We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Ashdene House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashdene House
Ranked #112 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The house is in a quiet location within easy walking distance of the city centre but also well served by several bus routes with stops nearby. The room we had was the king room which was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was a pleasure each day, with a variety of food to choose from. Caroline Daulby made us feel very welcome and gave us useful local information whenever we needed it . We particularly appreciated the early breakfast on our day of departure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

On a second visit to Edinburgh this year, I was so pleased to get a room at Ashdene House. As previously the whole stay was a very pleasurable one. The room was so welcoming and very comfortable, very comfy bed and an immaculate environment. Breakfast is superb, a huge choice and everything so fresh and tasty. It made the trip so much better to return to Ashdene House each day and be revived, just relaxing in such pleasant peaceful surroundings. The owners are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to assist with all aspects of your visit, Thank you again to Caroline for making my stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash23fhr, Owner at Ashdene House, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2010

It was our pleasure to accommodate you again and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

In a cold and wet February, the warmth and hospitable atmosphere of Ashdene House was an excellent experience. The rooms are beautifully presented, warm with every comfort and more. The owners are friendly and very attentive. Breakfast is wonderful, home made breads every day and great coffee. Location is ideal for all areas of Edinburgh and the free bus passes are very useful! I will return here with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Ashdene House was selected from an ad in the NTS magazine and we were not disappointed. The room that we stayed in was roomy bright and clean and looked freshly decorated. The Bed was so comfortable and the breakfasts were very enjoyable. Caroline was able to offer us a lot of useful advice for moving around the city using the bus tickets and this enabled to visit all of the locations that we had planned during our short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Having found this place on my last visit to Edinburgh, I had no reluctance to stay there again, and will again. What a nice change from the hussle of the city centre and everything is quite convenient. There is free parking on the street outside the house, some excellent restaurants round the corner, bus stop round the corner etc. They give you free bus day tickets if you book direct with them - very useful.
Even a single room has a double bed! Luxury...
Breakfast is freshly cooked and a good variety. None of this keeping food warm like most other places I've stayed.
I highly recommend you try Ashdene House for yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Everything about the Ashdene House was a pleasure for us... elegantly appointed rooms, excellent location, FANTASTIC showers, gracious hosts and delicious breakfasts. Comes with free bus passes so you don't need a car for the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at Ashdene House during the first week of our Scotland vacation. We enjoyed the hotel's quietness, the hosts' friendliness, excellent breakfasts, and location near Old Town Edinburgh. A major bus line 200 meters away allowed us to visit Cramond, Royal Mile, Roslyn Chapel, Holyrood, and Arthur's Seat. Many excellent restaurants are within walking distance (or 10 minutes by bus).

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdbrumbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
2.3 mi away
Ardmor House
Ardmor House
#89 of 394 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#42 of 394 in Edinburgh
255 reviews
22.1 mi away
Caddon View Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#34 of 394 in Edinburgh
475 reviews
14.3 mi away
Letham House
Letham House
#2 of 8 in Haddington
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
94DR
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdene House

Address: 23 Fountainhall Road, Edinburgh EH9 2LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $175 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashdene House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet family-run guest house on side street, only 1 mile from city centre, offers Bed and Breakfast to tourist and business travellers. Easy access to and from the centre by bus or on foot. Numerous good local restaurants. This Edwardian town-house has been lovingly restored and decorated to very high standard. Freshly cooked or continental breakfast. Bedrooms all have en-suite facilities. Strong environmental policy. Free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ashdene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdene House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing