We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #78 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this small hotel because it was near Pollock Halls, where I was attending a conference. Super room, excellent attention from friendly staff, and a good continental breakfast. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our Hotel.

We are always very happy to hear when our guests have had an excellent experience with us and enjoyed their stay because the Hotel supplied them with exactly what they were after.
The Hotel is a mere 5-minute walk from the Pollock Halls and the John McIntyre Conference Centre; ideal for any guest attending a conference or visiting university residents.

All of our bedrooms have recently been redecorated and offer our guests a comfy and welcoming environment in which to relax. All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

Our friendly and helpful waiting staff are on hand to help our guests with whatever they require and are always happy to offer advice on places to visit and establishments to eat in. No request is too big or too small.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    307
    65
    29
    20
See reviews for
156
418
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely, spacious hotel with a nice big bed. The breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The only down side were the stairs, carrying a large suitcase wasn't very practical, but I mainly blame my girlfriend for taking too much ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radioman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Salisbury Hotel.

We are happy to see that you had an excellent time at the Hotel during your visit to Edinburgh. Our Front of House team are always happy to help our guests with whatever they require and make sure they have an enjoyable stay. They are always willing, able and happy to take our guest’s luggage to their rooms for them at check-in if they require help.

All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

Thank you once again for your review and we can not wait to welcome you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were to stay at the Salisbury this April with our infant daughter. We ran into some trouble with the baby and had to fly home unexpectedly early, which was incredibly upsetting. We were to check in on April 11, and we emailed the hotel on April 9 around 10 am to see if we could change our dates to accommodate our new flight. The hotel was booked, which is fair, given it's popularity. Given this, we had to cancel, and did so by noon on April 9. We booked via booking.com, and realized that the cancellation deadling was 11:59pm the previous night (I said "midnight" to the staff, and he responded "you'd have to have cancelled before midnight" - how's that for pickiness). The hotel was totally unsympathetic and unwilling to be even the slightest bit lenient on this policy. I realize that this is their legal right, and as such, they charged us for a full three night stay ($450CDN). I was extremely disappointed. I would not have minded paying a fee of some sort, but given that we missed the deadline by mere hours for cancellation, and given the extenuating (and already very upsetting) circumstances, I had hoped for more understanding from the hotel. After some discussion they said that if they were able to find new guests for the room, we would be refunded - however this has not happened. I find it VERY hard to believe, and extremely unlikely, that a hotel that was otherwise suggested to be fully booked and rates so highly was unable to rent the room for a Thursday, Friday and Saturday night, even with two days notice.

So - while the hotel was technically within their rights to charge us for three nights not stayed, given our difficult situation, the mere hours by which the cancellation deadline was missed, and given the high ratings of the hotel, I expected a level of understanding and a bit of leniency that we did not receive. As I said, I would not have minded paying for one night, but to have to pay for the nights of the 11, 12 and 13 when we cancelled on the 9 for legitimate and upsetting reasons was frustrating for us. Again, I recognize the hotel was within their rights - I simply was disappointed not to have received more understanding from them. If they had been more accepting and offered us some sort of leniency I would book with them again but if we are travelling with kids again, when the unexpected can happen, we would not book them again. By comparison, we DID receive more much more leniency and understanding from other hotels, even smaller B&Bs that woudl be much more depended on the income, from which we had to cancel for the same reason; frankly, the airline was even more accommodating and sympathetic.

If you are booking via booking.com, or perhaps even with the hotel directly, be VERY sure that you will be 100% staying before you confirm. I'm sure the hotel is lovely, and my reason for three stars is simply based on customer service as I cannot comment on the rooms, though other guests say it is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We were very sorry to learn that you had to cut your trip short and hope that all is well and you arrived home safely.

With regards to your issue of missing the Booking.com reservation cancellation deadline, the Hotel can in no way be held responsible for guests not reading and/or understanding the simple terms and conditions clearly displayed on a third-party booking website.

When the Hotel was informed of your intent to cancel, our receptionist politely informed you that as you were cancelling at 1pm in the afternoon a day and a half before arriving, you had clearly missed the midnight deadline for the 48-hour cancellation policy that is in effect. As you have acknowledged we were within our legal right to charge you, but our receptionist very kindly offered to put your room back up for sale on short notice and refund you the sale amount if the rooms were sold. This was a very lenient and understanding act on our part and in no way “unsympathetic or unwilling” to help. With regards to the Hotels you were planning to stay with after visiting Edinburgh, you would have been out with of their 48-hour cancellation policy and so they would have had no choice but to allow you to cancel.

Guests need to appreciate that the less notice they give a Hotel regarding a cancellation, the more difficult it is to resell a room; especially in the midst of a global recession. We do advise that all of our guests be in possession of Travel Insurance for their trip at the time of booking. We are always happy to provide guests with a payment invoice and receipt for any claims should they require them.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great hotel, nicely decorated. our room had wet room and king size bed, nice and quiet at night. Liked the complimentary chocolates. Excellent service from staff and good breakfast too. Maybe needs to have a bigger sign on the roadside as took a while for us to locate due to traffic busy on this road and being a one way street too. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 962christy962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of the Salisbury Hotel.

All of the Hotel’s bedrooms have been recently re-decorated. All of our Superior Double rooms have an extremely spacious and comfortable King-Size bed to ensure our guests get a great night’s sleep, and come with an excellent Wet Room en-suite as standard. A Continental Breakfast buffet is inclusive of all of our rates and offers a vast range of items for guests to feast on and set their day up with.

The Hotel is located in the residential suburb of Newington; close enough to the city centre to walk, yet far enough out to enjoy the peace and quiet. Our extremely helpful Front of House reception team are on hand to help our guests with whatever they require and direct them throughout the city.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunoon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very central, 5 mins. from Commonwealth Pool, 8 min. walk to Bus Stop, very limited car parking space, but, many Hotels do not have any parking available & metered parking on the roads would be expensive. Initially our lovely large clean room, was freezing, but when heating went on it became very stuffy, as no window opened. Our room had been refurbished which was nice, but, the shower unit did not have a sloped drain & the floor became flooded ! (used a towel). Your breakfast could be an extensive Continental or cooked, both were good. Was little deafening between rooms. Lovely view onto a Walled Garden. Was a little pricey @ £80 per night, but, we would return. No Receptionist between 10pm and 6am, but, Help Porter Tel. No. available.

Room Tip: Did not see others to compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triggerdunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your interestingly titled yet great review.

The Salisbury Hotel is in an excellent location for those guests wishing easy access to the City Centre. We are a mere 20-minute walk from the historic Royal Mile which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also located a 5-minute walk from a selection of Edinburgh’s other attractions such as the Royal Commonwealth Swimming Pool, the Pollock Halls of Residence, the main Edinburgh University campuses and Arthur’s Seat.

Edinburgh has an outstanding bus service provided by Lothian Buses and there is a bus stop located a 30-second walk around the corner from the Hotel that is serviced by no less than ten frequent services to the City Centre. Edinburgh can be an expensive city for guests to park their car in, so we are incredibly happy to be able to offer our guests a free limited parking facility allocated on a first come first served basis.

All of the rooms in the Hotel have a fully working and effective radiator, and additional hot air heaters and portable radiators are available to guests on request. All of the windows in all of the rooms can be opened. If you were having problems with your window our Front of House Reception team would have been able to open it for you if requested. All of our bedrooms have just been newly refurbished. Several of our rooms look over our private and secluded wall Garden’s to the rear of the Hotel.

A Continental Breakfast Buffet with a great selection of items is inclusive of all of our room rates. Cooked Breakfast items are available to order from our Waiting team for a small additional charge. Our Reception Team and Night Porter are fully contactable 24-hours a day and always happy to help our guests with whatever requests they may have. The prices quoted on all websites are of a competitive rate.

We thank you once again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was definitely a great choice for me and my family. It is a small (cozy) hotel, with 13 large rooms, fashioned out of two remodelled typical British suburban houses. The rooms are spacious, with tall ceilings, wide doors, fireplace, and a top-quality modern bathroom. The only issue: the shower in the bathroom, which is not only at the same level as the bathroom floor, but it has no barrier or door to keep the water in, so everytime you have a shower, you flood 70% of the bathroom.
The beds are confortable, even the extra (sofa) bed is queen-sized and quite comfortable.
The attention you get from the staff is noteworthy, even though the reception desk is closed from 11pm until 8am. [If the guests wished to checkout from the hotel during that time, checkout was arranged the night before].
The distance from the hotel to Downtown Edinburgh is quite long (about 30-40 minutes walking). You can pay for a day-pass in Lothian Buses for £3.50, which lets you go anywhere - beach, city centre, castle, etc.
Restaurants do close quite early (if you are accustomed to having dinner late or have only had the chance to arrive late at night). A great restaurant in the area is "il Positano" (3 minutes walking distance from the hotel) which is a REAL Italian restaurant, run by Italian chefs and very charismatic and friendly waiter & waitress, which are still open to new customers as late as 10.30pm.
The price of the hotel is quite hefty (to say the least) but you get what you paid for (at least in our case). A small hotel with careful attention to guests, and even a large flatscreen TV in the bedroom (40~ inches!), with high-speed internet connection.
The breakfast doesn't have the kind of food variety you would find in any major hotel chain, but it is still good, and the waitresses are there to help or prepare anything for you if you wish (although some speak with a very thick Scottish accent which can be quite hard to understand coming from a foreigner that barely speaks English.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Holyrood room, first room on the left from the entrance, and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlspma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the Salisbury Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a fantastic experience with us. The Salisbury is a 4-Star Small Townhouse Hotel consisting of two former Georgian townhouses. The 18 bedrooms inside offer our guests a clean, comfortable and relaxing abode from which they can enjoy and explore the city.

The Hotel is just a 20-minute walk from Edinburgh’s historic and majestic Royal Mile, which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also in the perfect location for easy access to Edinburgh University, the Pollock Halls, Arthur’s Seat, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and many other attractions. Lothian Buses operate an excellent system with at least ten frequent services to and from the City Centre from the bus stop located just around the corner from the Hotel.

The Hotel houses the independently run Café Cassis, which offers guests an excellent menu with Gallic flair and friendly, knowledgeable staff. Should guests wish to eat out in Newington there is a selection of excellent restaurants and bistros within a couple of minutes walking distance from the Hotel including Il Positano (Italian), Voujon (Indian), Heller’s Kitchen (Scottish) and the Salisbury Arms (Scottish).

The rooms include all the mod cons that a guest would need away from home, including a Plasma Screen TV, a hairdryer, an iron and ironing board, an iPod docking station, and complimentary Wi-Fi and refreshments. All room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast buffet which offers a great selection of items including pastries, cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees. Cooked items are also available for a small additional charge.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found this hotel on hotels.com after arriving in Edinburgh a day earlier than planned and this was a great find. Great location and easy access for local transport to the Castle and Royal Mile. Has off road parking which is fantastic and friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again. Fab breakfast. Wish we had stayed here the whole time we were in Edinburgh as this hotel was better than where we were booked for the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our Hotel.

The Salisbury Hotel is a mere 20-minute walk from the majestic Royal Mile which boasts both Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. The Hotel is also an excellent location for access to a selection of Edinburgh’s other attractions such as the Pollock Halls of Residence and the main Edinburgh University campuses, the Royal Commonwealth Swimming Pool and the beautiful Arthur’s Seat.

An outstanding bus service provided by Lothian Buses will take guests around Edinburgh with ease and efficiency, and there is a bus stop located a 30-second walk around the corner from the Hotel. Serviced by no less than ten frequent services to the City Centre, guests can be shopping on Princes Street in no time at all.

Edinburgh can be an expensive city for guests to park their car in, so we are incredibly happy to offer our guests a free limited parking facility. Spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis, but it is very, very rare we have to ask guests to park on Salisbury Road.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Property: The Salisbury Hotel
Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing