We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish yet relaxed hotel with excellent breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stylish yet relaxed hotel with excellent breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Salisbury is a pleasant, relaxed hotel. Housed in a handsome period building it has been stylishly appointed. Located in a quiet road, yet within easy walk of all Edinburgh's attractions, the hotel was the ideal base for our city break. Even the (slightly awkward) parking is a bonus.
The staff were excellent. Florence was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and efficient (as was Kinga online beforehand).
The breakfast was superb. Everything was fresh, tasty and well presented . . . and the croissants were exquisite!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. we are glad you had a great time, we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    307
    65
    29
    20
See reviews for
156
418
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Highly recommended! Would stay there again!

+ Superfriendly staff.
+ Clean.
+ Great WIFI
+ Nice breakfast.
+ Location is good, a range of buses nearby to take you to central Edinburgh in 5 minutes for 1,50GBP.

- Our room (which was great in all other aspects) had a somewhat poor ventilation with no possibility to open the window.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erikanesater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in regards to the lack of ventilation you mention, i can only apologise, all windows do open but with being original can be very heavy, there are also fan/heaters that blow both hot and cold air located in the wardrobe in every room, this said, we look forward to having you stay with us again here at the Salisbury in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kevan Potter
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked on line after reading reviews of this hotel and liked what we had read .The hotel is about 25 mins walk from the centre of Edinburgh. Our room was a decent size and had a smallish toilet / shower room but it was fine for us. The room was very clean and had a high ceiling. Tea /coffee and water was provided and re- plenished each day. Pleasant staff on reception. Breakfast was a continental one and you could have a cooked one if you wanted at an additional cost.Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Superior rooms tend to be over looking the garden and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your Kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Plenty of good things to say about this hotel but wish they had paid more attention to the small details that make all the difference. Great central location; lovely and quiet; clean and comfy room with sense of space and grandeur. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room rate was very good value, particularly as there was a small number of car parking spaces that we always managed to benefit from. On the down side, the bath/shower was absolutely covered in black mould to an off putting level in our Meadowbank room. On the second day we had no toilet paper in the bathroom. At breakfast each day you have to sit where they put you and the coffee is always tepid or cold as the base plate on the coffee filter machine does not work! The breakfast does not offer any breads only croissants/pain au chocolate and these were always burnt on top as I suspect they were warmed up under the grill so they were black on top and not warmed through. The tea and coffee in our room was not replenished each day so once the 4 teabags were used that was it! I would definitely stay there again but the devil is always in the detail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Good Afternoon

I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the attention to detail that was missed during your stay with us here at the Salisbury. all showers are now undergoing resealing around these areas,also, our housekeeping staff have been instructed to make sure there is plenty of supplies in each room that a guest may need to make their stay as comfortable and pleasing as possible.Our coffee machine in the Breakfast room has been replaced. I have just taken over as General Manager of the Salisbury and i am in the process of looking to expand our offerings for breakfast, all of this said, I do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifer
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Salisbury Hotel. A very warm and informative welcome from the receptionist. Our room 'Calton' was exactly what we wanted. Very comfortable indeed Everything one could want. Excellent continental breakfasts were much enjoyed. The hotel is very handily placed for catching a bus into town. Parking is limited but we got a place easily. Very pleasant staff. Would definitely consider returning and would certainly eat in Cafe Cassis, situated within the hotel, again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisburyhotel4345, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Salisbury and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Kevan Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We wanted 180x190 bed and they have! Warm welcoming and dedicated staff. Very calm location and perfect if you play golf or would like to walk in Holyrood park nearby. You can go for a more central location for the same budget if this is your first time in Edinburgh but Cafe Cassis attached to the hotel is a must to try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of December,what a great find,yes it is on the college campus and a way out of town but not a problem,the check in is not in the main building itself but is clearly signposted as we managed to find it a 11.30pm,the check girl was happy and informative and you then get your swipe card for the main building,the room was large and spotless,bathroom was a great size and the towels were of good quality,the large bed was one of the most comfortable bed I have slept on in a hotel,the breakfast was of a very good standard with a choice of fruits,cereals, juice and a cooked breakfast if wanted nothing was a bother and served with manners and a smile,the buses are no bother into town as the stop is outside the main entrance,the service you need is the 30 or the 33 both these take to to the royal mile or princes street and is costs £3.50 per person for a full day ticket,you can walk it but takes a good 45 mins and is steadily uphill coming back from town,there was only two very minor points of complain in that as the rooms are very spacious the tv was very small and at night it was a bit chilly when the heat went off and a blanket would have been a great bonus to have but on the whole a great find we will be staying again in the future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shoefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing