We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashdene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdene House
Ranked #128 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I choose this place from the Tripadvisor's comments and was pleased with the results.
Although I find this is not walking distance from the City Center, the bus services are great. The House is located on a quiet street which is good when you've been walking all day and want to sleep with the window opened.
Very good breakfasts with always a nicely put together fruit cup with yogourt. Very clean, the rooms all have ensuite, although small ones, they are practical and updated.
When we came in, we were famished, the owner Caroline, called Keller's kitchen so we wait for us to show up and could have the afternoon cake and coffee.
I definitely recommend this place to stay in Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are lucky to have so many good eating places within 5 minutes walk, which have something on their menu to please all tastes.
And remember to book direct with Ashdene House next time to get FREE bus travel throughout Edinburgh during your stay, with Lothian Buses. www.ashdenehouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
27
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After bouncing between multiple hotels and B&Bs in Scotland over two weeks we ended with a three night stay at the Ashdene House. This was a last minute find as everything near the city center was booked up. I Was pretty disappointed that we were not in walking distance to the attractions, but in the end it was for the best. This was the best place we stayed our whole trip. We were greeted on our arrival and taken to our room (we were in #3). This was a large room with high ceilings facing the front of the building with large bay windows. The room was immaculate and the bed was the most comfy we had found. Our host was friendly and had a wealth of knowledge. The shower was great and the internet was free and worked flawlessly. We had to park on the street, but it was not a problem at all. The best part is that they give you free bus passes for each day you stay. The stop is a block down the street and it is about a 15 minute ride to Waverley Bridge in the heart of the city. There are also several restaurants within a few blocks of the B&B including a very good Indian place (Patakas?) and a pizza place. The breakfasts were made to order and were quite good. It was also a great deal - far less than the hotels closer to the city. The distance was not a problem at all, and after seeing the crowds, congestion, and noise of the city center, it was nice to hop the bus to this quiet and quaint neighborhood. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: #3 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Ashdene House is the most quiet and beautifull house just a few meters from the busy streets of Edinburgh. Breakfast is good and you can almost have what ever you like - Caroline will make it :) If posible we will come back and stay more than the two nights we spend there. You easily walk to the city center from Ashdene House or take the #67 bus.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you. It was lovely to meet you.
Glad you were inspired to return to Edinburgh. There's so much to see and do - 2 days are just not enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My first stay at a B&B. Very much enjoyed staying here for 5 days. Breakfast was fantastic, so fresh and healthy. Quiet and private house. Location is great. I walked down into Edinburgh city, the Royal Mile area and all around every day. Good restaurants within a few blocks of Ashdene House. Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Spent the Jubilee weekend at Ashdene. Very impressed with the standard of accommodation and the cleanliness of the place. Largest bedroom we have ever stayed in, light and airy with quality fitments. The en-suite shower room was also of a generous size and was spotless. The attention to detail such as all brass fitments nicely polished shows the good standard of upkeep. Caroline was a welcoming host who was happy to answer our questions about the local area, bus routes etc. The food was delicious, only wished they did evening meals too as the standard was so good. The free bus passes for all of us everyday was a nice touch but as we like walking and it was a direct route to the city centre, we didn't need to use them and returned them back.

Would definitely recommend Ashdene House. In fact a friend of mine is going to stay there when she goes to Edinburgh for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Ashdene House and your visit to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights over the Jubilee bank holiday weekend, we were greeted by the smiling welcoming host ' Caroline', we found the apartment very clean & comfortable. The sitting room was spacious and the kitchen was clean and provided with facilities including breakfast for the first morning. Bathroom was very clean with ensuite facility, bed room was good sized. We felt like we were at home. The apartment Is located about 10 minutes By bus from the city centre, bus no 24 stops literally within few seconds walk from the apartment. The area is quiet, so very nice to sleep. If We visit Edinburgh again, we would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to accommodating you again soon.
If you wish to travel with friends or family, remember we can accommodate up to 4 people in the family-sized apartment (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms).
Kind regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed over for new years weekend- one of the best B and B's we have stayed in.
It was clean, comfortable, provided good facilities and was a good sized room. Breakfast was really good - a selection of breads , fresh fruit salad, traditional scottish hagis and more.
Great location, walking distance to town or easy bus access.
A fantastic place to celibrate New Year - so many things to do and see - we went up to the castle and went on the whisky experiance which was good - the torch light procession was amazing , so well organised have never seen anything like it ... the street party the following evening was also an experiance , would deffinatly reccomend this place !
Thank you
Rebekah and Nic, Sheffield.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your visit to Edinburgh was such a nice experience. We hope to see you again in the future when perhaps you will be able to attend some more of Edinburgh's great festival events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
0.3 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#42 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont House
Claremont House
#118 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
3.1 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#33 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#150 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdene House

Property: Ashdene House
Address: 23 Fountainhall Rd., Edinburgh EH9 2LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet family-run guest house on side street, only 1 mile from city centre, offers Bed and Breakfast to tourist and business travellers. Easy access to and from the centre by bus or on foot. Numerous good local restaurants. This Edwardian town-house has been lovingly restored and decorated to very high standard. Freshly cooked or continental breakfast. Bedrooms all have en-suite facilities. Strong environmental policy. Free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdene House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing