We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Salisbury Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$301
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$136
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$225
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveler rating
414
321
72
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
321
72
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrelovely hotelcooked breakfastroyal mileipod docking stationholyrood parkfour posteroff street parkingboutique hotelminute walkthe ground floorarthur's seatquiet locationroom was largeday ticketsingle roomfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 860 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this small hotel because it was near Pollock Halls, where I was attending a conference. Super room, excellent attention from friendly staff, and a good continental breakfast. I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our Hotel.

We are always very happy to hear when our guests have had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed their stay because the Hotel supplied them with exactly what they were after.
The Hotel is a mere 5-minute walk from the Pollock Halls and the John McIntyre Conference Centre; ideal for any guest attending a conference or visiting university residents.

All of our bedrooms have recently been redecorated and offer our guests a comfy and welcoming environment in which to relax. All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

Our friendly and helpful waiting staff are on hand to help our guests with whatever they require and are always happy to offer advice on places to visit and establishments to eat in. No request is too big or too small.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely, spacious hotel with a nice big bed. The breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The only down side were the stairs, carrying a large suitcase wasn't very practical, but I mainly blame my girlfriend for taking too much ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radioman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to see that you had an excellent time at the Hotel during your visit to Edinburgh. Our Front of House team are always happy to help our guests with whatever they require and make sure they have an enjoyable stay. They are always willing, able and happy to take our guest’s luggage to their rooms for them at check-in if they require help.

All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

Thank you once again for your review and we can not wait to welcome you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were to stay at the Salisbury this April with our infant daughter. We ran into some trouble with the baby and had to fly home unexpectedly early, which was incredibly upsetting. We were to check in on April 11, and we emailed the hotel on April 9 around 10 am to see if we could change our dates to accommodate our new flight. The hotel was booked, which is fair, given it's popularity. Given this, we had to cancel, and did so by noon on April 9. We booked via booking.com, and realized that the cancellation deadling was 11:59pm the previous night (I said "midnight" to the staff, and he responded "you'd have to have cancelled before midnight" - how's that for pickiness). The hotel was totally unsympathetic and unwilling to be even the slightest bit lenient on this policy. I realize that this is their legal right, and as such, they charged us for a full three night stay ($450CDN). I was extremely disappointed. I would not have minded paying a fee of some sort, but given that we missed the deadline by mere hours for cancellation, and given the extenuating (and already very upsetting) circumstances, I had hoped for more understanding from the hotel. After some discussion they said that if they were able to find new guests for the room, we would be refunded - however this has not happened. I find it VERY hard to believe, and extremely unlikely, that a hotel that was otherwise suggested to be fully booked and rates so highly was unable to rent the room for a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night, even with two days notice.

So - while the hotel was technically within their rights to charge us for three nights not stayed, given our difficult situation, the mere hours by which the cancellation deadline was missed, and given the high ratings of the hotel, I expected a level of understanding and a bit of leniency that we did not receive. As I said, I would not have minded paying for one night, but to have to pay for the nights of the 11, 12 and 13 when we cancelled on the 9 for legitimate and upsetting reasons was frustrating for us. Again, I recognize the hotel was within their rights - I simply was disappointed not to have received more understanding from them. If they had been more accepting and offered us some sort of leniency I would book with them again but if we are travelling with kids again, when the unexpected can happen, we would not book them again. By comparison, we DID receive more much more leniency and understanding from other hotels, even smaller B&Bs that woudl be much more depended on the income, from which we had to cancel for the same reason; frankly, the airline was even more accommodating and sympathetic.

If you are booking via booking.com, or perhaps even with the hotel directly, be VERY sure that you will be 100% staying before you confirm. I'm sure the hotel is lovely, and my reason for three stars is simply based on customer service as I cannot comment on the rooms, though other guests say it is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank BeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We were very sorry to learn that you had to cut your trip short and hope that all is well and you arrived home safely.

With regards to your issue of missing the Booking.com reservation cancellation deadline, the Hotel can in no way be held responsible for guests not reading and/or understanding the simple terms and conditions clearly displayed on a third-party booking website.

When the Hotel was informed of your intent to cancel, our receptionist politely informed you that as you were cancelling at 1pm in the afternoon a day and a half before arriving, you had clearly missed the midnight deadline for the 48-hour cancellation policy that is in effect. As you have acknowledged we were within our legal right to charge you, but our receptionist very kindly offered to put your room back up for sale on short notice and refund you the sale amount if the rooms were sold. This was a very lenient and understanding act on our part and in no way “unsympathetic or unwilling” to help. With regards to the Hotels you were planning to stay with after visiting Edinburgh, you would have been out with of their 48-hour cancellation policy and so they would have had no choice but to allow you to cancel.

Guests need to appreciate that the less notice they give a Hotel regarding a cancellation, the more difficult it is to resell a room; especially in the midst of a global recession. We do advise that all of our guests be in possession of Travel Insurance for their trip at the time of booking. We are always happy to provide guests with a payment invoice and receipt for any claims should they require them.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great hotel, nicely decorated. our room had wet room and king size bed, nice and quiet at night. Liked the complimentary chocolates. Excellent service from staff and good breakfast too. Maybe needs to have a bigger sign on the roadside as took a while for us to locate due to traffic busy on this road and being a one way street too. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 962christy962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Salisbury Hotel.

All of the Hotel’s bedrooms have been recently re-decorated. All of our Superior Double rooms have an extremely spacious and comfortable King-Size bed to ensure our guests get a great night’s sleep, and come with an excellent Wet Room en-suite as standard. A Continental Breakfast buffet is inclusive of all of our rates and offers a vast range of items for guests to feast on and set their day up with.

The Hotel is located in the residential suburb of Newington; close enough to the city centre to walk, yet far enough out to enjoy the peace and quiet. Our extremely helpful Front of House reception team are on hand to help our guests with whatever they require and direct them throughout the city.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very central, 5 mins. from Commonwealth Pool, 8 min. walk to Bus Stop, very limited car parking space, but, many Hotels do not have any parking available & metered parking on the roads would be expensive. Initially our lovely large clean room, was freezing, but when heating went on it became very stuffy, as no window opened. Our room had been refurbished which was nice, but, the shower unit did not have a sloped drain & the floor became flooded ! (used a towel). Your breakfast could be an extensive Continental or cooked, both were good. Was little deafening between rooms. Lovely view onto a Walled Garden. Was a little pricey @ £80 per night, but, we would return. No Receptionist between 10pm and 6am, but, Help Porter Tel. No. available.

Room Tip: Did not see others to compare
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triggerdunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your interestingly titled yet great review.

The Salisbury Hotel is in an excellent location for those guests wishing easy access to the City Centre. We are a mere 20-minute walk from the historic Royal Mile which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also located a 5-minute walk from a selection of Edinburgh’s other attractions such as the Royal Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Pollock Halls of Residence, the main Edinburgh University campuses and Arthur’s Seat.

Edinburgh has an outstanding bus service provided by Lothian Buses and there is a bus stop located a 30-second walk around the corner from the Hotel that is serviced by no less than ten frequent services to the City Centre. Edinburgh can be an expensive city for guests to park their car in, so we are incredibly happy to be able to offer our guests a free limited parking facility allocated on a first come first served basis.

All of the rooms in the Hotel have a fully working and effective radiator, and additional hot air heaters and portable radiators are available to guests on request. All of the windows in all of the rooms can be opened. If you were having problems with your window our Front of House Reception team would have been able to open it for you if requested. All of our bedrooms have just been newly refurbished. Several of our rooms look over our private and secluded wall Garden’s to the rear of the Hotel.

A Continental Breakfast Buffet with a great selection of items is inclusive of all of our room rates. Cooked Breakfast items are available to order from our Waiting team for a small additional charge. Our Reception Team and Night Porter are fully contactable 24-hours a day and always happy to help our guests with whatever requests they may have. The prices quoted on all websites are of a competitive rate.

We thank you once again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews