We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag- geringly good!!!!”
Review of Stag Espresso at Dovecot - CLOSED

Stag Espresso at Dovecot
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Stag Espresso is a local, independent café operator specialising in great coffee, complimented by excellent service and a selection of the best local produce. It's first home is in the stunning Dovecot Building which was refurbished 3 years ago. Dovecot is centre for tapestry, craft and now great coffee.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stag- geringly good!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have visited Stag Espresso before but only to pop in for a quick take out, this was my first time sitting in the minimal but fun cafe.The place was super busy with only 1 free table, although they were all super busy the owner & the waitress both both said hello. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant or attentive, one thing i always look for when eating out anywhere. I enjoyed a large salad , i wanted to make my own combo and this was not a problem from the ingredients they had on the menu.The salad was healthy, fresh & super tasty. My dinning partner, aka my sister had tea & a love berry & banana loaf, she said it was fresh baking and tasted fab. The menu is petite , but perfectly formed, its been well thought out to cater to every taste. I cant wait to go back and try some of there delicious homemade soups( which had fab flavour combinations!) , baking & sandwiches! More cafes should take a leaf out of Stag's book...keep it simple, Do it well!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DollyD_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful space with fresh food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ideal spot for lunch or a light snack. Staff have created a good atmosphere and the food is fresh and served pleasantly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derbhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fresh friendly but by 4.30 the we're only serving soup and cakes”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The important thing to know is that this lovely bright arty cafe closes at five and winds down by four thirty. Two of us had the tomato soup, and it was homemade light fresh flavoured and came with good thick brown bread. We would have had the falafel salad etc but get there earlier if you want that. Staff were helpful and efficient and the coffee smelt really good, the cakes, some of which were gluten free were also tempting but with dinner at Iris to consider later in the day, we left them for another day. But we will be back .... They have the fabulous dazzle exhibition upstairs and wonderful tapestries in the adjoining gallery. Lots of reason for going. Oxford wax lyrical

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & efficient, great fresh food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ideal for a quick lunch or a stop for coffee or tea. Excellent coffee, good choice of teas and cold drinks. Very good cakes, traybakes & scones. Simple menu with a choice of home made soups and freshly made to order sandwiches. The 'soup and half a sandwich' option is ample for me. A well run cafe, with staff providing a genuinely friendly but very efficient service. (Payment is cash only.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meerkat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Friendly with delicious, fresh food!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is our favourite cafe - great coffee (and my latte always wears a little knitted jumper!) and delicious, freshly made sandwiches and tasty soups. I love that you can order soup and half a sandwich. The cakes and traybakes are fantastic. The cafe is spotless and service is friendly with water and menu brought over immediately. I'd thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank King02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag Espresso at Dovecot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing