We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Megan2203
Aberdeen Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a Friday -Monday stay. 5 adults for a weekend of shopping an sightseeing. Upon arrival we collected keys from the backpackers place which is just round the corner. Young lady took us across to the apartment to show us round then left us to it. Sean ,the owner was always on hand with any queries we had prior to our arrival.
Apartment is well stocked even had, milk,tea,coffee and shortbread left for us. Towels and bedding provided .

The apartment overlooks the Grass market and its a fab place for just sitting a people watching...which we did a lot of :) The stairs are quaint and tiring,but its well worth the hike up them.
Would definitely return to this apartment.We have looked to booking it for our November trip buts into not available :(

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size and ease of booking
Liked least: OMG the stairs but would not put us off staying there again.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnnewma...
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Have just returned from a brilliant weekend in Edinburgh. Made the decision the use an apartment rather than hotel & Grassmarket/West Bow apartment was perfect.
Central location for everything , with the Royal Mile a 5 min walk away and a taxi was never far away. 30 mins from the airport so no hassle anytime.
The booking process was so easy , and Sean answered promptly and nothing seemed to be an issue, even after missing our flight, arriving 5 hrs late wasn't a problem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyF20
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly located for all attractions in the old town.”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a family visit to attend my niece's graduation. We used both bedrooms and the double sofa settee. The flat is very comfortable and well furnished. If you have trouble sleeping you may be advised to take some ear plugs with you if you use the front bedroom or bed settee as both rooms overlook the grassmarket and there can be noise disturbance when people leave the restaurants/pubs . This certainly wouldn't deter us from booking again. Overall a lovely stay which was excellent value for money.

PS we left our luggage before and after the stay in the locker room at the back packers hostel which saved us the cost of leaving it at the train station.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor
Liked least: noise level
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin H
2 reviews
“Most beautiful apartment”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The apartment is perfectly located with a great view at the grassmarket.
It is to the last detail tastfully and beautifully furnished. The beds are absolutly comfortable and the bathroom is very modern. We enjoyed it so much, if there wasn`t so much to see in Edinburgh, we would have stayed in the apartment the whole time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorangeli...
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GIRLS TRIP 2016”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was an awesome apartment! Very comfortable, Sean went over and above helping us get settled in! We had a fabulous visit in Edinburgh! The location was great! As stated in previous reviews..it can be a little noisy when pub hours were in full tilt..but honestly it was really entertaining to people watch! The main window overlooks the square and the evening activities were a blast to watch! the bedrooms were very nice and comfortable. The hike up the stairs wasn't too bad as long as we weren't laughing too hard! Laughing and hauling suitcases up was pretty comical...but we really enjoyed our stay. We were able to walk everywhere! Maggie Dicksons pub was close by and food was great...many other fun pubs right there! Had a great visit! Thanks Sean!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahe67...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely flat in a very central location”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for three nights with our two young children and my parents in law. The flat was in an excellent location for sight seeing, restaurants, parks and shopping.
As Sean (the owner) has already said, the flat is up a spiral staircase on the third floor. We didn't find this to be an issue even with a toddler and a double buggy. Our toddler thought it was a great adventure.

The flat was spacious and although there were 6 of us we didn't ever feel that we were living on top of each other.

The flat was well stocked with kitchen equipment, and on arrival there was tea, coffee, sugar, shortbread and milk.

The flat was only a 10 minute walk from Waverley train station, where we were dropped off by the airport link bus (number 100). We didn't ever need to get a taxi as everywhere seemed to be in walking distance.

We were very grateful that we could check in early after getting an early flight.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, central flat
Liked least: Noise outside, although this was highlighted when we booked it
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fergysun
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location and comfy beds”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Arrived for a weekend theatre trip and was really pleased with the apartment. Great location for sightseeing, theatre, pubs and dining. Everything you need is close by with only a few minutes walk to Princess St shops.
The immediate location of the Grassmarket is a lovely area with lit trees and for relaxing with a drink.
The apartment is up a spiral staircase and is not suitable for those with mobility problems but with everything you need for a self catering stay. We particularly enjoyed the quirky taps and shower.
I'd love to know how they got the furniture and white goods up those stairs though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing