We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your flip-flops (unless you like sliding around the bathroom)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #87 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring your flip-flops (unless you like sliding around the bathroom)”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel looks quite nice at face value. perhaps a little crumbling at the edges. Its close to Arthur's seat and the international swimming pool. A resonably and not unpleasant walk to the University and a little further to the city centre.
The main grumbles were the potentially lethal tiles in the bathroom when combined with the operation of the walk-in-shower-cum-mini-swimming pool....Seriously slippy! I'm surprised no one has slipped and broken bones. Advice? Bring flip-flops or throw every available towel on the floor. Also the bath taps didn't work properly nor did the bath plug and the toilet is so close to the wooden box under the wash basin that it was hard not to decapitate one's knee. Oh and the toilet wobbled worryingly on deseating.
The only other grumbles centred on some of staff looking after the breakfast room. Rude is one way to describe their attitude, brusque another more generous way. And be prepared to hold on tightly to your plate unless you want them whipped from beneath your eyes in a millisecond without even asking if you had finished..uneaten toast squirrelled away without a peep, shortly followed by the plates and cups and saucers. Beware the 10am breakfast deadline is strictly enforced. A 9.55 arrival might mean the table is already being cleared and noisily put away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerninglyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    311
    66
    30
    22
See reviews for
160
425
57
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorthYorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for a night to attend a conference at John McIntyre Centre. What a lovely surprise...lovely room with a splendid shower and quiet and comfortable, had a great nights sleep.
Staff were friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Shame I was only there for a night. A hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of a busy city.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally&Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is well located and convenient for touring. Rooms are pretty good - we got an upgrade to a room with a bath, and it was great. The room was well equipped with nice towels, great bathroom with open shower and huge bath. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Staff were very helpful and attended to all our issues with alacrity.The free wifi worked only sporadically and reception varied throughout the building, probably due to the thickness of the walls.Only drawback is the apparent lack of public seating/lounge.
The breakfast room is shared with an up-market restaurant under separate management, but it attended to all our needs without any problems. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is nice, we had one of the smaller rooms towards the back that was still reasonably sized and with nice furniture and coloring of the walls etc, the room was really ok. The backyard is very calm and you have a view towards trees and a bit open space, at least in the second floor it was an ok view and very quiet and calm.
Bathroom had a nice walk-in shower that looked very clean, rest of backroom was not great but really ok.
Breakfast was a buffet, not big but sufficient and ok quality. Just a bit annoying that there is no real bread, only toast.

Room Tip: Room towards the back are more quiet and have view towards trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsME76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I cannot say anything at all about this hotel only its online booking system. Basically don't use it! I booked a room yesterday (Saturday 12 October 2013) using the online system. When I opened my e-mails today I found one from the hotel saying they were sorry I had cancelled my reservation. I sent an e-mail saying I had not cancelled and then telephoned the hotel, getting an answer on my second attempt. I was told that there had been only one room available and it had been snapped up just before I booked online and before the system had had time to update. They had tried to telephone me but I do not reply to "Withheld" numbers. As a result I am left without a room and with a bitter taste in my mouth

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the fact that the last room we had available for your required dates was sold a mere two minutes before you placed your booking. Unfortunately as the reservations were made at almost exactly the same time our channel management system did not have sufficient notice to update availability. This type of error is a rarity and our online reservation system is an efficient and easy to use system for guests wishing to reserve a room via the internet.

However, we would like to add that the Hotel reception team phoned you within five minutes of your reservation being placed to apologise and inform you of the situation. We can not be held responsible for you finding out 24-hours later by e-mail because of your unwillingness to answer your own telephone. In future we would recommend taking your calls as it might be important.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is on a quiet residential street but not convenient to Old Town and major tourist sites. Unless you like walking over a mile to reach center of town and the trip back at night is uphill might consider a different hotel. We ended up taking taxis which were 7£...not alot but factor into cost. Room was fine with updated bath. Breakfast was continental buffet; eggs and warm items available for additional charge. The in-hotel cafe restaurant was nice and very convenient for late day food or drinks. Wifi was supposedly available but did not reach to our room on lower level. Front desk staff was helpful and if need taxi to airport will arrange driver for set price that is lower than typical taxi rate. On a short trip I would suggest hotel near city center

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jray2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me & my partner visit several hotels on a monthly basis in various parts of Scotland. We decided to go to Edinburgh, enjoy a nice meal, few drinks & most of all stay in a stunning, clean, comfortable & friendly hotel. Hotels are a big luxury to us and like to spend a little more than average on it. We found our perfect getaway hotel.... The Salisbury Hotel.

This hotel is stunning from minute you arrive at the door. Grand appearances and the stylish decor makes this a home to home experience.
once me & my partner had checked in we where escorted to our room by the friendly & chatty Front of House staff member.

The room in one word was 'GORGEOUS' to say the least. It was huge, clean, had everything imaginable to have within a hotel (iPod docking station & minifridge) these rooms could simply not have any more home comforts added to make the Salisbury Hotel better.

Parking is great also. It's free. Especially within Edinburgh this is a luxury itself. Regardless of whether it's double parking or not. This should not put anyone off as the staff cater for you by moving your car and notifying immediately.

Mr & Mrs Woods should be proud of this Hotel and Staff as it is a Hotel which caters and thinks of guests and only the guests matter. Unlike other hotels were they just want your money. Would recommend anyone to stay here and will be certainly returning very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanMcCrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 149 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#93 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing