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Pickle_99_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

This was a fine hotel. My friend and I stayed there for a couple of nights recently and found it hard to fault. Good value, good location, lovely building, nice room, friendly service. Only small quibble would be the fact that breakfast is only served till 9:30am on weekdays (10am at weekends), which meant we missed out both mornings on breakfast, as we had been out late both previous nights.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

When I arrived, the hotel had no record of my booking. Fortunately I had evidence that I had pre-paid so they were obliged to rehome me - not easy on a Friday evening. I ended up in a pleasant guest house down the road, which judging by other reviews of Greens on this site, was possibly a better option. From what I could see, the public rooms at Greens looked OK . The location is quiet because it is a residential area, and the surrounding architecture is interesting. But I would suggest that you be kind to yourself and look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesswomanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

The hotel although a bit scruffy around the edges, the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was not so nice. There was hairs visible on the bathroom floor along side the bath from the previous occupant. I had dinner in the restaurant, but upon pouring the first glass of water from the jug there was debris in my glass. The food was ok. And the breakfast was good with a wide choice. But the cooked breakfast seemed greasy! The lift was old fashioned and to get in and out you had to push back the inner door and outer door. Upon leaving if these doors weren't closed the lift wouldn't move. I had to walk up and down the stairs to the third floor several times during my stay! Don't know if I would stay there again.,

  • Liked — The red and white bedroom
  • Disliked — The debris from the water jug, the lift.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

I stayed at the Greens for two nights - I had a remarkably cheap deal - but to pay the standard rate would have been a rip off. The public areas are fairly smart and some of the staff are friendly. But my room was very bad - the bed was old and uncomfortable, the wall-paper had faded a funny colour orange in places, the carpet had threadbare patches and the bathroom had certainly seen better days. I felt as if I were staying in a cheap B&B thirty years ago!
The hotel is not in the best position in Edinburgh and I really thought the days of such standards had gone in UK hotels - it's really unacceptable!

  • Liked — the restaurant and the fact it's in edinburgh
  • Disliked — the room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in the old city, on george street or princes street - much better location!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

Not impressed at all. The receptionist was inept to say the least.
The room was a good size, however on our second night we had no running water. What was the response? A shrug of the shoulders and told that the water may come back in the morning.

Never again!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
West End
Ballantrae West End Hotel
Ballantrae West End Hotel
#396 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Greens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Greens Hotel

Property: Swallow Greens Hotel
Address: Mid Lothian 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Swallow Greens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Greens Edinburgh
Hotel Swallow Greens
Swallow Greens Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing