We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, easy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Do not confuse this with the Salisbury Green Hotel as you will be somewhat surprised when you arrive... However, what a pleasant surprise it was!!!

Friendly, helpful staff.... great big comfortable rooms and a superb breakfast to kick start the day made this the ideal place for us to stay. And to add to it, the bus stop is just a 60 second walk from the front door and only takes 10 minutes to get to the heart.

I would recommend this to anyone and will deflinately stay here again if return to Edinburgh.

Thanks to the staff for making our stay easy and pleasurable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHN20122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Friendly, easy and comfortable

Thank you for your great review. We are always happy when our guests leave us having had a very pleasant stay. Our friendly and knowledgeable Front of House staff are on hand to help and serve our guests in any way they require. From recommending restaurants and attractions to visit, to making reservations and helping with travel arrangements, our staff are always happy to help.

Located in the residential Newington area, the historic Royal Mile and city centre is just a 20-minute stroll from the Hotel. The Salisbury is also within walking distance of Arthur Seat, Holyrood Park, Pollock Halls and Edinburgh University. Located just around the corner is a bus stop that is serviced by no less than ten frequent buses in to the heart of the city. The Salisbury Hotel is a great location for guests that wish to explore the city and those that may have business to conduct in the centre.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 849 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

hotel is an old victorian/georgian villa, about a mile/20 min walk from the city centre. Useful location, free on-site parking, restaurant on site, very helpful lad on reception, showed us to our room and explained how to use things in the room etc (very rare these days).
stayed for one night only and managed to miss breakfast as the clocks went back that night, so cant comment on that.
the room was large, double bed, had a modern tv, selection of hot drinks and hair dryer as standard. no complaints whatsoever, however the WIFI did not work throughout our stay, bit of a nuisance but oh well.
well recommended if staying in the edinburgh area.
hope this was helpful

Ash

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. The Salisbury Hotel is made up of two Georgian former Townhouses that include private walled gardens, free limited parking for guests and also house the excellent and independently run Café Cassis.

Located in the residential area of Newington, the Salisbury is an excellent Hotel for guests wishing to explore the city centre as it is a mere 20-minute walk to major tourist attractions such as the Royal Mile, St. Giles Cathedral and Holyrood Park, and is also located next to Arthur’s Seat, the Commonwealth Swimming Pool and Edinburgh University.

Our friendly Front of House staff are on hand to help and service our guests with whatever they require. They are always happy to offer recommendations on places to eat, activities to do, sights to see and make sure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

All of our rooms include everything one might need away from home including Plasma Screen TVs, hairdryers, iPod docking station and radio alarm, complimentary refreshments including tea and coffee making facilities, and complimentary Wi-Fi and Internet connectivity.

Café Cassis is an excellent family run bistro that uses fresh, local produce to create an excellent and delicious menu filled with Gallic flair. The knowledgeable and passionate staff offer excellent and friendly service, ensuring that their guests always leave having had a superb dining experience.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Salisbury Hotel on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My experience of this hotel is at odds with many of the fulsome reviews posted here. It is a small hotel quite conveniently located for trips to Edinburgh's many attractions. I chose it as it was rated 4 star and had parking. We did manage to park our car but no one warned us that guests double park and our car would be blocked in overnight. I did complain about this and was told that they could get the car blocking me in out if they had the keys at the desk. This arrangement wasn't exactly relaxing and we ended up using taxis that evening then getting our car released in the morning. There is a basement restaurant in this hotel. Evidence of this hits you when you enter reception. The interior is generally shabby and could do with refurbishment. Our room was disappointing. There was a smell I thought was cigarette smoke but in fact was probably coming from the large black patch of damp we could see on the ceiling. There was no ventilation in the room- the windows were painted shut. We awoke after a sleepless night to windows streaming with condensation. The bathroom was a 'wet room' with the shower supposedly draining the water away. In reality the water drained everywhere and we went paddling if we wanted to use the other facilities. There were some toiletries provided but I would have preferred a fresh toilet roll on a holder that was firmly attached to the wall. There were plenty of towels as advertised however they had seen plenty of use and were an unpleasant grey hue. There were tea and coffee making facilities but unfortunately only herbal tea had been provided for us. The queen sized bed was quite comfortable but on examining the mattress I found several covers lying on top of an indifferent mattress. We went down to breakfast the next morning more in hope than expectation. The stairway down to the restaurant looked grubby. Breakfast was laid out continental style. There were the usual things but none of them looked particularly appetising. Service was very poor indeed. We asked for coffee and two mugs of coffee were duly presented. I asked what the coffee was and the waitress produced a catering tin and said 'Columbian'. No refill was offered nor wanted. My husband who was hungry ventured on a Danish pastry which seemed stale. There was no attempt by anyone to interact with us or other guests and frankly we couldn't wait to leave and find breakfast elsewhere. Apparently according to the reviews this restaurant is transformed in the evening into one of the best in Edinburgh. No doubt the owners of the Salisbury will refute my criticisms one by one but the fact remains I was unhappy, said so at the time and remain perplexed as to why my experience was so different to most other reviewers. On this occasion my expectations of 4 star accommodation were not met. The Salisbury has a lot going for it in terms of location but in my view it more like hostel accommodation in a major city.

Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank Middleton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Owner at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Indeed we are conveniently located for easy travel in to Edinburgh’s city centre with easy access to various bus routes. With regard to car parking, as with many cities, spaces are at a premium and we find our guests are appreciative of our ability to offer limited free guest parking. On occasions where we do find it necessary to double park cars we retain the keys for the double parked vehicles so that they can be moved if required. In these situations if a guest feels they would prefer their car on the outside we would ask they communicate their desire to reception and we can relocate vehicles to accommodate this (This was offered but not taken up).

All our rooms have ventilation units in the bathroom. As part of our commitment to our guests we operate a constant program of maintenance and refurbishment, with four rooms totally refurbished this year. On this occasion the hotel external window frames were being repainted and the issue was addressed as soon as we were notified.

The Superior King Size Beds in our rooms have Silentnight mattresses for comfort and we use mattress protectors which is common practice in quality hotels. We offer a range of premium toiletries, ample towels and a well stocked tea and coffee making facility. In the event a guest requires extra or replacement supplies our staff are always on hand to organise this when informed.

With regards to breakfast, our staff have fantastic feedback on their friendliness and welcoming attitude and are happy to chat with guests, but they also respect the fact that some guests prefer to breakfast in peace and on these occasions give them their space while still being available to cater to their breakfast requirements. We offer a substantial continental breakfast and also have a cooked item menu available, pastry items such as Croissant and Pan Au Chocolate are freshly baked every morning.

The Salisbury hotel is evaluated yearly and awarded its 4-Star Townhouse Hotel status by Visit Scotland, the Scottish Tourist Board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while we did the Great Race. The service is marvellous and the hotel is clean, warm and comfortable, with staff thinking of everything you might need. Adam in reception and another very helpful chap whose name I didn't catch were charm personified and helped out with maps and directions.

Breakfast was Continental with cooked breakfast being a small extra charge but we didn't need it as there was such variety of food to choose from. We will be doing the run again next year and will definitely stay at the Salisbury again.

Room Tip: We were in Montague - if you weigh more than fourteen stone you might find the bathroom a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. The Salisbury Hotel is a great base from which guests can take part in any of the several annual running and race events that start off from Holyrood Park. The Park, Holyrood Palace and many more of Edinburgh’s excellent tourist attractions are a mere 20-25 minute walk or 10 minute bus journey from the Hotel, meaning guests don’t have to travel far to enjoy Edinburgh’s wonderful atmosphere.

Our comfortable rooms are all maintained to the highest standards and all include Plasma screen TVs, iPod docking stations, irons, hairdryers, complimentary refreshments and Wi-Fi. Our helpful and friendly Front of House staff are on hand to help our guests with anything they require and are always happy to offer advice and recommendations for things to see and do and places to dine. Room rates are also inclusive of an excellent Continental Breakfast buffet and for a small additional charge, guests can select items from our excellent Cooked Breakfast menu.

Thank you once again for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and look forward to welcoming you back some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here because of the proximity to the start of the Edinburgh Run and the free parking, everything was as I expected just a quick mention to Adam on reception when I arrived I was meeting a friend for lunch the restaurant down stairs was very busy but he managed to get us a table by speaking to the owner, I will defiantly use this excellent hotel again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Stevenp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The Salisbury Hotel is in a prime location for guests wishing to take part in one of Edinburgh’s many running events that start at Holyrood Park. The Hotel is located a mere 20-25 minute walk from the main starting line and Holyrood Palace.

A majority of our guests comment very favourably on our free limited parking facility. Edinburgh is an excellent city to walk around but can be difficult and costly to park in. Guests can leave their vehicles at the Hotel and take a leisurely stroll in to the city centre in about 20-minutes or take any of a number of frequent buses that depart just around the corner from the Hotel.

Housed in the Hotel is the excellent and independently run Café Cassis, offering delicious food with a Gallic twist, made from fresh, locally sourced produce. Café Cassis can get very busy so we would always recommend that our guest’s reserve a table in advance, but Front of House are always happy to assist with reservations for the bistro or any other restaurants where guests may wish to dine.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at The Salisbury Hotel for 3 nights. We appreciated the free on site parking, a bonus in Edinburgh. We had booked a family room as it was the only room available and we were very happy that we did. It was very big with a large four poster bed and plenty of hanging space. The bathroom was very large and having a bath was lovely.
We ate at the hotel restaurant each night as we found it convenient after a day of sight seeing.
The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious, hightly recommended.
It was quite a walk to the Royal Mile and seemed even longer on the way back but I guess you could catch the bus or a taxi.
The only negative was that we were right near reception and we could hear everything they were saying at night, perhaps the room needs some sound proofing.
That being said, the bed was very comfortable and we appreciated the lovely marshmellow biscuits with the tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your great review. At the Salisbury Hotel we like to make sure that all of our guests leave us having had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our Family rooms are a great size for both families and couples to relax in before and after a day touring the many wonderful attractions Edinburgh has on offer. Sporting large, luxurious bathrooms, comfortable King-Size beds and a selection of conveniences one would desire away from home, they are a perfect base from which to explore the city.

The Hotel houses the independently run Café Cassis; a family run bistro that uses fresh, locally sourced produce to create a delicious lunch and à la carte menu with a Gallic twist. From fish to meat to vegetarian and gluten free options, everything on offer is a treat worth sampling.

Located a mere 20-25minute walk from the historic Royal Mile, the Hotel is within walking distance of some of the city’s best tourist attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament. Our Front of House staff are on hand to help our guests with whatever they may require, from restaurant reservations to directions to recommendations of what to see and do.

Thank you once again for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was available before the check in time given so that was a bonus and we managed to park outside for free. The room was lovely, well stocked with tea, coffee etc, it was very clean and tidy, warm, because we booked direct with the hotel we got a cooked breakfast included in price. The selection for the continental breakfast was very good, the cooked breakfast was very nice. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Dont have a bad word to say about the hotel itself, it was of very good value. Only downside was that it was a good 20 minute walk into the centre, so if you stuggle with walking it may be better to get a taxi/bus and we could not get wifi to work in our room (Marshall).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIRK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrandMrsWoods, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Salisbury Hotel. Our check in time is from 3pm, but if guests let us know in advance we are happy to aim and have their room ready earlier. Guests who bring a car with them to Edinburgh can use our limited parking facilities free of charge. Edinburgh is a great city to walk around and the Hotel is a mere 20-minute stroll from the city centre and the historic Royal Mile, as well as several other excellent tourist attractions. For those guests not wishing to walk, Edinburgh has one of the best bus services in the country and just around the corner is a bus stop serviced by no fewer than ten fast and frequent services in to the city centre.

All of our rooms are decorated in a Georgian style with modern colour themes and appliances including irons, hairdryers, LCD TVs, and complimentary refreshments and Wi-Fi. All of our Superior Double, Family and Four-Poster Deluxe rooms host an extremely spacious and comfortable King-Size bed for our guests to get an excellent nights rest in. Our Housekeeping staff work very hard to ensure that our rooms are cleaned and maintained to the highest standards so that our guests can enjoy their stays in complete comfort.

All of our room rates are inclusive of a Continental Breakfast Buffet consisting of a selection of Continental meats and cheeses, fruits, pastries, yoghurts, cereals, toast and fruit juices. Gluten free items are also available. Guests who book direct can enjoy a free Cooked Breakfast and those that have booked through third party websites can order one from a little additional charge.

Thank you once again for your excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#120 of 151 in Edinburgh
370 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,432 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Hotel

Address: 43-45 Salisbury Road | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $67 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury Hotel is a restored Georgian Townhouse quietly located amidst walled gardens yet central for all main tourist attractions & the main bus route; 18 luxuriously appointed rooms, with i-pod docks, wi-fi, plasma tv, and en suite power-showers. Single, ground-floor, 4-poster, family and garden facing rooms available. Cafe Cassis provides excellent quality Scottish- French cuisine and the lounge area offers a selection of wines, beers and whiskies in relaxed surroundings. Expect contemporary style, period surroundings and great service. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh
The Salisbury Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing